x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

Review: (Flashback) NTT DoCoMo Sigmarion III

1 2
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2011-12-03 6:17 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
15,738
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
If there is one word that is probably safe to use when discussing the NTT DoCoMo Sigmarion III 'unusual' is likely it.

Made by NEC but released exclusively by Japanese telecommunications giant NTT DoCoMo, the device was exclusive to NTT and had no follow-up anywhere in the world under and brand. More so the device was one of the first to include TFT screen technology and native SD card reading technology. Furthermore it was one of a very small number of devices that was ever released to market with Windows CE .net 4.1 on-board, making it a truly unlikely contender in the popularity stakes. Yet surprisingly despite its Japanese only origins, the Sigmarion III is a highly regarded and very popular H/PC device (if you can get hold of one!).

It has been a while since we've run a Flashback review here on HPC:Factor and to mark the occasion Mikey Pizano takes the oddity that is the NTT DoCoMo Sigmarion III for a trip down memory lane as he reviews the device in his first article on HPC:Factor.

As ever, read the review and have your say in the comments and on the forum.

View: NTT DoCoMo Sigmarion III
 Top of the page
Quote Reply
Rich Hawley Page Icon Posted 2011-12-03 6:38 PM
#
Avatar image of Rich Hawley
Global Moderator
H/PC Guru

Posts:
7,061
Location:
USA
Status:
Nice article...it is tiny...one of the HPCs that I've never owned. Wonder how it feels to type on it versus typing on the Jornada...which I hate. Also, is the a rom image for installing the OS? If so I bet I could translate some of those programs...
 Top of the page
Quote Reply
CE Geek Page Icon Posted 2011-12-03 8:35 PM
#
Avatar image of CE Geek
Global Moderator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
12,307
Location:
Southern California
Status:
It's definitely easier to type on than the Jornada. I did a lot of Web browsing on it on the road a couple of years ago, and the browsing experience was not bad on IE CE 5.5. The addition of 802.11g support in CE 4.x is a big help. Though the 64 MB of RAM is a bit cramped by current standards, I tend to limit storage RAM, and I'm still finding the Sig 3 to be pretty snappy even compared to the newer CE devices I have.
 Top of the page
Quote Reply
CAuser Page Icon Posted 2011-12-04 5:21 AM
#
Avatar image of CAuser
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,278
Location:
Silicon Valley, USA
Status:
IIRC, Sig3 does have a utility for telecom use (NTT only, with a built-in/added module?). There are quite some CF WiFi cards working on Sig3. I even got a CF to Ethernet adapter working on Sig3.

Edited by CAuser 2011-12-04 6:14 AM
 Top of the page
Quote Reply
mikey pizano Page Icon Posted 2011-12-04 3:28 PM
#
Avatar image of mikey pizano
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
131
Location:
Pennsylvania
Status:
The reason my WiFi card won't work is because it was made for the Sony Clie line.
 Top of the page
Quote Reply
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2011-12-04 3:43 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
15,738
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
There's no such thing really, the official Clie WiNIC ( http://www.mobiletechreview.com/tips/sony_wifi.htm ) is a WL100, so it should have a Prism 2.5 chip in it. Unless it has custom firmware it is probably a case of finding the correct reference driver.
 Top of the page
Quote Reply
CAuser Page Icon Posted 2011-12-04 6:16 PM
#
Avatar image of CAuser
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,278
Location:
Silicon Valley, USA
Status:
Maybe, stingraze can explain what FOMA is (a telecom style in Japan?).

Edited by CAuser 2011-12-04 6:20 PM
 Top of the page
Quote Reply
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2011-12-04 7:35 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
15,738
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
It's Japanese CSMA/HSPA offered by NTT DoCoMo
 Top of the page
Quote Reply
CAuser Page Icon Posted 2011-12-05 5:14 AM
#
Avatar image of CAuser
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,278
Location:
Silicon Valley, USA
Status:
Since it's NTT DoCoMO exclusive, I never bother to find out if Sig3 already has a 3G module built in or not.
 Top of the page
Quote Reply
stingraze Page Icon Posted 2011-12-05 8:43 AM
#
Avatar image of stingraze
Writing Team
H/PC Vanguard

Posts:
2,799
Location:
Japan
Status:
Quote
CAuser - 2011-12-05 3:16 AM

Maybe, stingraze can explain what FOMA is (a telecom style in Japan?).

FOMA is 384 kbps W-CDMA (3G) used in Japan. It was used before the days of HSDPA(FOMA HIGH-SPEED). It is still used when the FOMA HIGH-SPEED reception is bad or for FOMA only devices.
FOMA HIGH-SPEED is 7.2Mbps and 3.6Mbps.

I never used NTT Docomo network myself, but have used a MVNO called b-mobile which uses the NTT Docomo network on my HTC Desire and NTT Docomo Xperia. NTT Docomo is considered the best carrier in Japan by many, and I think it is true.

Edited by stingraze 2011-12-05 8:47 AM
 Top of the page
Quote Reply
mikey pizano Page Icon Posted 2011-12-06 5:18 PM
#
Avatar image of mikey pizano
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
131
Location:
Pennsylvania
Status:
Quote
C:Amie - 2011-12-04 10:43 AM

There's no such thing really, the official Clie WiNIC ( http://www.mobiletechreview.com/tips/sony_wifi.htm ) is a WL100, so it should have a Prism 2.5 chip in it. Unless it has custom firmware it is probably a case of finding the correct reference driver.


Tried all that. Mine is the Wl110 card. I had it work for a total of like 5 minutes and even then it was hit and miss.
 Top of the page
Quote Reply
CE Geek Page Icon Posted 2011-12-07 4:31 AM
#
Avatar image of CE Geek
Global Moderator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
12,307
Location:
Southern California
Status:
I trust you installed the Agere reference driver for the WL110, which is supposed to have an Agere chipset. (The WL100 is Prism-based.)
 Top of the page
Quote Reply
mikey pizano Page Icon Posted 2011-12-07 6:14 PM
#
Avatar image of mikey pizano
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
131
Location:
Pennsylvania
Status:
The Wl110 is supposed to be Prism 2.5 I think.
 Top of the page
Quote Reply
CAuser Page Icon Posted 2011-12-07 6:32 PM
#
Avatar image of CAuser
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,278
Location:
Silicon Valley, USA
Status:
I think CE Geek is correct.
 Top of the page
Quote Reply
Jake Page Icon Posted 2011-12-07 7:32 PM
#
Avatar image of Jake
Moderator
H/PC Elder

Posts:
2,282
Location:
Choking on the stench of ambition in Washington DC
Status:
@Mikey Pizano:

Nice job, sir. You make me want one.

Jake
 Top of the page
Quote Reply
hpc:factor« View previous thread · Reviews · View next thread »
1 2
Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.218 - Cached queries : 52 - Executed queries : 28
Server Time now is: Monday, 20 September 2021 - 14:47