x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

Installing windows 95 on the jornada 720 ?

1 2
patrick295767 Page Icon Posted 2008-01-09 8:36 PM
#
Avatar image of patrick295767
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
284
Location:
United States
Status:
Hello Guys,

Has somebody already made it possible with the Jornada ? maybe impossible idea . with the smallest and fastest microsoft windows that may solve lot of driver problems for you, no ?

Cheers !

Edited by patrick295767 2008-01-09 8:37 PM
 Top of the page
HPCer Page Icon Posted 2008-01-09 8:59 PM
#
Avatar image of HPCer
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
153
Location:
United States
Status:
Unfortunately I believe it's impossible .
 Top of the page
Jax184 Page Icon Posted 2008-01-09 9:25 PM
#
Avatar image of Jax184
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
360
Location:
Vancouver, BC
Status:
No no no no and no.

The Jornada is NOT a PC. It uses a completely different CPU which talks to the rest of the machine in a different way, and it doesn't even have things like a BIOS. Windows 95 is right out of the question. Though windows 3.1 can be run very very slowly in a DOS emulator, I think. But why would you want to?
 Top of the page
btrimmer Page Icon Posted 2008-01-09 10:23 PM
#
Avatar image of btrimmer
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
304
Location:
United States
Status:
*cough* *cough*

http://www.hpcfactor.com/reviews/editorial/bochs-2-1-1/

Is it possible? With a lot of effort, and the instructions/software in the CESD: yes. Would you *want* to? Probably not...
 Top of the page
CE Geek Page Icon Posted 2008-01-10 3:55 AM
#
Avatar image of CE Geek
Global Moderator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
12,667
Location:
Southern California
Status:
Not even Windows 3.1 can be run in a DOS emulator AFAIK - though Windows 3.0 can (in theory at least).
 Top of the page
Jake Page Icon Posted 2008-01-10 6:57 AM
#
Avatar image of Jake
Moderator
H/PC Vanguard

Posts:
2,827
Location:
Choking on the stench of ambition in Washington DC
Status:
I've pondered the geek-quality of running MS Word 2.0 on the J (PocketDOS > Windows 3.0 > Word 2.0), but while it's a good app, it wouldn't exactly be instant on. TM or PocketWord (a program I strangely use more and more) is faster by far.

Re: Windows 95. I remember reading that Chris got Windows 98 to actually start up on a J-720, took 18 hours or so to boot. I'm sure Windows 95 could cut that time in HALF

Edit: Wait, maybe it was Win95, and the INSTALLATION took close to 18 hours. Whatever, it was an experiment more than a solution, I think

Jake

Edited by Jake 2008-01-10 7:05 AM
 Top of the page
kitor Page Icon Posted 2008-01-10 11:08 AM
#
Avatar image of kitor
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
224
Location:
Poland
Status:
18 hours to install Win98... Win95 boots in about 5 minutes but it isn't usable - too slow to run notepad (I have Win95OSR2 on 386SX-16 and 4mm of ram and it's much faster..)
 Top of the page
Jake Page Icon Posted 2008-01-10 11:36 AM
#
Avatar image of Jake
Moderator
H/PC Vanguard

Posts:
2,827
Location:
Choking on the stench of ambition in Washington DC
Status:
>> Win95OSR2 on 386SX-16 and 4mm of ram << Just curious: how long does that setup take to get you to the actual desktop?

Jake
 Top of the page
kitor Page Icon Posted 2008-01-10 3:15 PM
#
Avatar image of kitor
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
224
Location:
Poland
Status:
Setup took about 7 hours to 70% when orginal hdd fails... I instaled Win95 by copying setup files onto harddrive, launch setup on much modern PC and moved hdd to this PC after first reboot (Win95 OSR2 works on 4mb of ram but OSR2 setup hangs on it...)
 Top of the page
Jake Page Icon Posted 2008-01-10 3:38 PM
#
Avatar image of Jake
Moderator
H/PC Vanguard

Posts:
2,827
Location:
Choking on the stench of ambition in Washington DC
Status:
Thanks for the retro tip. In the future, some 386 wag will find this thread and say, Ah.

Jake
 Top of the page
CE Geek Page Icon Posted 2008-01-10 3:39 PM
#
Avatar image of CE Geek
Global Moderator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
12,667
Location:
Southern California
Status:
LOL
 Top of the page
RegularCE Page Icon Posted 2022-12-12 11:03 PM
#
Avatar image of RegularCE
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
1
Location:
FranceĀ 
Status:
Hello.

I can't remember why I wen't to an expo about farming machinery...that I saw the master of ceremonies using a Jornada 720 to present the slides. After each participant presenting he quickly opened and switched documents that I perfectly saw the Windows 3.1 environment.

Not sure why or how. That is the only thing I remember from that expo.

Edited by RegularCE 2022-12-12 11:09 PM
 Top of the page
I dunk for bananas Page Icon Posted 2022-12-13 12:02 AM
#
Avatar image of I dunk for bananas
H/PC Elite

Posts:
702
Location:
Europe
Status:
I'm pretty sure it must've been something similar looking, it's very very unlikely that someone would go out of their way to emulate 3.1 on CE on the Jornada
 Top of the page
fantablium Page Icon Posted 2022-12-13 3:31 PM
#
Avatar image of fantablium
Subscribers
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
150
Status:
It is possible to run Win95 on a Jornada but far too slow, I was doing a little digging and found this....

https://www.reddit.com/r/OldHandhelds/comments/xbslg2/run_windows_95...

The link still works and 'it works out of the box' I installed in on my HTC advantage (624Mhz 128Mb Ram) it loads in about 5 mins but is painfully slow to use :-(
Might try in on my J720 and report back....
 Top of the page
fantablium Page Icon Posted 2022-12-13 3:39 PM
#
Avatar image of fantablium
Subscribers
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
150
Status:
OK so this method won't work on the Jornada (thought that might be the case as its designed for PPC) Redgear just caused the device to crash when opening the folder and I tried it with the PPC DLL files but that didn't work either
 Top of the page
1 2
Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.280 - Cached queries : 67 - Executed queries : 14