3com Etherlink III 3C589C Drivers?
Moderators: C:Amie

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [15 messages per page]

Forums · Technical Support · Handheld PC Professional

Pigpog
Posted 2016-12-17 1:38 AM
#
H/PC Newbie




Posts:
6
Member Nº:
32991
Location:
Canada
Status:
Hello! I just joined this forum.

Does anyone still have the drivers for 3com Etherlink III 3C589C for windows CE 2.11? I need it for my HP Jornada 680, and i think i have searched everywhere for the drivers.

Love,
Pigpog

EDIT: Nevermind, i got the driver. Now im just configuring it to work with my network bridge

Edited by Pigpog 2016-12-17 2:35 AM
 Top of the page
Rich Hawley
Posted 2016-12-17 2:38 AM
#

Global Moderator
H/PC Guru

5000100050010010025


Posts:
6748
Member Nº:
122
Location:
USA
Status:
Go to the downloads and do a search for 3c589. You can download it there.
 Top of the page
Pigpog
Posted 2016-12-17 3:21 AM
#
H/PC Newbie




Posts:
6
Member Nº:
32991
Location:
Canada
Status:
Thanks but i already got it. Now i just have to figure out how to set it up to connect to my network bridge... but thats my problem for now
 Top of the page
Pigpog
Posted 2016-12-17 4:50 AM
#
H/PC Newbie




Posts:
6
Member Nº:
32991
Location:
Canada
Status:
Umm actually...
A little background:
The only way i can access files is by downloading them over dialup. I have no serial cable or compact flash cards.
Is there a way to download .cab's or somethin to make this work? And if so, what will i need?
So far, I have only installed setup_sh3.cab from here, which seems like it should work... the icon appears in the task bar, the green light on the dongle lights up, but i cannot access any webpages on it, and it will occasionally say that it couldnt get an ip assigned.

Edited by Pigpog 2016-12-17 4:52 AM
 Top of the page
CE Geek
Posted 2016-12-17 7:54 AM
#


Global Moderator
H/PC Oracle

100001000500100100


Posts:
11708
Member Nº:
845
Location:
Southern California
Status:
Moved to Handheld PC Professional

Are you trying to connect to a secure network? I trust you're aware of the limited encryption support in CE 2.11. Also, I trust the router you're trying to connect to is set to support 802.11b rather than just the newer 802.11g or 802.11n.
 Top of the page
C:Amie
Posted 2016-12-17 9:03 AM
#


Administrator
H/PC Oracle

100002000200025


Posts:
14036
Member Nº:
1
Location:
Fields End, UK
Status:
The 589C is Ethernet CE Geek, not 802.11.

Pull vxUtil from http://www.cambridgevx.com/vxutil_ce_mobile.html this will give you access to the IP addressing info, ping etc. and will help you to troubleshoot.
 Top of the page
CE Geek
Posted 2016-12-17 9:00 PM
#


Global Moderator
H/PC Oracle

100001000500100100


Posts:
11708
Member Nº:
845
Location:
Southern California
Status:
Duh - might've helped to actually read the name.
 Top of the page
Pigpog
Posted 2016-12-17 10:39 PM
#
H/PC Newbie




Posts:
6
Member Nº:
32991
Location:
Canada
Status:
Thanks for the utility. I will download it asap.
 Top of the page
Pigpog
Posted 2016-12-17 10:58 PM
#
H/PC Newbie




Posts:
6
Member Nº:
32991
Location:
Canada
Status:
Which .cab do i use? The hpcPro or PPC3? sorry if it is an easy answer, i know nothing about windows CE

Update:
I have installed the pro one and it works

Edited by Pigpog 2016-12-17 11:05 PM
 Top of the page
Pigpog
Posted 2016-12-17 11:52 PM
#
H/PC Newbie




Posts:
6
Member Nº:
32991
Location:
Canada
Status:
I plugged the dongle into my router via CAT6, and it says it couldnt get an IP. I dont know where to go from here, maybe my router is the problem?
 Top of the page
C:Amie
Posted 2016-12-18 8:41 AM
#


Administrator
H/PC Oracle

100002000200025


Posts:
14036
Member Nº:
1
Location:
Fields End, UK
Status:
Try a static IP address and then ping to see if that works.

you need to find out what address range your router is using. Usually it'll be either
192.168.0.[1-254]
or
192.168.1.[1-254]

The subnet mask will be
255.255.255.0

The default gateway and DNS will be the IP address of the router.

So if your router is using 192.168.1.254
Set the IP address to something like 192.168.1.200
Subnet mask to 255.255.255.0
Default gateway to 192.168.1.254
Primary DNS to 192.168.1.254
 Top of the page
hpc:factor« View previous thread · Handheld PC Professional · View next thread »

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [15 messages per page]

Jump to forum :
Search this forum
Printer friendly version
E-mail a link to this thread
Seconds to generate: 0.218 - Cached queries : 65 - Executed queries : 9
Server Time now is: Saturday, 25 March 2017 - 21:44