x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

3Com 3C589x Driver for HPC Pro

Moderators: C:Amie

Jump to page : 1 2 3 4 5 6
Now viewing page 4 [15 messages per page]

Bartek
Bartek Page Icon Posted 2005-10-29 4:20 AM
#
Status:
Hi,

I have a problem. My Jornada 620LX+ 3COM 3CXE589EC not work - why ?

Please help my.

Thank you
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2005-10-29 7:52 AM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
15,353
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
No idea, perhaps you can tell me why my toaster doesn't work?... oh, I forgot to plug it in.

3CXE589EC isn't in the HCL, I've never had any experience with it, so chances are that it isn't compatible with 2.11. It may work with 2.00, but there is no certainty in that.
 Top of the page
Bartek
Bartek Page Icon Posted 2005-10-30 3:39 AM
#
Status:
I have one question :
3Com PC Card must be : Megahertz ?
I have 3Com 3C589C EtherLink III - is Ok or no ?



 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2005-10-30 5:02 AM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
15,353
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
I think that you will have better luck with the Megahertz one.
Don't forget to install any pcmcia.dll updates first
 Top of the page
gromm Page Icon Posted 2005-11-01 4:15 PM
#
Avatar image of gromm
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
7
Status:
First I would like to thank you guys for the great work you're doing on this driver. The HPC is exactly what I need for work, and it makes my life a whole lot easier.

I have a MobilePro 770, and a 3C598C network card that also worked in my old Cassiopeia A-20. The driver makes this network card work great with one exception: I can't get DNS requests to work. If I look up an IP address on another machine, I can even retrieve web pages by IP (as well as ping and traceroute, which means it's not a connectivity issue or a routing issue), but it won't work for using domain names like www.yahoo.com for instance.

Is there something I'm not installing right, or is this a driver issue that hasn't been resolved yet?
 Top of the page
gromm Page Icon Posted 2005-11-01 4:26 PM
#
Avatar image of gromm
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
7
Status:
An update:

On a lark I tried setting up the inbox program for my e-mail by IP address. I get error messages that say "Waiting for response: The server is responding slowly. Will continue to try for XX seconds" and then times out.

It looks like it won't get any larger amount of data through the connection.
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2005-11-02 11:42 AM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
15,353
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
I have never experienced issues with this, and I duoubt that it's a driver problem. Are you using Manual Addressing, or automatic addressing?

I recommend that you install vxUtil:
http://www.hpcfactor.com/qlink/?linkID=36

and use it to check the Primary and Secondary DNS values for the adapter. They should match other machines on the network.
 Top of the page
gromm Page Icon Posted 2005-11-02 12:28 PM
#
Avatar image of gromm
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
7
Status:
C:Amie - 2005-11-02 8:42 AM

Are you using Manual Addressing, or automatic addressing?


Yes.

I've actually tried both, and it's the same story either way.

Quote

I recommend that you install vxUtil:
http://www.hpcfactor.com/qlink/?linkID=36

and use it to check the Primary and Secondary DNS values for the adapter. They should match other machines on the network.


Yeah, I use VXUtil for all my testing, and it does indeed display the DNS properly.
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2005-11-02 12:36 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
15,353
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
anything in the WINS servers?

Incidentally, what are the IP addresses of the assigned DNS servers?
 Top of the page
gromm Page Icon Posted 2005-11-02 3:53 PM
#
Avatar image of gromm
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
7
Status:
I seem to be having the same trouble Maxx is having, with similar hardware (although he has the 3C589D and I have the 3C589C).

I tried pinging my gateway with increasingly large packet sizes, and it stops working between 512 and 1024 bytes.

I've installed the patches from HPC Factor for the MP770. WinCE 2.11 SP1, the pcmcia patch, and the 3com driver. I'll just try starting over from scratch and experimenting with the order in which they're installed, and report back with my results if I'm successful.
 Top of the page
gromm Page Icon Posted 2005-11-12 6:53 PM
#
Avatar image of gromm
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
7
Status:
Things I've tried:

Note: when wiping the memory, the system reports itself like this:

Microsoft(R) Windows(R) CE, Handheld PC Edition Version 3.0:
Core System Version 2.11
Pocket Internet Explorer Version 3.0
Pocket Outlook(TM) Version 3.0

Build 8262

- wiped memory, then tried installing 3c589-ce3.mips.CAB, from http://www.hpcfactor.com/support/cesd/h/0017.asphttp://www.hpcfacto...

Result: Installation complained about the wrong version of Windows CE, but I installed anyway. Installation otherwise worked, I could ping my IP, I could ping other IPs on the network, but I could not get DNS working, or ping with larger packets.

- wiped memory again, then tried installing http://www.hpcfactor.com/hcl/

Result: Error message on desktop machine "Some source files not found on installation disk. Setup exit."

