Sticky 3Com 3C589x Driver for HPC2000
Moderators: CE Geek

Jump to page : 1 2 3
Now viewing page 2 [15 messages per page]

Forums · Technical Support · Handheld PC 2000

C:Amie
Posted 2007-02-23 2:11 PM
#


Administrator
H/PC Oracle

10000200020001002525


Posts:
14169
Member Nº:
1
Location:
Fields End, UK
Status:
Well that would be because this is a driver for a 3c589x, not a 3c574x
If it isn't in the HCL as compatibe, and 3Com don't offer CE drivers it wont work.
 Top of the page
octi
Posted 2007-02-23 2:43 PM
#

Member Nº:
-27
Status:
so 3c574x it won't work. can you tell me plz what pccard are capabible for jornada 720

thanks
 Top of the page
octi
Posted 2007-02-23 2:46 PM
#

Member Nº:
-27
Status:
can i use a different type of win ce on my jornada , and if it is posibile how can i do it ?
 Top of the page
settembrini
Posted 2007-05-29 5:47 AM
#

Member Nº:
-27
Status:
I have a HPC 2000 and a 3COM 3c589d-Combo device.
I've seen that there are general problems with the 3c589d-cards on HPCs - has anyone managed to get this configuration to work?

The installation works fine and the driver appears in the control panel, but the system stalls, when I insert the card.
Maybe there are some registry settings I could still try out?
 Top of the page
C:Amie
Posted 2007-05-29 6:45 AM
#


Administrator
H/PC Oracle

10000200020001002525


Posts:
14169
Member Nº:
1
Location:
Fields End, UK
Status:
I am afraid not, there is something about the D version of the card that causes more problems than with most C versions. Even they are problematic though.
 Top of the page
kuhther
Posted 2007-07-08 12:52 PM
#

Member Nº:
-27
Status:
HPC2000 - jornada 710

I've a 3C574-TX when i plug in the card an error "unidentified pccard adapter" .

I instal the driver, but it doesn't work well the first time!

And I try over and over again "
typing "3C589.DLL"

And I changed the memory configuration and communications Properties"

And my ethernet card work

It's good, but I can't found this handhelp on my WAN.

How can I change this driver to work correctly on my jornada 720?

best regards
 Top of the page
C:Amie
Posted 2007-07-08 1:26 PM
#


Administrator
H/PC Oracle

10000200020001002525


Posts:
14169
Member Nº:
1
Location:
Fields End, UK
Status:
This is a 3C589 driver and your card is a 3C574 so...


You cannot.
 Top of the page
CE Geek
Posted 2007-07-08 4:09 PM
#


Global Moderator
H/PC Oracle

1000010005001001001002525


Posts:
11864
Member Nº:
845
Location:
Southern California
Status:
Quote
octi - 2007-02-23 11:43 AM

so 3c574x it won't work. can you tell me plz what pccard are capabible for jornada 720

thanks


There are lots of them listed here:

http://www.hpcfactor.com/hcl/
 Top of the page
justetina
Posted 2008-02-21 1:19 AM
#
Factorite (Junior)

25


Posts:
35
Member Nº:
6176
Location:
United States
Status:
Just in case people still check on this, I want to report that I have great success with the driver and 3Com 3C589C card. I'm a complete newbie when it comes to ethernet connection. I had to google it and read what ethernet was all about
I had a 3Com 3C589C card and cable from an auction. I loaded the driver per instructions, soft reset, connect the cable to the card and slid the card into the J720, wait a few seconds, then voila --- wired to the internet! I did not have to do any setting at all.
Now I can go online at work (wired) where we don't have wifi and use the Linksys WPC11 card wireless when I'm in a hotspot.

Thank you!


 Top of the page
secondsnake
Posted 2008-04-08 4:14 PM
#
H/PC Newbie




Posts:
8
Member Nº:
6785
Location:
Brno
Status:
Hi guys, I hope this thread is still alive...

I'm trying to connect to the net with 3C589C (using 3C589D-TP PCMCIA->RJ45 dongle, but that shouldn't matter...) on Mobilepro 790. I have it connected to my TP-Link router and while I can get to the administrator interface of the router (or to the login screen, at least, the operation always times out after that) I'm unable to go outside. I always get the "A connection to the server could not be established" message, when I try to display any webpage. My ISP uses DHCP and all my PCs (2 desktops, 1 laptop) work fine on auto settings.
I suppose the 3C589C card works OK if I can connect to the router and the problem is probably in the router settings. My question is - are there any router settings that HPCs are particularly sensitive about? anything that I should check, alter, switch or ...? and does the MP790 have a MAC address? because my connection is configured to a specific MAC address, so if I want to avoid the router and test direct connection, I need to know it.
Thanks a lot.

Edited by secondsnake 2008-04-08 4:15 PM
 Top of the page
C:Amie
Posted 2008-04-08 4:35 PM
#


Administrator
H/PC Oracle

10000200020001002525


Posts:
14169
Member Nº:
1
Location:
Fields End, UK
Status:
Install vxUtil and see if it is getting any IP information.
 Top of the page
secondsnake
Posted 2008-04-08 6:05 PM
#
H/PC Newbie




Posts:
8
Member Nº:
6785
Location:
Brno
Status:
Yes, I can successfully PING to 128.121.95.55 - www.microsoft.com and various other sites, but they don't seem to open in PIE, even if I input in the address field the exact IPs I use in vxUtil. Any suggestions?

Thanks for the reply, btw....

Edited by secondsnake 2008-04-08 6:19 PM
 Top of the page
secondsnake
Posted 2008-04-09 2:30 AM
#
H/PC Newbie




Posts:
8
Member Nº:
6785
Location:
Brno
Status:
I'm sorry, now I realized that PINGing isn't what you told me to do (don't know how I got to that ??). What exactly do you mean by "getting any IP information"?
 Top of the page
Halil
Posted 2009-07-20 2:39 PM
#
H/PC Newbie




Posts:
1
Member Nº:
11350
Location:
Germany
Status:
deddddd
 Top of the page
C:Amie
Posted 2009-07-20 2:45 PM
#


Administrator
H/PC Oracle

10000200020001002525


Posts:
14169
Member Nº:
1
Location:
Fields End, UK
Status:
Congratulations, a vary constructive first post on the forums...
 Top of the page
hpc:factor« View previous thread · Handheld PC 2000 · View next thread »

Jump to page : 1 2 3
Now viewing page 2 [15 messages per page]

Jump to forum :
Search this forum
Printer friendly version
E-mail a link to this thread
Seconds to generate: 0.488 - Cached queries : 63 - Executed queries : 11
Server Time now is: Sunday, 21 January 2018 - 16:26