Netbook Pro I've found a working linux distro!
Moderators: insurgent, sophisticatedleaf, chiark

Jump to page : First : Prev : ... 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 ... : Next : Last
Now viewing page 8 [15 messages per page]

Forums · Technical Support · H/PC Linux / Unix

mrkrupa
Posted 2007-10-30 1:54 PM
#
Factor Fanatic

2525


Posts:
64
Member Nº:
5353
Location:
Washington, DC USA
Status:
I tried that with xp and linux and the file just contains the html. I was able to save the image files but the shell didn't want to go.

Paul
 Top of the page
salmonito
Posted 2007-10-30 1:54 PM
#
Factor Fanatic

2525


Posts:
61
Member Nº:
3799
Location:
Vermont
Status:
Quote
w_m0zart - 2007-10-30 1:36 PM

Hi, I have both a netbook pro and a netbook pro LX (on loan from www.pulster.de). Before celebrating too soon the original LX linux (sources), which I have, I want to say that I have played a few days with it, and it has some potential interesting base (based around GPE), I found the selection of software not very good. Starting firefox took much more than 30 seconds. (However minimo should be a better option). I had problems with files on CF cards, which the LX did not see. (Even after unmount and remounting; it looked like it wanted to persist to data in a cache which could not be flushed).

I think we should focus on getting a good description on how to install the Angstrom distribution on the netbook.

One of the questions I have seen in this forum about returning to Windows CE once Linux had been installed. I tried this, and it is possible. However if NAND errors appear, it may be necessary to use the solution in the BoostDongle pdf file which I created earlier.

I will try to boot Angstrom... I will post my results, but what is the advantage of having Angstrom in our case as opposed to mounting that software on old 2.6.9 kernel either Familiar GPE or OpenZaurus GPE? - Newer kernel?
 Top of the page
chiark
Posted 2007-10-30 5:10 PM
#

Moderator
H/PC Sensei

100010010010025


Posts:
1329
Member Nº:
8
Location:
North of England
Status:
Oh. My. Gosh.

So now we've got the source for a working psion distro.

This is absolutely fantastic... That removes a big blocker to the angstrom project!
 Top of the page
RTFM
Posted 2007-10-30 5:21 PM
#

H/PC Elite

50010025


Posts:
635
Member Nº:
2128
Location:
Green Bay, WI
Status:
Once you have a working kernel, any arm based linux userland would work. There are many. Like openzaurus, angstrom, armedslack, debian arm, 720degrees and jlime mongo.

Cheers.
 Top of the page
salmonito
Posted 2007-10-30 5:57 PM
#
Factor Fanatic

2525


Posts:
61
Member Nº:
3799
Location:
Vermont
Status:
Quote
RTFM - 2007-10-30 5:21 PM

Once you have a working kernel, any arm based linux userland would work. There are many. Like openzaurus, angstrom, armedslack, debian arm, 720degrees and jlime mongo.

Cheers.

Could you explain the term userland? We already had OZ, OE and Familiar working they all had 2.6.9 kernel... Should we consider it a "working" kernel? Its late in the day and maybe my questions do not make sense
 Top of the page
RTFM
Posted 2007-10-30 6:03 PM
#

H/PC Elite

50010025


Posts:
635
Member Nº:
2128
Location:
Green Bay, WI
Status:
Userland = the base linux system with gui, applications etc etc. Basically everything but the kernel. Then you just replace the 'non' netbook kernel and modules from whatever userland with the netbook kernel and modules. Thats how we initially tested out linux on the mp900c. Jsst took jlimes mongo userland for j7xx and swapped out the kernel and kernel modules with the 900c kernel and modules.

