x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
 
 
Latest Forum Activity

C:Amie, might I ask your assistance with KB hotfix installation?
Moderators: insurgent, C:Amie

Jump to page : First : Prev : ... 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] Last
Now viewing page 12 [15 messages per page]

Forums · General Discussion · Off Topic

Posted 2015-09-16 9:54 PM
#
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,038
Location:
Russia
Status:
Kernel memory dump is selected.
 Top of the page
Posted 2016-02-28 1:13 PM
#
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,038
Location:
Russia
Status:
I continue asking all kinds of questions unrelated to first post.

Is there a way of using Win32 named pipe in SaveAs/Open dialog?



Quote
Alt Bass - 2014-08-31 9:25 PM

Quote
The platform firmware has corrupted memory across the previous system power transition. Please check for updated firmware for your system.


This thing is fearing me. Should I be scared? I have already expirienced problems with hibernation - system hungonce during restore and once during hibernation.

I have latest drivers for VGA, audio, chipset and I have latest BIOS (it is still beta after many years though).



That time I have finally discovered that I had BSOD after each suspend to S3. So yes, I should be worried back then. Now I use hibernation.

Microsoft falsely states that this kind of corruption is not harmful for 7, just for later releases.


Quote
Alt Bass - 2014-05-30 12:30 AM

I am also no more able to tile a group of windows using the taskbar, I may only use Task Manager for that.


7+TaskBarTweaker

Edited by Alt Bass 2016-02-28 1:13 PM
 Top of the page
Posted 2016-02-29 8:11 AM
#
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
14,585
Location:
Fields End, UK
Status:
I do not believe that you can mount a named pipe, so no. Not unless you write a driver.
 Top of the page
Posted 2016-02-29 8:26 AM
#
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,038
Location:
Russia
Status:
So, the named pipe being addressed by "\\.\pipe\foo" does not mean anything? I know that I can pass pipe as a file name to a CLI program. I cannot see any significant reason for me not being able to put same full path to name field of saveas/open dialog.

Edited by Alt Bass 2016-02-29 8:27 AM
 Top of the page
Posted 2016-03-19 7:14 PM
#
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,038
Location:
Russia
Status:
Indexer is not causing significant troubles and is running in background.

Funny read/write ratio though.



No problems this time, just sharing a laugh.

Edited by Alt Bass 2016-03-19 7:15 PM
 Top of the page
Posted 2019-01-19 8:10 PM
#
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,038
Location:
Russia
Status:
Okay, 3 years later, Windows 10.
Want to index .php files.
Add php to indexed extensions, change indexing from properties to full text.
Unpack archive.
Search something, W10 shows results from several kinds of files but not .php.
I duplicate .php file with .txt extension. W10 starts showing it in results.

/deleted/

Edited by C:Amie
 Top of the page
Posted 2019-01-19 8:33 PM
#
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
14,585
Location:
Fields End, UK
Status:
Less swearing please.

Did you tell it to index the contents in indexing properties?
 Top of the page
Posted 2019-01-19 9:23 PM
#
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,038
Location:
Russia
Status:
I did exactly that.
Just venting my hatred, please do not mind.

Edited by Alt Bass 2019-01-19 9:24 PM
 Top of the page
Posted 2019-01-19 9:54 PM
#
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
14,585
Location:
Fields End, UK
Status:
Old control panel > file explorer options > search. Is Always search file names and contents ticked?

How long did you leave it to build the index?
 Top of the page
Posted 2019-01-20 7:31 AM
#
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,038
Location:
Russia
Status:
Please keep in mind that I am only using Windows 10 built in search because I have no other option right now and it will be irrelevant in 3 hours. I just keep notes about Winows in this thread. (you may also change the title of it to "ranting about Windows" ).

I did what you suggest and even rebooted, nothing changed. As I said, contents of other files in the folder were already searched before this tick was set (they were inside indexed location, one of user folers, thus aking this tick irrelevant) and the indexing options window reported that indexing was complete. The size of unpacked folder is 17 MB so it took less than few minutes for indexing to be reported as complete.

Edited by Alt Bass 2019-01-20 7:31 AM
 Top of the page
Posted 2019-01-20 10:19 AM
#
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
14,585
Location:
Fields End, UK
Status:
The last usable version of Windows Search was NT 4.0's. I've not used it since as it's inept.

Are these files ASCII/ANSI, Unicode or UTF-8?

You can search from CMD if you prefer
CD to the drive or parent folder
findstr /s /l <keyword> *.php
 Top of the page
Posted 2019-01-20 12:22 PM
#
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,038
Location:
Russia
Status:
I'll remember it for next emergency case, thanks.
 Top of the page
hpc:factor« View previous thread · Off Topic · View next thread »

Jump to page : First : Prev : ... 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] Last
Now viewing page 12 [15 messages per page]

Jump to forum :
Search this forum
Printer friendly version
E-mail a link to this thread
Seconds to generate: 0.125 - Cached queries : 66 - Executed queries : 9
Server Time now is: Thursday, 25 April 2019 - 20:40