x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

MP 790 won't detect main battery

PDXMark Page Icon Posted 2015-09-02 4:16 AM
#
Avatar image of PDXMark
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
397
Location:
Portland, Oregon
Status:
So, I just purchased a replacement main battery for my MobilePro, but the MP won't detect it. I've been using the AA adapter for a while because I thought the previous main battery had failed. The MP works just fine with the AA adapter, but when I put the new battery in and checked WR Tools, it said "No main battery". I tried a soft reset, but it didn't make any difference.

Could there be a hardware issue that is preventing the MP from recognizing the main battery?
 Top of the page
CE Geek Page Icon Posted 2015-09-02 6:39 AM
#
Avatar image of CE Geek
Global Moderator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
12,676
Location:
Southern California
Status:
"because I thought the previous main battery had failed." Maybe there's a clue in there. A worn connection, maybe? I'll ask the obvious question: does the 790 work without external power with the new battery?
 Top of the page
PDXMark Page Icon Posted 2015-09-02 7:21 AM
#
Avatar image of PDXMark
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
397
Location:
Portland, Oregon
Status:
Quote
CE Geek - 2015-09-01 10:39 PM

"I'll ask the obvious question: does the 790 work without external power with the new battery?


No, it doesn't.
 Top of the page
Rich Hawley Page Icon Posted 2015-09-02 2:16 PM
#
Avatar image of Rich Hawley
Global Moderator
H/PC Guru

Posts:
7,188
Location:
USA
Status:
Check the new battery out with another Mobilepro and see what happens...but it sounds like you have a hardware problem with the 790....At least it works with the AA adapter.
 Top of the page
PDXMark Page Icon Posted 2015-09-03 12:04 AM
#
Avatar image of PDXMark
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
397
Location:
Portland, Oregon
Status:
Unfortunately I don't have another unit that will work for testing.

Is there anything you know of that I should look for in regards to a hardware issue?
 Top of the page
CE Geek Page Icon Posted 2015-09-03 4:34 AM
#
Avatar image of CE Geek
Global Moderator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
12,676
Location:
Southern California
Status:
As I suggested above, you might check the connection points in the battery compartment to see if anything is worn or broken. Maybe the AA adapter seats more snugly and thus makes better contact.
 Top of the page
Rich Hawley Page Icon Posted 2015-09-03 2:05 PM
#
Avatar image of Rich Hawley
Global Moderator
H/PC Guru

Posts:
7,188
Location:
USA
Status:
Second that suggestion...check out the contacts on the device itself since it occurs with multiple batteries. But in all honesty, I've never had a problem with the contacts.

From what you have said so far, it sounds like a motherboard problem....unless you spilled grape soda on the unit at one time or another.

Drop the old batteries in mail to me...I'll charge them and check them out for you...
 Top of the page
CE Geek Page Icon Posted 2015-09-04 1:18 AM
#
Avatar image of CE Geek
Global Moderator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
12,676
Location:
Southern California
Status:
Something special about grape soda, Rich?
 Top of the page
Rich Hawley Page Icon Posted 2015-09-04 3:52 PM
#
Avatar image of Rich Hawley
Global Moderator
H/PC Guru

Posts:
7,188
Location:
USA
Status:
Me and Radar O'Reilly luv it!
 Top of the page
CE Geek Page Icon Posted 2015-09-04 8:15 PM
#
Avatar image of CE Geek
Global Moderator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
12,676
Location:
Southern California
Status:
So it has to be Nehi brand grape soda to do damage?
 Top of the page
Rich Hawley Page Icon Posted 2015-09-06 8:12 PM
#
Avatar image of Rich Hawley
Global Moderator
H/PC Guru

Posts:
7,188
Location:
USA
Status:
No, any will work, but grape is the nastiest cause it gets pretty gooey.

Mark, did you ever get your 790 fixed?
 Top of the page
Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.171 - Cached queries : 68 - Executed queries : 9