J820 Running Debian-arm
Moderators: insurgent, sophisticatedleaf, chiark

Jump to page : 1 2 3
Now viewing page 3 [15 messages per page]

Forums · Technical Support · H/PC Linux / Unix

ArchiMark
Posted 2016-11-20 12:54 AM
#

Factorite (Elite)

10010025


Posts:
233
Member Nº:
611
Location:
Silicon Valley
Status:
Thanks for reminding everyone about limitations....

Had the issue of losing personal settings when you reboot when using linux on a Jornada 7xx.....

There was hope for some time that someone would produce the ROM boards that allow one to keep the linux install intact upon reboot as well as allow to properly suspend, etc. But unfortunately, the guy never was able to get them produced.

So it goes....
 Top of the page
Karpour
Posted 2016-11-20 1:35 AM
#

Factorite (Elite)

100


Posts:
105
Member Nº:
14294
Location:
Austria
Status:
Wow, great progress! Thanks for sharing all this. It would be great to have an article about this in the support and tutorials section

About the losing personal setting issue.. With the J7xx, this was easily solved by simply doing a backup using the built in HP Backup tool before booting Linux and restoring afterwards. Is there a Backup Software that works the same way for the Jornada 820?

Edited by Karpour 2016-11-20 1:37 AM
 Top of the page
Mjolnir
Posted 2016-11-20 6:55 PM
#
Factorite (Junior)

25


Posts:
28
Member Nº:
28570
Location:
United States
Status:
Quote
Karpour - 2016-11-20 1:35 AM

Wow, great progress! Thanks for sharing all this. It would be great to have an article about this in the support and tutorials section

About the losing personal setting issue.. With the J7xx, this was easily solved by simply doing a backup using the built in HP Backup tool before booting Linux and restoring afterwards. Is there a Backup Software that works the same way for the Jornada 820?
It does have a backup utility but I've never used it since I never used my device for anything other than fun. I may try to find the Click! USB utility that I d/l from this great site, install it again, do a full backup to the FAT 16 portion of my CF card and then try to do a system restore.
I installed mc (Midnight Commander) to my linux system yesterday. It makes navigating the file system much easier. I have not yet been able to get w3m to display images but will continue to work on it.
 Top of the page
ArchiMark
Posted 2016-11-20 8:25 PM
#

Factorite (Elite)

10010025


Posts:
233
Member Nº:
611
Location:
Silicon Valley
Status:
Unfortunately, not able to edit prior posts....

So, to clarify, I was referring to losing settings and other info in linux not WinCE......

I did not worry about WinCE.....

But understand now that Mjolnir was referring to WinCe....



 Top of the page
hpc:factor« View previous thread · H/PC Linux / Unix · View next thread »

Jump to page : 1 2 3
Now viewing page 3 [15 messages per page]

Jump to forum :
Search this forum
Printer friendly version
E-mail a link to this thread
Seconds to generate: 0.156 - Cached queries : 59 - Executed queries : 8
Server Time now is: Saturday, 19 August 2017 - 17:53