x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 

Latest Forum Activity

How to partition a CF with Puppy Linux

$ilver
$ilver Page Icon Posted 2008-01-07 12:10 PM
#
Ok I am a complete linux noob but I want to try RTFMs linux image.

I have puppy linux running on my main PC via CD, I have my CF card plugged in and working but I am having a hard time understanding what commands to type to get the partitions set up.

My CF card is listed as /dev/sda1 967mb vfat

Now its a 1gb card and it reads 967mb... where is the full 1gb, I cant find any files on it!

I have typed in some commands and tried some stuff form various posts but I cant seem to get it partitioned. I have tried to search for helpful posts on the forums but the search function times out every time

Any help on what i need to type into the console in linux would be very much appreciated

$ilver
 Top of the page
oski Page Icon Posted 2008-01-07 12:47 PM
#
Factorite (Elite)

Top of the page
$ilver
$ilver Page Icon Posted 2008-01-07 1:18 PM
#
Ok I follow that but i get the message

"FATAL ERROR: Bad primary partition 0: Partition begins after end-of-disk press any key to exit cfdisk"

Should I format the whole CF card if it has some problems? If so what is the command to format the whole thing and start fresh?

$ilver
 Top of the page
RTFM Page Icon Posted 2008-01-07 6:16 PM
#
H/PC Elite

Try cfdisk /dev/sda, then create your partitions as shown in the how-to posted above.

About your cf reading only 967 meg vs 1 gig... thats just a game manufacturers play. They size the drive by the amount of mbs of info it will hold, while windows reports a gig as 1024. For example a 40 gig hard drive really only is about 37 gig. So basically all i'm saying is your cf card is fine and normal.

Cheers.
 Top of the page
$ilver
$ilver Page Icon Posted 2008-01-08 3:47 AM
#
Ok when I try cfdisk /dev/sda I get a different error.