x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

3G PCMCIA Cards for HPC 2000

1 2
hpcpro Page Icon Posted 2005-05-07 6:11 PM
#
Avatar image of hpcpro
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
118
Location:
Barcelona(Spain)
Status:
For example:

In Spain costs about 1 Euro 1 Megabyte.
There are packs as 70 euros 100MB.

Open a web generate a traffic from 70kb the best simple web text based to 1MB a web with a lot of images.Well, I configure Pocket Internet Explorer without images.

I have configured my email with No send body, only title. Then I can see what kind of email I receive and I can delete spam,etc,.... After I download entire body of the good emails.

Messengers consume from 40 bytes to 400bytes everytime you send or receive a message. If you dont send nothing and left messenger in stand by every 4 minuts messengers do a ping to check you are online and who is online. It consumes from 30 to 70bytes. You can have a long conversation with a very low cost.



 Top of the page
cmonex Page Icon Posted 2005-05-07 6:59 PM
#
Avatar image of cmonex
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
16,175
Location:
Budapest, Hungary
Status:
is it THAT expensive there?!

it's 3000 HUF per 100 or 200 MB for a month here. 250 HUF = 1 Euro
100 MB is easily enough for me.

so i might be lucky to live here..

 Top of the page
vjurkas Page Icon Posted 2005-05-08 2:29 AM
#
Avatar image of vjurkas
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
219
Location:
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Status:
hpcpro - 2005-05-07 3:28 PM

We can use a SOCKET BLUETOOTH PCMCIA connected to a 720 and use a 3G telephone with Bluetooth. Its a solution.

I have a Sierra Aircard 750 and i'm very happy with it. My connection is about 40kbps, not too much but I can use internet.

The GPRS is expensive to internet navigation


Would it be possible to add this card to HCL?
 Top of the page
lextre Page Icon Posted 2005-05-08 2:33 AM
#
Avatar image of lextre
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
121
Status:
There is another GPRS card that could be added to the HCL list too. It's a Novatel Wireless Merlin G201 PCMCIA Card. It works flawlessly under HPC2000 for net and email access worldwide (coverage is obviously Network dependent). I have a set up guide (PDF) if anybody needs a copy
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2005-05-08 9:11 AM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
17,974
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
The Socket and Sierras are both in the HCL already...
Lextre, I have added the card to the HCL, many thanks.
 Top of the page
vjurkas Page Icon Posted 2005-05-08 3:55 PM
#
Avatar image of vjurkas
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
219
Location:
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Status:
C:Amie - 2005-05-08 3:11 PM

The Socket and Sierras are both in the HCL already...
Lextre, I have added the card to the HCL, many thanks.


Yeah, sorry! I've merged Sierra and Bluetooth in one single card. I should have read more carefully
 Top of the page
hpcpro Page Icon Posted 2005-06-07 4:43 PM
#
Avatar image of hpcpro
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
118
Location:
Barcelona(Spain)
Status:
The Sierra Aircard 555 has 153kps(3G ???) and works on HPC2000. Voice phone too.

The Sierra Aircard 550 is a 3G(kps ???) and works on HPC2000. Voice phone too.



http://h30143.www3.hp.com/solutions.cfm?oid=64929&from=enter.cfm&pa...

http://www.dialedin.net/phones.htm

http://www.gsmworld.com/technology/edge/terminals.shtml
 Top of the page
hpcpro Page Icon Posted 2005-06-08 7:39 PM
#
Avatar image of hpcpro
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
118
Location:
Barcelona(Spain)
Status:
SIERRA AIRCARD 750 reviewed at ZONA HANDHELD

http://www.todopocketpc.com/foro/showthread.php?t=59528
 Top of the page
Guest
Guest Page Icon Posted 2006-02-19 11:33 AM
#
Status:
hi!

anything on novatel wireless merlin u630 on jornada 720

toze.luz@gmail.com

thanks

 Top of the page
TungstenC Page Icon Posted 2006-05-11 4:17 AM
#
Avatar image of TungstenC
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
7
Location:
France
Status:
Novatel U630 on Jornada is a mess.
I tried to setup the two serial port on the novatel (Primary and Secondary). But no chance !

The Windows XP drivers come with 3 drivers, One for the MultiCard (Parent of the serial port) and the two serial port (One for the modem and the other for serial port).

But On the Jornada, only two devices are detected as standard pcmcia modem.

I cannot open these two serial ports (even with vxhpc through direct serial).

I don't think that novatel will release a specific driver for our loveley HPC !
 Top of the page
Guest
Guest Page Icon Posted 2006-05-22 4:15 PM
#
Status:
hi lextre!

i am trying to use the novatel merlin u630, maybe your pdf can help.
please send it to me at:

amsterdam@email2me.net
 Top of the page
About Aircard 750
About Aircard 750 Page Icon Posted 2006-05-27 11:50 PM
#
Status:
To hpcpro:

Hi! I just got Jornada 720 and Aircard 750. But Sierra removed the Aircard 750 driver from their website. Would you please tell me where to get the driver for Jornada 720? my email is :crvlee@yahoo.com. Thanks a lot.

Jensen Lee
 Top of the page
isotherm Page Icon Posted 2006-05-28 2:23 AM
#
Avatar image of isotherm
H/PC Elite

Posts:
504
Location:
United States
Status:
Try the 775 driver which is on their site. (But maybe not for long, they announced end of life for that card too!) I'm using it with a 775, but it should also work with a 750.
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2006-05-28 9:38 AM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
17,974
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
The 750 drivers are OEM, ideally you should sourece them from your telecommunications service provider.
 Top of the page
Guest
Guest Page Icon Posted 2006-05-29 3:31 AM
#
Status:
Thanks you guys. I got the driver for Aircard 755, it works just fine in Jornada 720.
 Top of the page
1 2
Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.203 - Cached queries : 65 - Executed queries : 12