Cheers.
 Top of the page
Eddie
Posted 2007-10-30 6:45 PM
#

Member Nº:
-27
Status:
Paul,

Here is the text of the NBLXLoad.sh file (just copy and paste into a new file):


#!/bin/sh
#
# NBLXLoad-cook.sh
#
# This script cooks the first image with .jffs2 on the rootfs to the nand
#
# $Id: NBLXLoad-cook.sh,v 1.8 2004/09/24 10:16:42 wookey Exp $
#

panic()
{
echo $1 *ABORTING* - Emergency shell
exec /bin/sh
exit
}

#note this is for *DOS* 8.3 fs

FILE=`ls /rootfs/*.jff|head -1`

if [ "${FILE}" = "" ];then
#try for a fs with sane extensions
FILE=`ls /rootfs/*.jffs2|head -1`
fi

if [ "${FILE}" = "" ];then
echo no file found - emergency shell sort it out yourself
/bin/sh
exit 0
fi

echo programming ${FILE}

for loop in 5 4 3 2 1;do
echo write will commence in ${loop} Seconds
sleep 1
done

echo erasing main flash
/bin/flash_eraseall -j /dev/mtd0
if [ $? -ne 0 ]; then
panic "flash erase failed"
fi

echo writing main flash
/bin/nandwrite --blockalign=2 /dev/mtd0 ${FILE}
if [ $? -ne 0 ]; then
panic "nandwrite failed"
fi

echo completed - remove card

 Top of the page
Intrepid-Eddie
Posted 2007-10-30 6:55 PM
#
Factorite (Junior)

25


Posts:
34
Member Nº:
5414
Location:
Castle Rock, Colorado
Status:
@salmonito:

Ok, I'm all registered now. Now what's this about LX sources?

Eddie
 Top of the page
Intrepid-Eddie
Posted 2007-10-30 8:39 PM
#
Factorite (Junior)

25


Posts:
34
Member Nº:
5414
Location:
Castle Rock, Colorado
Status:
Quote
w_m0zart - 2007-10-30 12:36 PM
...SNIP...
One of the questions I have seen in this forum about returning to Windows CE once Linux had been installed. I tried this, and it is possible. However if NAND errors appear, it may be necessary to use the solution in the BoostDongle pdf file which I created earlier.


Paul, you were asking about this. I can confirm that WinCE from the Psion Teklogix website will load back on the NBP. I did not have to enter the super BooSt mode, but it's good to have in the back pocket... just in case.

@salmonito:
You mentioned trying to get your WiFi card to work. I have a Socket WiFi CF, a Linksys PCMCIA, and a Proxima PCMCIA. I had the same results for all three that you did. It looks like there's a list of drivers, but I don't think they're actually loaded in the system. Take a look at the system logs -- says it can't find the module. Interesting.

System logs:
1. Click on the "Utilities" folder
2. Click on "System Info"
3. Click on the "Log Display" tab


Edited by Intrepid-Eddie 2007-10-30 8:54 PM
 Top of the page
mrkrupa
Posted 2007-10-30 10:02 PM
#
Factor Fanatic

2525


Posts:
64
Member Nº:
5353
Location:
Washington, DC USA
Status:
Thanks Eddie. I will be forever in your debt.

Paul
 Top of the page
salmonito
Posted 2007-10-31 8:53 AM
#
Factor Fanatic

2525


Posts:
61
Member Nº:
3799
Location:
Vermont
Status:
Quote
Intrepid-Eddie - 2007-10-30 8:39 PM

Quote
w_m0zart - 2007-10-30 12:36 PM
...SNIP...
One of the questions I have seen in this forum about returning to Windows CE once Linux had been installed. I tried this, and it is possible. However if NAND errors appear, it may be necessary to use the solution in the BoostDongle pdf file which I created earlier.


Paul, you were asking about this. I can confirm that WinCE from the Psion Teklogix website will load back on the NBP. I did not have to enter the super BooSt mode, but it's good to have in the back pocket... just in case.

@salmonito:
You mentioned trying to get your WiFi card to work. I have a Socket WiFi CF, a Linksys PCMCIA, and a Proxima PCMCIA. I had the same results for all three that you did. It looks like there's a list of drivers, but I don't think they're actually loaded in the system. Take a look at the system logs -- says it can't find the module. Interesting.

