x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

Getting MSN Messenger working on J710

1 2 3
Niteman1969 Page Icon Posted 2005-05-06 6:55 AM
#
Avatar image of Niteman1969
Factor Fanatic

Posts:
62
Location:
London UK
Status:
Hey guys,
getting my new(ish) J710 in the next few days and
I was hoping there was a way to get MSN Messenger working on it.

I have no experience whatsoever of hacking apps etc but hope
that someone can steer me in the right direction.

I am asking because although using imov on my 680 was
ok, it did not give full functionallity like the pop up alerts etc.

To be honest it was not to my taste having a full screen client either.

I understand that MS Portrait does allow messanger chat
but does it also give you pop-up alerts when somone has logged in?

I need the pop up alerts working because I intend to use it for
my bungie.net online alerts for xbox live.

This way even when my xbox is off I can see when my friends log in to
Halo2 and go and join them.

Regards

Niteman1969

 Top of the page
stingraze Page Icon Posted 2005-05-06 8:25 AM
#
Avatar image of stingraze
Subscribers
H/PC Vanguard

Posts:
3,695
Location:
Japan
Status:
I tried MS Portrait on my Pocket PC, but it did not seem to work very well. It seems to not be supporting the 2003 MSN Messenger update thing. But I can be wrong.
 Top of the page
cmonex Page Icon Posted 2005-05-06 12:43 PM
#
Avatar image of cmonex
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
16,175
Location:
Budapest, Hungary
Status:
MS Portrait works...

i can't remember if it supports this pop-up thing (i'm using another program for msn - that doesn't support it either), but i don't think so. still it's worth trying..
 Top of the page
Nick Charlton Page Icon Posted 2005-05-06 1:23 PM
#
Avatar image of Nick Charlton
H/PC Elite

Posts:
566
Location:
Farnham, Surrey, United Kingdom
Status:
Portrait doesn't have alerts by the way.

Nick
 Top of the page
hpcpro Page Icon Posted 2005-05-07 10:34 PM
#
Avatar image of hpcpro
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
118
Location:
Barcelona(Spain)
Status:
The MSN Messenger Force v2.5 PPC of Ruksun works on a 720 with the habitual DLLs: gx.dll, ayghsell.dll, doclist.dll, mfcce300.dll. Menus works perfect.
Full Screen
pop up alerts
simultaneus conversations
....



 Top of the page
jornada720 Page Icon Posted 2006-03-13 12:58 PM
#
Avatar image of jornada720
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
134
Location:
United States
Status:
I have downloaded the DLLs and downloaded the program. It starts up fine and everything functions, but i still get the problem 'Could not sign-in to the MSN Messenger Service. The servers may be shut down currently or a valid connection may not have been established. chekc the settings and try again.' Using MSN Messenger Force v2.5ppc. Thanks in advance...
 Top of the page
Derek.HPCManiac
Derek.HPCManiac Page Icon Posted 2006-03-13 1:28 PM
#
Status:
MSN Messener Force doensn't runs because microsoft was recoded the network about 2 years...

Microsoft Portrait doesn't runs in MIPS and SH3 Machines with CE 2.11
 Top of the page
jornada720 Page Icon Posted 2006-03-18 1:01 PM
#
Avatar image of jornada720
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
134
Location:
United States
Status:
So Messenger Force is out? Period? Theres no hope?

Is IMOV the only alternative? I dont know how to configure portrait to access MSN.
 Top of the page
wallythacker Page Icon Posted 2006-03-18 2:59 PM
#
Avatar image of wallythacker
H/PC Elder

Posts:
2,156
Location:
Barrie, Ontario
Status:
What about bitbee? I've heard that name tossed around.
 Top of the page
cmonex Page Icon Posted 2006-03-18 9:13 PM
#
Avatar image of cmonex
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
16,175
Location:
Budapest, Hungary
Status:
yeah i use bitlbee with ircce. you can use it with splatter too i think

jornada720: to config ms portrait is easy: go to the options and there at the passport give your msn email and password, then select sign in. that's it!
 Top of the page
wallythacker Page Icon Posted 2006-03-21 8:31 AM
#
Avatar image of wallythacker
H/PC Elder

Posts:
2,156
Location:
Barrie, Ontario
Status:
Yes, Portrait is easy to configure. It suits my needs, which are simple, very well.
 Top of the page
jornada720 Page Icon Posted 2006-03-21 8:35 PM
#
Avatar image of jornada720
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
134
Location:
United States
Status:
Hello, I have some more questions on MS Portrait. Could you use the microphone on a Jornada 720 for an audio conversation? And also, when I try to sign in, it says it cant connect to the correct IP adress. Could you point me in the right direction? thanks!
 Top of the page
jornada720 Page Icon Posted 2006-03-22 4:41 PM
#
Avatar image of jornada720
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
134
Location:
United States
Status:
Never mind, i figured it out
 Top of the page
hpcpro Page Icon Posted 2006-05-01 9:47 PM
#
Avatar image of hpcpro
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
118
Location:
Barcelona(Spain)
Status:
With MS Portrait you can talk with other users in half dupplex mode(While one talk the other listen).

I wrote a MS Portrait review sometimes ago:
http://www.todopocketpc.com/foro/showthread.php?t=14150&highlight=portrait
Use google translation.


But you can use IMOV Messenger or Jabberapplet5, a jabber servers based:
http://www.todopocketpc.com/foro/showthread.php?t=11789&highlight=jabber
And the Jabber servers:
http://www.todopocketpc.com/foro/showthread.php?t=28948&highlight=jabber

 Top of the page
Link Page Icon Posted 2006-07-29 4:14 PM
#
Avatar image of Link
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
129
Status:
ok, i couldnt really understand anything anyonne was saying, could someone give me a link to download the best version of msn for my j720, and a list of the .dlls i need?
thanks
Link
 Top of the page
1 2 3
Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.25 - Cached queries : 66 - Executed queries : 14