x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

Development Under eVC++

1 2
nathanpc Page Icon Posted 2009-09-06 1:14 PM
#
Avatar image of nathanpc
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
327
Location:
Portugal
Status:
Hello,
I'm a C++ developer, GNU syntax expecialist, not Microsoft syntax, but i can develop for Windows CE, using my C++ syntax knowleadge, with eVC++, how i can include iostream pre-compiled library to develop?
If i need to know another type of syntax, someone can help me, posting a tutorial. I have a HP Jornada 720.

Thanks,
Nathan Paulino Campos
 Top of the page
nathanpc Page Icon Posted 2009-09-06 1:16 PM
#
Avatar image of nathanpc
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
327
Location:
Portugal
Status:
Remember that i want to build only console apps.

Thanks!
 Top of the page
mscdex Page Icon Posted 2009-09-06 2:44 PM
#
Avatar image of mscdex
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,054
Location:
United States
Status:
Well, iostream and many other libraries are not included in the HPC SDKs, so instead you need to compile STLport and link your application with it to be able to use those libraries. Unfortunately, the latest STLport does not build for CE 2.11 - only CE 3.0.

1. Download the latest stlport from here (5.2.1 as of this writing). Unpack it.
2. Copy the stddef.h file from the HPC Pro SDK include directory to the hpc2000 SDK include directory (hpc2000's SDK doesn't inclde stddef.h for some reason and stlport needs it).
3. Open a command prompt. Either type: "set PLATFORM=hpc2000" (without quotes) or edit the EVC platform/cpu batch file to default to hpc2000 instead of "ms pocket pc".
4. Call the batch file for the platform/cpu you wish to build for (i.e. "C:\Program Files\Microsoft eMbedded Tools\EVC\WCE300\BIN\WCEARM.BAT" )
5. Change to the STLport directory (where configure.bat resides) and type: configure.bat evc3
6. Follow the instructions on the screen (cd to build/lib and type: "nmake clean install" )
7. Finally, link your application with the appropriate static or dynamic lib from the lib\evc3-(cpu)\ directory

I was able to build successfully for ARM, MIPS, and X86.

Edited by mscdex 2009-09-06 3:00 PM
 Top of the page
nathanpc Page Icon Posted 2009-09-06 2:57 PM
#
Avatar image of nathanpc
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
327
Location:
Portugal
Status:
Thanks very much!
Now i'm going to do this tutorial, if i have any problem i will post it here, Ok!

Thanks...
 Top of the page
nathanpc Page Icon Posted 2009-09-06 4:08 PM
#
Avatar image of nathanpc
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
327
Location:
Portugal
Status:
All works fine, but where i can find a command-line tool to use in my H/PC Pro emulator, not to use the STLport, but to using the normal librarys.

Just to test!
 Top of the page
mscdex Page Icon Posted 2009-09-06 7:17 PM
#
Avatar image of mscdex
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,054
Location:
United States
Status:
I'm not sure what you mean. What kind of tool are you looking for? There's not a whole lot of command-line programs that were made for the built-in cmd.exe.
 Top of the page
nathanpc Page Icon Posted 2009-09-06 7:28 PM
#
Avatar image of nathanpc
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
327
Location:
Portugal
Status:
But cmd.exe is included in the HPC Pro emulator?
 Top of the page
nathanpc Page Icon Posted 2009-09-06 9:08 PM
#
Avatar image of nathanpc
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
327
Location:
Portugal
Status:
I need this with urgency!
Please help me!


Thanks!
 Top of the page
mscdex Page Icon Posted 2009-09-06 9:37 PM
#
Avatar image of mscdex
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,054
Location:
United States
Status:
The HPC Pro emulator does not include the console that is included with a real HPC/CE device. I've always done development testing on my actual devices.
 Top of the page
nathanpc Page Icon Posted 2009-09-06 9:42 PM
#
Avatar image of nathanpc
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
327
Location:
Portugal
Status:
But, you can post a link that i can download it, because i have a HP Jornada 720, but i'm travelling and i forgot it(I'm really disapointed because of this.).

Thanks!
 Top of the page
mscdex Page Icon Posted 2009-09-06 10:21 PM
#
Avatar image of mscdex
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,054
Location:
United States
Status:
I think you're pretty much out of luck. The emulator is x86-based, so you would need to find an x86 version of the native HPC/CE console or x86 version of Pocket Console or similar. You won't find an x86 build for any of those options, unless maybe you can someone with an x86-based Windows CE device who is able to somehow transfer you their cmd.exe.

Edited by mscdex 2009-09-06 10:22 PM
 Top of the page
nathanpc Page Icon Posted 2009-09-06 10:23 PM
#
Avatar image of nathanpc
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
327
Location:
Portugal
Status:
Huh, then when i get back in my home i will run it in my HP Jornada 720!

Thanks!
 Top of the page
nathanpc Page Icon Posted 2009-09-06 10:28 PM
#
Avatar image of nathanpc
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
327
Location:
Portugal
Status:
Mscdex, if i can't test it in my emulator and i will get back in my home at a couple days and i need to test this with urgency. You can say to me if i compile something like:
#include "stdafx.h" 
#include <stdio.h> 

int WINAPI WinMain( HINSTANCE hInstance,
HINSTANCE hPrevInstance,
LPTSTR lpCmdLine,
int nCmdShow)
{
printf ( "Hello, World" );

return 0;
}

You can say to me if i can trust that this will run in every HPC Pro and HPC 2000 device that haves the cmd.exe?

And if i try to compile any other command-line program that uses C syntax, it will run perfectly too?

Thanks!

Edited by nathanpc 2009-09-06 10:30 PM
 Top of the page
cmonex Page Icon Posted 2009-09-06 11:09 PM
#
Avatar image of cmonex
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
16,175
Location:
Budapest, Hungary
Status:
that helloworld app will run, yes

just make sure you compile it for the correct cpu

as for other C console apps, depends on what C runtime functions you also use; hpc pro for example doesn't have some basic and really useful functions like strtoul if i recall right. hpc2000 is much less limited in terms of that. but of course they wouldn't even compile with such problems so once it compiles, it will probably run

Edited by cmonex 2009-09-06 11:11 PM
 Top of the page
mscdex Page Icon Posted 2009-09-06 11:49 PM
#
Avatar image of mscdex
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,054
Location:
United States
Status:
nathanpc, at some point you may want to look into also using wcecompat here. It provides a lot of C/C++ functions that are missing in CE.
 Top of the page
1 2
Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.203 - Cached queries : 73 - Executed queries : 8