x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

Got a Windows CE. 1.01Cassiopeia A-51!

Moderators: C:Amie

Jump to page : 1 2
Now viewing page 1 [15 messages per page]

stingraze Page Icon Posted 2012-01-15 9:25 AM
#
Avatar image of stingraze
Writing Team
H/PC Vanguard

Posts:
2,555
Location:
Japan
Status:
Hi guys, I just wanted to share the news that I got myself a Windows CE 1.01 Cassiopeia A-51.

Works great, though I got it used.

This is actually my first mono Windows CE device.

Edited by stingraze 2012-01-15 9:26 AM




(IMG_7431.JPG)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments IMG_7431.JPG (63KB - 0 downloads)
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2012-01-15 10:09 AM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
15,472
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
ha, fantastic. You don't see 1.01 devices very often, so good find that man!
 Top of the page
stingraze Page Icon Posted 2012-01-15 10:49 AM
#
Avatar image of stingraze
Writing Team
H/PC Vanguard

Posts:
2,555
Location:
Japan
Status:
It was sold at a shop near my house for a very good price. Windows CE 1.01 is very well made, and the battery lasts very long!
 Top of the page
Rich Hawley Page Icon Posted 2012-01-15 1:45 PM
#
Avatar image of Rich Hawley
Global Moderator
H/PC Guru

Posts:
7,004
Location:
USA
Status:
Very nice looking machine...

BTW, do you ever see any Mobilegear MC-MK32 handhelds over there? I'd love to get my hands on a 6mb DOS machine.

Even an MC-K1 or MC-K11 or MC-K22 or MC--K12 would be okay, but the K32 has always been a target of mine....

Anyways, nice find Stingraze...your picture has become the image in the devices and specs area for the A-51.



(a51.jpg)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments a51.jpg (18KB - 0 downloads)
 Top of the page
stingraze Page Icon Posted 2012-01-15 10:51 PM
#
Avatar image of stingraze
Writing Team
H/PC Vanguard

Posts:
2,555
Location:
Japan
Status:
Quote
Rich Hawley - 2012-01-15 10:45 PM

Very nice looking machine...

BTW, do you ever see any Mobilegear MC-MK32 handhelds over there? I'd love to get my hands on a 6mb DOS machine.

Even an MC-K1 or MC-K11 or MC-K22 or MC--K12 would be okay, but the K32 has always been a target of mine....

Anyways, nice find Stingraze...your picture has become the image in the devices and specs area for the A-51.


Thanks for using my picture. Unfortunately, I can't find any of the DOS machines on auction. Maybe I'll get lucky and find one someday.
 Top of the page
HPC:Fan Page Icon Posted 2012-01-16 10:52 PM
#
Avatar image of HPC:Fan
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
817
Location:
Europe/USA
Status:
Congrats on the buy. Lovely machine, never tried 1.01 out!
 Top of the page
stingraze Page Icon Posted 2012-01-17 7:16 AM
#
Avatar image of stingraze
Writing Team
H/PC Vanguard

Posts:
2,555
Location:
Japan
Status:
Quote
SOLIDUS - 2012-01-17 7:52 AM

Congrats on the buy. Lovely machine, never tried 1.01 out!

Thanks. It's quite cool and the "slowness" is good in this age where 3Ghz laptops are common.
 Top of the page
Richard Plume Page Icon Posted 2012-01-17 11:43 PM
#
Avatar image of Richard Plume
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
370
Location:
Toronto, Canada
Status:
Very neat looking machine! The keyboard looks like the A-20 series. The screen is definitely different. What`s the resolution? 480x240?

Rick

Edited by Richard Plume 2012-01-17 11:44 PM
 Top of the page
stingraze Page Icon Posted 2012-01-18 1:16 PM
#
Avatar image of stingraze
Writing Team
H/PC Vanguard

Posts:
2,555
Location:
Japan
Status:
Yes. Since it is 1.0x, the resolution is 480x240.
 Top of the page
CE Geek Page Icon Posted 2012-01-18 4:27 PM
#
Avatar image of CE Geek
Global Moderator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
12,239
Location:
Southern California
Status:
That's not automatic for CE 1.0, stingraze. Remember the HP 300LX and 320LX had 640x240 displays.
 Top of the page
stingraze Page Icon Posted 2012-01-19 5:14 AM
#
Avatar image of stingraze
Writing Team
H/PC Vanguard

Posts:
2,555
Location:
Japan
Status:
oh I didn't know that Good to know.
 Top of the page
pacmania1982 Page Icon Posted 2016-01-04 1:40 PM
#
Avatar image of pacmania1982
Factorite (Junior)

Posts:
28
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
I realise that this thread hasn't been updated in over four years, but I've just bought one of these from eBay. I noticed on the Windows CE history page, that the 1.01 text isn't a link to any screenshots. I'd be more than happy to provide some when I get the device. Also, I have a C-140 which has a very early build of CE 1.0, which is 480x240 that I thought might be interesting. Again screenshots can be provided.
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2016-01-06 10:39 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
15,472
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
pacmania1982,

If it is a 1.01, I would be very grateful!

Thanks
 Top of the page
pacmania1982 Page Icon Posted 2016-01-14 2:03 PM
#
Avatar image of pacmania1982
Factorite (Junior)

Posts:
28
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
Great. I'm picking it up tonight but might need to get a step down transformer as the power adapter is only 110-120v and apparently it won't run on regular AA batteries...I'm going to give it a shot anyway.

I'll keep you posted.
 Top of the page
pacmania1982 Page Icon Posted 2016-01-18 3:46 PM
#
Avatar image of pacmania1982
Factorite (Junior)

Posts:
28
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
Update! I got the device and a step down transformer, so I can plug in the ac adapter. I powered up the device and went through the set up process (took pics of that too). I've so far taken 68 screenshots. Where would you like me to send them?

I'm trying to get it to sync with Handheld PC Explorer via IRDA which I use on all of my devices and usually don't have a problem. This guy is stubborn. I can't get it working at all. The interesting thing too is it won't receive files from another H/PC via IRDA. It starts but then I get a message saying canceled or something. IRDA is weird on it. I don't have a serial cable so I can't plug it in that way and try to sync it. Its annoying as I want to take some screenshots of Pocket IE once I install it (its not bundled in ROM).

http://uselesstech.co.uk/ce11gal.html

pac
 Top of the page
hpc:factor« View previous thread · Windows CE 1.0x · View next thread »

Jump to page : 1 2
Now viewing page 1 [15 messages per page]

Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.156 - Cached queries : 69 - Executed queries : 13
Server Time now is: Thursday, 21 January 2021 - 21:42