Sticky Jornada 720/8 Born On Date (part 2)
Moderators: CE Geek

Jump to page : 1 2 3 4
Now viewing page 1 [15 messages per page]

Forums · Technical Support · Handheld PC 2000

CE Geek
Posted 2009-05-06 7:35 PM
#


Global Moderator
H/PC Oracle

10000100050010010010025


Posts:
11849
Member Nº:
845
Location:
Southern California
Status:
Quite a while ago, our own Clinton Fitch started a thread pointing out that every Jornada 720 and 728 has a "born on" date that you can find as follows:

Soft reset and immediately press S to enter into Diagnostics. Check the EEPROM box and tap One Loop. In the dialog box at the right, you will see a BOD=DD/MM/YYYY - that's the "born on" date.

I'm reviving this interesting topic in a new thread. So tell us, folks, when was your 720/728 born?
 Top of the page
Strathos
Posted 2009-05-08 12:01 PM
#
H/PC Newbie




Posts:
22
Member Nº:
4493
Status:
Neat trick! Mine was born on 06/01/2001. Next month it will be 8 years old
 Top of the page
CE Geek
Posted 2009-05-08 12:46 PM
#


Global Moderator
H/PC Oracle

10000100050010010010025


Posts:
11849
Member Nº:
845
Location:
Southern California
Status:
Check the instructions again - it turned 8 back in January.
 Top of the page
kingmirth
Posted 2009-05-09 2:45 PM
#
H/PC Newbie




Posts:
13
Member Nº:
10762
Status:
I wasn't aware of that diagnostics tool, may come in handy
Mine is 15/03/2001. Any idea what the youngest/oldest ones are?
 Top of the page
CE Geek
Posted 2009-05-09 7:12 PM
#


Global Moderator
H/PC Oracle

10000100050010010010025


Posts:
11849
Member Nº:
845
Location:
Southern California
Status:
 Top of the page
cmonex
Posted 2009-05-12 12:35 PM
#

H/PC Oracle

1000050001000100252525


Posts:
16197
Member Nº:
114
Location:
Budapest, Hungary
Status:
meh i wont repost unless i feel like checking 5x728's and 2x720's and 710
 Top of the page
rumen_s
Posted 2009-05-12 12:40 PM
#
Factor Fanatic

2525


Posts:
72
Member Nº:
7060
Status:
my J728 shows 01/11/2002
 Top of the page
Slycarter
Posted 2009-05-22 3:09 PM
#
H/PC Philosopher

1001001001002525


Posts:
473
Member Nº:
7767
Location:
Italy
Status:
Here's my BOD guys...29/11/2001
 Top of the page
Hal
Posted 2009-10-29 10:49 AM
#

H/PC Elite

5002525


Posts:
559
Member Nº:
4033
Location:
California, USA
Status:
When I try S on my 728 the RH panel with the info is half off the screen and not totally readable. Suggestions?

Are there other keys like the "S" that show interesting info on the Jornada at bootup?
 Top of the page
quinbus_flestrin
Posted 2009-10-30 3:55 AM
#

Factor Fanatic

2525


Posts:
58
Member Nº:
2188
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
BOD on 728 = 19/11/2002 and 06/02/2002
 Top of the page
rumen_s
Posted 2009-11-02 3:11 AM
#
Factor Fanatic

2525


Posts:
72
Member Nº:
7060
Status:
One of my two babies (J728) became 7 years old yesterday - BOD 01/11/2002
 Top of the page
quinbus_flestrin
Posted 2009-11-03 10:12 AM
#

Factor Fanatic

2525


Posts:
58
Member Nº:
2188
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
Quote
quinbus_flestrin - 2009-10-30 3:55 AM

BOD on 728 = 19/11/2002 and 06/02/2002


And hereby hangs a tale... the old saws about Activesync are perfectly correct. Here is one 720 "upgraded" to 728 by using a board from a scrapper... the BOD is 06-02-2002, and the test also shows different Serial Number and GUID to an original 728, which has BOD 19/11/2002.
The first Jornada has my favourite setup on it, and is also backed up via Activesync to Guest on an ancient Toshiba 4010CDT running 98SE. The second is a clean machine... upon which I was hoping to duplicate the first.

Now I'm no programmer, but I can see how the microbes at Microshaft might well have decided that duplicating a system setup on to another device was not in their interests or indeed the interests of their many commercial customers... and at the time maybe they had a point. But it hardly applies nearly so much now.

Given these three salient differences which we now know of... ROM Serial Number, GUID, and BOD, I have to wonder if this is actually what is at the bottom of Activesync's (3.8) blanket refusal to restore the image from one Jornada on to another equivalent. I'll be looking at these STG files with a hex editor next.

In trawling for an alternate backup program, which I had hoped might have a less inflexible set of rules, I have met with little success. However I have also found STG viewer... which doesn't help me much here I admit, but it may yet prove useful as this issue progresses. It does give some limited access to Activesync backup files after all.
And also in these trawls, I have found many posts on various other forums and concerning various other devices too, which have had a similar theme.
Perhaps a sage here can help more.

QF

 Top of the page
cmonex
Posted 2009-11-04 10:54 AM
#

H/PC Oracle

1000050001000100252525


Posts:
16197
Member Nº:
114
Location:
Budapest, Hungary
Status:
there is many backup programs...all of them are better than activesync.. even HP added one in the jornada, see it in programs. btw I'm pretty sure activesync doesn't care about BOD
 Top of the page
camelton
Posted 2009-11-04 5:36 PM
#
H/PC Newbie




Posts:
4
Member Nº:
13241
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
Just been dusting off the old J710 and hooking it up to my old pc (on XP) as it won't communicate with main PC running vista and found mine was born 30th July 2001. -so 8 years and a bit old.

By the way - is Anyone aware of any forum links or sites about using J 7xx with wifi hotspots.

Bought a cheap Cisco Aironet 350 wireless card on ebay for a few quid (could never afford to spend much when i bought it originally so only ever connected to mails via active sync and surfing was a pain with an old phone and ir link) and with a bit of fiddling it now works fine connected to home wireless router for internet access.

The next challenge is to be able to use it in Cafes & pubs with free wifi access however i will need some suitable software to find the wifi provider and connect to it. Any idea of software that might be around to enable it to be used at wifi hotspots - ministumbler seems to be mentioned a bit but not sure if that is the right sort of software or if it will work with the aironet 350 easily?
 Top of the page
aoresteen
Posted 2009-12-14 5:03 PM
#
H/PC Newbie




Posts:
6
Member Nº:
13555
Location:
United States
Status:
Tried this quite a few times. Nada. It doesn't work on my Jornada 728. I get a "BF" in the upper left hand corner and "0208" under it. I'm running CE 3.0 Handheld PC 2000.

What am I doing wrong?
 Top of the page
hpc:factor« View previous thread · Handheld PC 2000 · View next thread »

Jump to page : 1 2 3 4
Now viewing page 1 [15 messages per page]

Jump to forum :
Search this forum
Printer friendly version
E-mail a link to this thread
Seconds to generate: 0.50 - Cached queries : 64 - Executed queries : 14
Server Time now is: Sunday, 17 December 2017 - 2:8