x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 

Latest Forum Activity

Converting video to a mobile format - file size

1 2
chazco
chazco Page Icon Posted 2006-08-05 4:29 AM
#
I'll try setting mine to use the mp3 plugin, will take a while to download the build tools though.
 Top of the page
chazco
chazco Page Icon Posted 2006-08-05 6:29 AM
#
I just built it I've never done that before...

ffmpeg -formats shows the MP3 encoding is now available... About to try again then...
 Top of the page
chazco
chazco Page Icon Posted 2006-08-05 7:01 AM
#
Done. Using ffmpeg -i "input.avi" -s 320x240 -b 200 -acodec mp3 -vcodec mpeg4 -ab 64 -ac 1 output.avi A 21 minute video is 42MB (source is approx 150MB). Thats not as bad as before (last attempt was about 50MB last time).

Is this good?
 Top of the page
PocketDVD Page Icon Posted 2006-08-05 10:18 AM
#
H/PC Philosopher

Look at the file on your pocketpc, then run the same file again with lower settings.
The ab as 32 for example. if you find that good enough to listen to you saved a few mb's
then the b as 160 or something and see if that still looks enough.
you could play around with the framerate (-r 15) for example, and half the -b value (100)

good or bad is all from ones own perspective. It also depends on your use.
If you know you will be having a lot of spare time while you only have a small memorycard, you might just settle for very low settings to fight repetition and boredom
(example: 128mb memorycard, and you know that over the whole day. without coming close to a computer to refill your memorycard with new videos, you have 2 hours to watch stuff, you might want to accept a low quality to avoid having to play freecell for half the waiting time)
 Top of the page
chazco
chazco Page Icon Posted 2006-08-05 11:08 AM
#
The ab as 32 for example. if you find that good enough to listen to you saved a few mb's