x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

C:Amie, might I ask your assistance with KB hotfix installation?

Moderators: insurgent, C:Amie

Jump to page : First : Prev : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 : Next : Last
Now viewing page 7 [15 messages per page]

Alt Bass Page Icon Posted 2014-06-24 5:09 PM
#
Avatar image of Alt Bass
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,040
Location:
Russia
Status:
Thermals can't be bad, I don't even check them.

CPU has Hyper 212+ with two fans, the case is wide opened, HD6950 was given two 120mm fans instead of two 80mm fans.

Check it out, this thing can't go wrong, it keeps temps at 67C in furmark at completely noiseless RPM: http://storage5.static.itmages.ru/i/14/0624/h_1403626131_6799062_e3...

I might as well apply my Zalman which I used for HD4850, it was keeping chip at 35C in Furmark: http://cs323531.vk.me/v323531296/7914/B7ylYAsoavM.jpg

Edited by Alt Bass 2014-06-24 5:09 PM
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2014-06-24 5:22 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
14,961
Location:
Fields End, UK
Status:
hahaha, that is hilarious. I've done things like that myself in my time.

Though it could account for the VGA issues.

Noctua all the way for silent fans BTW.

Doesn't bring us any closer to the root cause of your problem though. Have you tried a stress test to see what happens? By that I mean have you properly cooked everything in a non-windows environment using a live CD diagnostic suite?
 Top of the page
Alt Bass Page Icon Posted 2014-06-24 5:25 PM
#
Avatar image of Alt Bass
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,040
Location:
Russia
Status:
>Though it could account for the VGA issues.

Not really, the PCB cover plate and radiator are unchanged. I just slapped this winding pair on the top.

>Doesn't bring us any closer to the root cause of your problem though

When I build a logging electrometer from Atmega and connect it to the PSU I will find out more. I am fine with 7600GS at the moment.

No, I did not try a stress test. I was running Lynx and Furmark simultaneously though, everything was fine then.

Edited by Alt Bass 2014-06-24 5:26 PM
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2014-06-24 5:43 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
14,961
Location:
Fields End, UK
Status:
I don't know how you attached the fans to the PCB, but the added weight, vibration and depending on how you wired the DC connectors, load could have all contributed.
 Top of the page
Alt Bass Page Icon Posted 2014-06-24 5:57 PM
#
Avatar image of Alt Bass
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,040
Location:
Russia
Status:
wat

DC connectors are connected to front fan panel, added weight is backed up by hard metal cover (unrelated to music ).

Vibration? Come on, these are not 4000 rpm turbines.

Edited by Alt Bass 2014-06-24 6:00 PM
 Top of the page
Alt Bass Page Icon Posted 2014-06-24 6:01 PM
#
Avatar image of Alt Bass
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,040
Location:
Russia
Status:
There is the only thing suspicious in my HD6950 - when I reflashed the BIOS, it couldn't verify it to the end few times in a row.
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2014-06-25 8:56 AM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
14,961
Location:
Fields End, UK
Status:
I did something similar once. Over time it shook a capacitor loose
 Top of the page
Alt Bass Page Icon Posted 2014-06-25 2:12 PM
#
Avatar image of Alt Bass
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,040
Location:
Russia
Status:
Did you fasten the computer to the propeller of the turbine to increase airflow? I guess that you also made inductive plug to remove power wires?

How exactly much serious you are about vibration? I am not very keen in sensing the English joke markers.
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2014-06-25 3:28 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
14,961
Location:
Fields End, UK
Status:
It all depends on how you assembled it. I attached larger fans with wire by threading it through the heat sinc, in the end the vibration from the mounting killed it and I lost acid from a capacitor. Now you can argue that it can't have been a very good capacitor, but all things being equal, it still died.
 Top of the page
Alt Bass Page Icon Posted 2014-06-25 3:40 PM
#
Avatar image of Alt Bass
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,040
Location:
Russia
Status:
Hmm... Capacitor may loose acid from age, they all swell inevitably.
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2014-06-25 3:49 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
14,961
Location:
Fields End, UK
Status:
It was 14 months old
 Top of the page
Alt Bass Page Icon Posted 2014-06-25 10:48 PM
#
Avatar image of Alt Bass
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,040
Location:
Russia
Status:
Might as well be caused by PSU.
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2014-06-26 8:45 AM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
14,961
Location:
Fields End, UK
Status:
That was the same age
 Top of the page
Alt Bass Page Icon Posted 2014-06-26 1:52 PM
#
Avatar image of Alt Bass
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,040
Location:
Russia
Status:
Could it be defective?
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2014-06-26 2:55 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
14,961
Location:
Fields End, UK
Status:
Always that possibility exists, the PSU tester at the time said 'no'.
 Top of the page
hpc:factor« View previous thread · Off Topic · View next thread »

Jump to page : First : Prev : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 : Next : Last
Now viewing page 7 [15 messages per page]

Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.265 - Cached queries : 71 - Executed queries : 8
Server Time now is: Wednesday, 16 October 2019 - 6:4