System logs:
1. Click on the "Utilities" folder
2. Click on "System Info"
3. Click on the "Log Display" tab

this is what i found on internet:

"I use Familiar 0.51 with 2.4.16 and had a similiar problem.
Try this after installing the aironet-modules:

Add this to the cardsection of your /etc/pcmcia/config :

card "Cisco Aironet 350"
manfid 0x015f, 0x000a
bind "airo_cs"
Then reboot the IPAQ and you should get the card up. " this should work....

What is the difference between Florian's 2.6.9. kernel and PRO LX 2.6.9 kernel or there are none?
 Top of the page
mrkrupa
Posted 2007-10-31 11:46 AM
#
Factor Fanatic

2525


Posts:
64
Member Nº:
5353
Location:
Washington, DC USA
Status:
Any ideas why this would not work for me? I followed Salmonito's steps and got a bouncing red pogo stick in the upper left corner. Nothing else and I didn't use the serial monitor.

It appears to load and read the disk then a flash and the red bouncy thing.

Paul Krupa
 Top of the page
oldman
Posted 2007-10-31 12:45 PM
#
H/PC Newbie




Posts:
22
Member Nº:
5287
Status:
First of all, I saw some members thought the kernel would be part of the distributions. It isn't! The kernel and the initrd always come from the boot image (nBkProOs.img).

Here are some useful instructions I figured out:

Booting the Linux without installation to flash ROM's.

Prepare a CF card with two partitions: type 06h (FAT16) and 83h (Linux). The first partition must be FAT16 formatted and it must contain only the file http://linuxtogo.org/~florian/nBkProOs.img_cf renamed to nBkProOs.img.

The second partition must be ext2 formatted (use mke2fs), and it must contain the files contained in the image http://linuxtogo.org/~florian/netbook/gpe-image-3.5.4.1-netbook-pro... . For making that copy, you need to mount that jffs2 image through a loop-back device on your PC first. This is a little bit difficult, because jffs2 is not like other file system types. I followed these commands, found somewhere on the internet:

Mounting the JFFS2 image:
# modprobe mtdcore
# modprobe mtdram total_size=32768 erase_size=256
# mkdir /dev/mtdblock ; for i in 0 1 2 3 ; do mknod /dev/mtdblock/$i b 31 $i; done
# dd if=gpe-image-3.5.4.1-netbook-pro.rootfs.jffs2 of=/dev/mtdblock/0
# mkdir /mnt/jffs2
# mount -t jffs2 /dev/mtdblock/0 /mnt/jffs2

Even mount the second partition of CF with commands like this:
# mkdir /mnt/cf-part2
# mount -t ext2 /dev/sdx2 /mnt/cf-part2 # Please replace the 'x' in /dev/sdx2

After that, the files can be copied with:
# cp -a /mnt/jffs2/* /mnt/cf-part2

Unmounting is:
# umount /mnt/cf-part2
# umount /mnt/jffs2
# rmmod mtdram

For booting the CF card on the Netbook Pro, reset it, press Ctrl+D+ESC and insert the card.

In the running distribution: Getting rid of the one-minute-sleep

In a root shell type:
# gpe-edit /etc/init.d/checkversion
Then remove the line containing the command "sleep 60" and save the file.

In the running distribution: Making the correct kernel modules available. IMPORTANT!

This gives access to the additional kernel drivers, provided by the initrd!!!
In a root shell type:
# cd /lib/modules
# mv 2.6.9-rc1-bk18-nb1 2.6.9-rc1-bk18-nb1.old
# ln -s /initrd/lib/modules/2.6.9-rc1-bk18-nb1 .
# halt
Then wait for black screen, reset the machine and re-start as usual with Ctrl+D+ESC (or without Ctrl+D if installed to the flash ROM's). If you enter a root shell again and type lsmod, you should see a lot of modules loaded.

