x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
 
 

728-to-720 ROM Swap Question
[Frozen]

Moderators: CE Geek

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [15 messages per page]

Frozen

Forums · Technical Support · Handheld PC 2000

Jake
Posted 2016-06-28 7:44 PM
#
H/PC Elder

1000500100100100100


Posts:
1901
Member Nº:
19
Location:
Choking on the stench of ambition in Washington DC
Status:
My 728 has a lower left crack in the screen frame and I can't seem to fix it.

I'm contemplating swapping its ROM/RAM chip to my 720. I've watched the very instructive HPC:Factor take-apart of the 720 and the fine video is clear enough for even someone like me.

My question is: after removing the keyboard and pulling out the ROM/RAM chip housed on the machine's left side, is there anything else I need to do? Other than safely button up everything after inserting the 728 chip?

I'm hesitant about this, having recently bricked a Sony Vaio P.

Any advice/pointers would be much appreciated,
Jake
 Top of the page
Rich Hawley
Posted 2016-06-28 10:46 PM
#

Global Moderator
H/PC Guru

500010005001001001001002525


Posts:
6957
Member Nº:
122
Location:
USA
Status:
It is the easiest rom swap I ever did...nothing to worry about...remove keyboard, swap rom, replace keyboard, perform reset...you're done!

Only 3 T6 screws hold keyboard in place...just be careful with keyboard ribbon cable...
 Top of the page
Jake
Posted 2016-06-29 2:04 AM
#
H/PC Elder

1000500100100100100


Posts:
1901
Member Nº:
19
Location:
Choking on the stench of ambition in Washington DC
Status:
Much thanks, Rich. Glad to hear that the transition is within my means. Will post back with success or failure.

Jake
 Top of the page
Jake
Posted 2016-06-30 11:26 PM
#
H/PC Elder

1000500100100100100


Posts:
1901
Member Nº:
19
Location:
Choking on the stench of ambition in Washington DC
Status:
Looks like it was moron-friendly: I was able to switch them out. Thank you, thank you Rich and C:Amie's wondrous video.

Glad for the RAM and even more glad to get rid of that hideous blue chassis. Why did developers ever go with that color?

Jake
 Top of the page
CE Geek
Posted 2016-07-01 1:41 AM
#


Global Moderator
H/PC Oracle

100001000500100100100100


Posts:
11922
Member Nº:
845
Location:
Southern California
Status:
Cuz some folks (like me) like it.
 Top of the page
Jake
Posted 2016-07-01 3:16 AM
#
H/PC Elder

1000500100100100100


Posts:
1901
Member Nº:
19
Location:
Choking on the stench of ambition in Washington DC
Status:
Oh, CE Geek, how can you turn your back on the simple elegance of the black J720?

Subjective aesthetics aside, I was wondering why my 720 backup froze the machine with a 728 ROM. I had a backup for the 728, which was fine after reset. Was it a registry thing, or something hardware-wise?

Jake
 Top of the page
hpc:factor« View previous thread · Handheld PC 2000 · View next thread »

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [15 messages per page]

Frozen
Jump to forum :
Search this forum
Printer friendly version
E-mail a link to this thread
Seconds to generate: 0.234 - Cached queries : 61 - Executed queries : 8
Server Time now is: Monday, 25 June 2018 - 14:23