x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

C:Amie, might I ask your assistance with KB hotfix installation?

Moderators: insurgent, C:Amie

Jump to page : First : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 ... : Next : Last
Now viewing page 1 [15 messages per page]

Alt Bass Page Icon Posted 2014-05-21 9:49 PM
#
Avatar image of Alt Bass
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,040
Location:
Russia
Status:
I have XP x64 SP2 with all possible automatic updates installed.

I was getting "IRQL NOT LESS OR EQUAL" bsod and decided to try this before anything else: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/979128

After I started the update file it said me: http://storage5.static.itmages.ru/i/14/0521/h_1400705272_5830531_25...

This isjust annoying. What the hell?


Here are sections in main hotfix .inf file which might be interesting.

[Prerequisite]
Condition=AndOp,Prereq.XPAMDInstallBlock.Section

.............

[Prereq.XPAMDInstallBlock.Section]
PresentOp=CheckReg,HKLM,"SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\ProductOptions",ProductType,0x00000000
NotEqualOp=CheckReg,HKLM,"SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\ProductOptions",ProductType,0x00000000,!=,"WinNT"
Display_String="%WrongProductMessage%"

And here is the registry at those addresses.
http://storage6.static.itmages.ru/i/14/0521/h_1400705408_8600191_c2...

Edited by Alt Bass 2014-05-21 9:53 PM
 Top of the page
Alt Bass Page Icon Posted 2014-05-21 9:54 PM
#
Avatar image of Alt Bass
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,040
Location:
Russia
Status:
What kind of Product Type should Windows Server 2003 have?
 Top of the page
Rich Hawley Page Icon Posted 2014-05-21 10:06 PM
#
Avatar image of Rich Hawley
Global Moderator
H/PC Guru

Posts:
6,907
Location:
USA
Status:
I'm curious, did you try an old restore point? Or perhaps boot with last known good configuration?
 Top of the page
Alt Bass Page Icon Posted 2014-05-21 10:42 PM
#
Avatar image of Alt Bass
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,040
Location:
Russia
Status:
It was a clean install.


I also wonder: after I applied some dirty "hack" to install this, I found that ntoskrnl already has newer version than one from this update. So what? My efforts were vain?

Edited by Alt Bass 2014-05-21 10:44 PM
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2014-05-22 10:17 AM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
14,908
Location:
Fields End, UK
Status:
Obviously Microsoft don't want you putting this on XP 64, or they would have released it with a XP wrapper.

Frankly, this is higher and newer http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2799494 and so should contain the fix. There may even be a newer one than that.

If you go into Event Viewer and pull out the report for the crash, in the detailed view there should be some codes and there might be a driver name for the exception source, if you can copy them over, I'll take a look.

p.s. you could swap it in by injecting it into the patching system manually, but given how old it is, you'd be mad to try it.
 Top of the page
Alt Bass Page Icon Posted 2014-05-22 2:40 PM
#
Avatar image of Alt Bass
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,040
Location:
Russia
Status:
>Frankly, this is higher and newer http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2799494 and so should contain the fix. There may even be a newer one than that.

My NTOSKRNL has version 5138 and this update has the version 5107.

>If you go into Event Viewer and pull out the report for the crash, in the detailed view there should be some codes and there might be a driver name for the exception source, if you can copy them over, I'll take a look.

How nice of you, I feel like I am spending too much time on this thing.

I've got tens of BSODs in past three months because of defective PSU, I learned it too late (I was getting all kinds of BSODs, a different type of them each time I tried ifferent solutions), and now this.

Edited by Alt Bass 2014-05-22 2:41 PM




Attachments
----------------
Attachments Minidump.zip (29KB - 1 downloads)
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2014-05-22 3:02 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
14,908
Location:
Fields End, UK
Status:
It's a fairly clean kernel panic, it tried to READ memory that wasn't available to it after a device driver told it to interrupt.

You need to do an extensive RAM test from a live CD in case your psu has done some damage and then start pulling hardware. You should also go over to amd and download the latest drivers for your vga and any other device you have connected.

Divide and conquer I'm afraid.
 Top of the page
Alt Bass Page Icon Posted 2014-05-22 3:10 PM
#
Avatar image of Alt Bass
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,040
Location:
Russia
Status:
I have HD6950 which was reflashed to HD6970. I think that I will start with flashing it back because I do not really need it now.

memtest completed 10 times in a row.
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2014-05-22 3:12 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
14,908
Location:
Fields End, UK
Status:
Modified firmware, hmm, not the best for stability.

BIOS up to date too?
 Top of the page
Alt Bass Page Icon Posted 2014-05-22 4:13 PM
#
Avatar image of Alt Bass
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,040
Location:
Russia
Status:
Yeap. The latest BIOS is in beta stage.

The Mobo is X38DQ6 and CPU is E8500.

I am also getting exceptions in CS1.6, every of them being with same stack trace.

http://pastebin.com/qrqS0Lsc

What is that? I can reproduce it now, it happens after a certain action.

Edited by Alt Bass 2014-05-22 4:14 PM
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2014-05-22 5:00 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
14,908
Location:
Fields End, UK
Status:
You've crashed the 32-bit virtualiser trying to run half-life.
It also apparently attempted to connect to the IP address 3.230.31.160 and then failed, but I think that was a fault in Watson rather than HL. It's almost certainly with the graphics sub system.

By the way, what is keeping you running on XP x64? Lacklustre driver support, no access to DirectX 10 or 11, a Server Kernel?
 Top of the page
Alt Bass Page Icon Posted 2014-05-22 5:13 PM
#
Avatar image of Alt Bass
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,040
Location:
Russia
Status:
>By the way, what is keeping you running on XP x64? Lacklustre driver support, no access to DirectX 10 or 11, a Server Kernel?

Nothing really. I was feeling like I will have to deal with different set of problems when I switch to 7.

>It also apparently attempted to connect to the IP address 3.230.31.160 and then failed, but I think that was a fault in Watson rather than HL. It's almost certainly with the graphics sub system.

Similar things happen in software rendering mode and with fresh installation of the game - now this is interesting, isn't it?


I am confused.
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2014-05-22 6:31 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
14,908
Location:
Fields End, UK
Status:
Could you have damaged your graphics card when the PSU went? It could simply be flooding the frame buffer and bam. I had a Nvidia 7 series that did much the same. Can you fall back to on-board VGA and see if the problem goes away?
 Top of the page
Alt Bass Page Icon Posted 2014-05-22 7:50 PM
#
Avatar image of Alt Bass
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,040
Location:
Russia
Status:
Quote
C:Amie - 2014-05-22 9:31 PM

Could you have damaged your graphics card when the PSU went? It could simply be flooding the frame buffer and bam. I had a Nvidia 7 series that did much the same. Can you fall back to on-board VGA and see if the problem goes away?


X38 has no onboard VGA.

Of course VGA could be damaged but PSU was dropping the voltage (down to 8V at 12V lines), not raising it.

VGA sustains huge load otherwise - other games and Furmark, running without Vsync (with 100% load of GPU).

As I said, CS1.6 has software rendering mode and problem occurs even there.

Edited by Alt Bass 2014-05-22 7:57 PM
 Top of the page
Alt Bass Page Icon Posted 2014-05-22 8:00 PM
#
Avatar image of Alt Bass
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,040
Location:
Russia
Status:
I also think that I caught an error when I was reinstalling the OS, I done it when I had old PSU.

I cannot be sure. I will repeat all this setup&update process I guess.

Edited by Alt Bass 2014-05-22 8:03 PM
 Top of the page
hpc:factor« View previous thread · Off Topic · View next thread »

Jump to page : First : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 ... : Next : Last
Now viewing page 1 [15 messages per page]

Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.109 - Cached queries : 71 - Executed queries : 9
Server Time now is: Saturday, 17 August 2019 - 21:36