x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 

Latest Forum Activity

Help for a lost beginner

makemsmile Page Icon Posted 2007-09-06 2:20 AM
#
H/PC Newbie

Greetings,

I am an embedded designer with several years experience with micro-controllers. The platform, that I'm used to, is programming in 'C' using an IDE. I'm used to a wizard that helps insert the normal necessary code to get things started.

I have a personal project that I want to develop. I've purchased a 900C that I would like to start making a few 'little' applications that will interface with some outside hardware that I'm going to create. The problem is, I'm completely lost on where and how to start. I've installed embedded visual C++ 4.0 with service packs 2, 3 & 4 and the Standard_SDK. I've opened up the program and I have no idea of where to start. I've googled all over the place and have found very little help. This site is one of the results that I found. I've searched the forums here and I still feel like a lost puppy.

Would the knowledgeable and experienced 'Gurus' be able & willing to guide me by the hand and start me on the way down the yellow brick road?

Many thanks,

Ronald
 Top of the page
cmonex Page Icon Posted 2007-09-06 2:32 AM
#
H/PC Oracle

well i still didnt install evc4 (soon..) but it looked the same to me as evc3 which i installed and have used a few times.

you create a new workspace (file/new), select some type of project (i just use "simple wince app" ), name it then let it create it. then you will have some box at the right, with tabs at the bottom, select file view tab, and then you will see a tree, select source view and there you can just click on the cpp. then you can go code away

btw it will insert the winmain() for you but thats all. do you need more than that?