- tried installing 3c589ce.MIPS.CAB from http://www.hpcfactor.com/hcl/

Result: installation didn't complain on MP770, but it doesn't recognize the card. When I plug in the card, the link light blinks twice and then goes dark, as the "Unidentified PCCard Adapter" error window comes up. I close this window without saving the name, because I know it won't work.

- Installed pcmcia update ftp://ftp.necsam.com/pub/Catalog/3050/mp8pcm.exe. There are other patches listed at http://support.necsam.com/downloads/search/default.htm?header=False...

Result: No change. This update is apparently for fixing problems with the CF card, and is a good idea anyway.

There is another update for the MP770 and MP800 in particular, (http://support.necsam.com/download/mp77_update.cab) but that only fixes some bugs involving the startup screen bitmap.

- Installed ce_sp1-1.exe, downloaded from ftp://ftp.necsam.com/pub/Catalog/2527/ce_sp1.exe. This included "network and printer updates" and may be some help somehow.

Result: There have been no changes. Build version still says Build 8262. There is however, an extensive list of new programs in the Remove Programs list in the Control Panel. Well, it's installed.

- Reinstalled 3c589ce.MIPS.CAB from
http://www.hpcfactor.com/hcl/

Windows still doesn't recognize the card. It pops up the Unidentified PCCard Adapter error message when windows starts from a reset.

It seems that the only driver that works at all for me is the one for the HPC2000. Except it doesn't quite work all the way.

Also, under Network Configuration in the Control Panel, the driver is listed as "3com Megahertz (589E) Ethernet driver". But I'm using the 589C! Is this a mislabelling, or is there something odd with the driver at http://www.hpcfactor.com/support/cesd/h/0008.asp


If there's something I'm doing wrong, I'd *love* to hear about it. I'll even write a FAQ for the MP770 and detailed documentation for how to make it work.
 Top of the page
cmonex Page Icon Posted 2005-11-12 10:33 PM
#
Avatar image of cmonex
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
16,175
Location:
Budapest, Hungary
Status:
when it asks for the driver name, did you ever try entering the (correct) driver name?

my prism wifi card always asks me when i install it on a hpc but it always works after entering the driver name... on every hpc!!! lol at least those that have network support (so CE 1.0 is out of the question )
and one of my ne2000 lan cards always asked (when it was still alive ) and always worked on any hpc.

actually ive had only bad experiences with network cards that do NOT ask me and link automatically to the driver... but thats just me, i know

sorry if this is no good in this case

Edited by cmonex 2005-11-12 10:35 PM
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2005-11-13 7:12 AM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
15,353
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
Go back to page 1 in this thread and about half way down are the last test versions of the 2.11 drivers that I released. These should operate in the same way that the HPC2000 ones do.
 Top of the page
gromm Page Icon Posted 2005-11-14 3:23 AM
#
Avatar image of gromm
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
7
Status:
Okay, I found it and downloaded it, and you're right. It does operate the same way the HPC2000 does. I tried pinging my firewall with packets between 800 and 1024 bytes, and at 1000, it starts dropping about 30% of them. At 1024, it stops completely.

Okay... I think I found the problem. After doing some extensive testing, I found that I could connect to internet servers on the local LAN, but not on the internet. I use a firewall to protect my network. Thankfully, it's one that runs Unix, so I did a TCP dump and found out that while the packets go out to the server and come back directed properly to the client, the client does not receive the returning packets.

I'm going to bring this into work on Monday, where we have a web server inside the firewall. I'm going to test Internet Explorer this way, but my tests with DNS and telnet have been pretty conclusive so far.

This is extremely strange, since all other computers on my network at home work flawlessly on the internet. Even this network card works fine, since I've tested it with another computer, and on the MobliePro 770 after installing Netbsd on it. Also, this same network card works with the 3com beta driver for WINCE 2.0 on my Cassiopeia A-20, from behind my firewall. If there's a problem, it lies with the driver somehow.

The good news for me anyway, is that I can definitely use this for testing purposes on our servers while I'm in the server room, at the very least. Ideally, I should be able to leave it plugged in overnight, checking my e-mail so that it's ready for me to read on the train into work.
 Top of the page
gromm Page Icon Posted 2005-11-14 9:32 PM
#
Avatar image of gromm
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
7
Status:
Nope. What actually happens with telnet is that the connection will work for the first several bytes, and then stop completely. Same thing with web pages. I'm not quite sure why DNS was working as well as it was. Maybe it's because of how short the connections are.

This totally isn't working.
 Top of the page
hpc:factor« View previous thread · Handheld PC Professional · View next thread »

Jump to page : 1 2 3 4 5 6
Now viewing page 4 [15 messages per page]

Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.062 - Cached queries : 68 - Executed queries : 9
Server Time now is: Tuesday, 20 October 2020 - 17:43