And then you could do for example:

In the running distribution: Mounting an USB memory stick

Plug in the USB stick, and in a root shell type:
# modprobe sl811-hcd
Wait 15 seconds.
# lsmod
Now you should see at least sd_mod, usb_storage, scsi_mod and sl811-hcd.
# mkdir /mnt/usbstick
# mount -t vfat /dev/sda1 /mnt/usbstick
# ls /mnt/usbstick
For unmounting:
# umount /mnt/usbstick

---

I even tried to setup a PCMCIA ethernet card using the right kernel modul axnet_cs, but without success. The device refuses to appear in /proc/net/dev. Another thing I tried was an USB mouse, but it seems this would require to compile more kernel modules.


Edited by oldman 2007-10-31 1:04 PM
 Top of the page
mrkrupa
Posted 2007-10-31 1:43 PM
#
Factor Fanatic

2525


Posts:
64
Member Nº:
5353
Location:
Washington, DC USA
Status:
I broke out my serial cable and turned on putty to monitor the boot. It looks like the same this Salmonito was getting on his original post. Why doesn't it work for this machine?

Paul Krupa


netBookPro boot menu
--------------------
1) Run main OS
!) Clean start main OS
2) Begin YMODEM load
3) Show configuration
4) Audio test
5) Display test
6) Touch test
7) RAM test
8) NAND ECC
F) Erase flash file system

Command> go
Loading "/nand0-0/nBkProOS.img"...
Load RAM image info: size = 3403850
NETBOOKPRO Linux26
K123m
Loading 100% complete...
Resetting to RAM module.
Power state is now Run (8)
starting power monitor
IP: routing cache hash table of 1024 buckets, 8Kbytes
TCP: Hash tables configured (established 8192 bind 16384)
NET: Registered protocol family 1
NET: Registered protocol family 17
Epson S1D13XXX FB Driver, (c) 2004 Simtec Electronics
s1d138xx: s1d13806: revision 0
s1dfb-nbp: s1d13806: initialsing netbookpro settings
Console: switching to colour frame buffer device 100x37
fb0: s1d13xxx framebuffer device
RAMDISK: ext2 filesystem found at block 0
RAMDISK: Loading 8192KiB [1 disk] into ram disk... <7>nbp-battmon: nbp_battmon_setstate: returned 0
nbp-battmon: Battery monitor ready
<6>nbp-battmon: system restarted
done.
VFS: Mounted root (ext2 filesystem).
Freeing init memory: 72K
/linuxrc: 78: cut: not found
FATAL: Module i2c not found.
FATAL: Module i2ckbd not found.
cardmgr[673]: watching 2 sockets
cardmgr[673]: exiting
mount: /dev/hda1 is not a valid block device
JFFS2 version 2.2. (NAND) (C) 2001-2003 Red Hat, Inc.
mount: /dev/hda2 is not a valid block device
Unable to mount root filesystem *ABORTING* - Emergency shell
/bin/sh: can't access tty; job control turned off
/ #
 Top of the page
mrkrupa
Posted 2007-10-31 1:45 PM
#
Factor Fanatic

2525


Posts:
64
Member Nº:
5353
Location:
Washington, DC USA
Status:
whoa! I just typed in my terminal and it is running! It's just the windowing system that is not up. I can type in linux commands at the #
/bin/sh: 1: not found
/ # ls
bin lib lost+found rootfs usr
dev linuxrc proc sbin var
etc linuxrc~ root tmp
/ #
 Top of the page
hpc:factor« View previous thread · H/PC Linux / Unix · View next thread »

Jump to page : First : Prev : ... 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 ... : Next : Last
Now viewing page 8 [15 messages per page]

Jump to forum :
Search this forum
Printer friendly version
E-mail a link to this thread
Seconds to generate: 0.375 - Cached queries : 49 - Executed queries : 31
Server Time now is: Tuesday, 19 September 2017 - 14:18