x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

.net CF Initialization error

Moderators: C:Amie

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [15 messages per page]

SwizzleDude
SwizzleDude Page Icon Posted 2017-03-27 7:51 PM
#
Status:
I've built a Windows Embedded Compact 7 image for the Beaglebone black. It works perfectly fine, the only problem is, that when I try to run a .NET executable (c#) it will give a .net CF Initialization error (I have added the CF 3.5 to the OS design)

Is this a common problem? Thanks!
 Top of the page
CE Geek Page Icon Posted 2017-03-28 7:32 AM
#
Avatar image of CE Geek
Global Moderator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
12,017
Location:
Southern California
Status:
I've had problems with .NET CF on the WM8850 WEC 7 devices I have:

http://www.hpcfactor.com/forums/forums/thread-view.asp?tid=17122&po...

Dunno if there's a connection. I was never able to resolve that problem.
 Top of the page
SwizzleDude
SwizzleDude Page Icon Posted 2017-03-28 8:25 PM
#
Status:
Quote
CE Geek - 2017-03-28 7:32 AM

I've had problems with .NET CF on the WM8850 WEC 7 devices I have:

http://www.hpcfactor.com/forums/forums/thread-view.asp?tid=17122&po...

Dunno if there's a connection. I was never able to resolve that problem.


That's pretty weird. But when I don't add it to the OS design and manually install it with a .cab, it works fine.

Annoyingly, all data will be lost at reboot, except the registry.
Is it possible to install the entire .net CF on an external drive?
 Top of the page
CE Geek Page Icon Posted 2017-03-29 4:35 AM
#
Avatar image of CE Geek
Global Moderator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
12,017
Location:
Southern California
Status:
Theoretically, yes, but I've never been able to get it to work quite right, even editing HKLM/Loader. I tried a rather contorted workaround when I was set on getting .NET CF to work:

http://forums.pocketpcfaq.com/viewtopic.php?p=56116

But can't you build the OS so that \Windows files are located in non-volatile storage?
 Top of the page
SwizzleDude
SwizzleDude Page Icon Posted 2017-03-29 1:31 PM
#
Status:
Quote
CE Geek - 2017-03-29 4:35 AM

Theoretically, yes, but I've never been able to get it to work quite right, even editing HKLM/Loader. I tried a rather contorted workaround when I was set on getting .NET CF to work:

http://forums.pocketpcfaq.com/viewtopic.php?p=56116

But can't you build the OS so that \Windows files are located in non-volatile storage?

I'll take a look at that method tonight.

I did actually get it to work with non volatile storage, but it was very buggy. Start menu was empty, no desktop icons save for "My device", and all folders on the root of the filesystem such as \Program files had the external drive logo
 Top of the page
SwizzleDude
SwizzleDude Page Icon Posted 2017-04-12 7:10 PM
#
Status:
I have finally fixed it myself. Turns out it had something to do with a debugger. I set [HKLM\Software\Microsoft\.NetCompactFramework\Managed Debugger\Attach enabled] to 0. I hope this helps anybody with the same problem!
 Top of the page
hpc:factor« View previous thread · Developers Arena · View next thread »

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [15 messages per page]

Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.078 - Cached queries : 58 - Executed queries : 8
Server Time now is: Thursday, 19 September 2019 - 7:7