x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 

Latest Forum Activity

Developing Win CE 2.0 app and RS232 (on a HP 320LX)

denzman Page Icon Posted 2019-05-25 6:52 AM
#
H/PC Newbie

Hi all,

I'm new to HPC Factor and new to my newly bought HP 320LX running Win CE 2.0 (ebay), which is pretty

I'm curious to know what development environment (preferably virtual) is possible to develop an Win CE 2.0 app to talk to my Sokkia SET 2B Total Station (surveying instrument). I'm not a surveyor but a hobbyist, and I was fascinated with total stations while working on some small jobs with my uncle.

I have the original Sokkia communications manual to assist with the commands required. I'm comfortable with any programming language to be honest and can purchase software if there is no other option.

I have browsed the support & tutorials section, but a little stumped where to start.

I kind of envisage I would run Win 95 on a virtual machine, and somehow get the sync cable to work when I'm ready to test on the device, but this is new territory for me so happy to learn from the wise.

Kind regards,
Jared
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2019-05-25 9:33 AM
#
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Hi Jared,

Welcome to the site.

So for CE 2.0, you options are fairly limited.

You want a BIOS based VM with serial port pass-through support
You want Windows NT 4.0 SP6a (forget about Windows 9x) - https://www.hpcfactor.com/support/patching/winnt4/
You want Microsoft Visual C++ 6
You want the CETK for Visual C++ 6 - This is the tricky one to get hold of "en_wince_toolkit_c_pp.exe"
You want the H/PC 2.0 platform SDK https://www.hpcfactor.com/downloads/details.asp?r={0F96C6A4-4CE3-493...
You want ActiveSync 3.8 https://www.hpcfactor.com/downloads/details.asp?r={7FC24955-1BEA-46E...

Now in saying that, it is possible to use .net to do it: