x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

ESP 8266 webcontroller and Jornada 720

1 2 3 4
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2019-06-05 4:08 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
17,924
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
Quote
joval - 2019-06-05 3:25 PM

Maybe this is a step in the right direction https://randomnerdtutorials.com/how-to-make-two-esp8266-talk/

What are Bluetooth options for the 720?

It will work, however you have to use the PC Card slot because the antenna module won't fit in the CF Card slot.
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2019-06-09 3:03 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
17,924
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
This looks as though it is trying to play in the same ball pit as this idea
http://biosrhythm.com/?page_id=1453
 Top of the page
joval Page Icon Posted 2019-06-09 3:22 PM
#
Avatar image of joval
Subscribers
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
962
Location:
Northern California
Status:
Yes, I think you hit a home run. Ntware will have to weigh in on this..as a kit it might fit into the pcmcia slot with some modification. Good job...you are quite the sleuth.

Check this out. http://subethasoftware.com/2018/02/28/wire-up-your-own-rs-232-wifi-...

And this http://subethasoftware.com/2018/02/01/wifi-coco-for-15-or-for-any-r...

And software: https://github.com/bozimmerman/Zimodem

Edited by joval 2019-06-09 3:49 PM
 Top of the page
ntware Page Icon Posted 2019-06-10 5:29 PM
#
Avatar image of ntware
H/PC Elite

Posts:
660
Location:
Florida, US
Status:
I've seen these projects before, and they all use the Zimodem firmware listed above. Although it is a great step in the right direction, Zimodem lacks ISP emulation, and therefore won't be useful for the Jornada unless all we want to do is BBS (text-based internet from the 80s). The modern internet uses TCP-IP, and for that we need ISP emulation on the firmware as well. I've been looking but couldn't find a portable ISP emulation code I can port to the ESP8266 or ESP32.
 Top of the page
ntware Page Icon Posted 2019-06-10 5:35 PM
#
Avatar image of ntware
H/PC Elite

Posts:
660
Location:
Florida, US
Status:
edit: I found some stuff on the Raspberry Pi realm...

https://www.raspberrypi.org/blog/raspberry-pi-dial-up-server/

https://blog.adafruit.com/2019/02/22/build-your-own-dial-up-isp-serv...

Take out the dialing part since we would just be connecting two UARTs together, and voila! The problem is that the Pi is a much more complex device, more power hungry, and hard to fit inside the PCMCIA slot. Maybe the Pi Zero would fit, IDK. The benefits of using a Pi though is that in the future this project can be a lot more than just bridging the WiFi over to the Jornada. I can think of ways to actually create a framebuffer on the Pi and export X contents to a little screen software running on the Jornada. It would be like remotely controlling a Pi that is running inside the PCMCIA card slot. This would feel like a nice hardware upgrade for the Jornada.

 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2019-06-10 5:36 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
17,924
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
What about just implementing IP routing on it? Create a serial PPP connection between CE and the SoC, assign it a default gateway and have the SoC run as a router?

It's all an ActiveSync serial cable does! Microsoft simply didn't enable default route updating in the ActiveSync driver until PPC 2003.
 Top of the page
joval Page Icon Posted 2019-06-12 4:50 PM
#
Avatar image of joval
Subscribers
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
962
Location:
Northern California
Status:
ntware...about your earlier post on rdp...I agree that is the best solution for browsing with modern browser functionality (within the limits of the refresh rate).

raspberry pie supports rdp also...just saying...
 Top of the page
ntware Page Icon Posted 2019-06-14 9:49 PM
#
Avatar image of ntware
H/PC Elite

Posts:
660
Location:
Florida, US
Status:
I know it does, but I couldn't make it work with the RDP Client for HPC2000, probably because the client uses an older version of the protocol (WinXP era). There might be a way to make the RDP Server on Linux to use an earlier version as well, but I haven't got the time to play with it yet.
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2019-06-14 10:52 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
17,924
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
I'll bet you a shiny penny it is because the server has the low-grade encryption ciphers turned off. If HPC2000 can support anything higher than 128-bit CBC SSL and SHA1, I would be monumentally surprised. In practice it is probably using RC4/MD5. You need CE 4.2 for TLS 1.0 and I think CE 7 for TLS 1.1/1.2.

The world however runs on TLS1.2 and SHA2 now.

If you can weaken the security on the RPI, it might solve the problem.
 Top of the page
ntware Page Icon Posted 2019-07-04 9:38 PM
#
Avatar image of ntware
H/PC Elite

Posts:
660
Location:
Florida, US
Status:
Look what I found: https://github.com/martin-ger/esp_slip_router/blob/master/README.md

This firmware for the esp8266 does SLIP (an earlier simplified version of PPP) which is supported by WinCE. All you have to do is connect the esp8266 on the serial port, setup a new connection on the Jornada using COM1 and check the “Use Slip” checkbox. I haven’t tested it yet, but I’m pretty sure it works. Someone else has used this firmware to do the same thing on an Amiga box: https://blog.nootch.net/post/amiga-bbs-online-2019/
 Top of the page
joval Page Icon Posted 2019-07-05 12:11 AM
#
Avatar image of joval
Subscribers
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
962
Location:
Northern California
Status:
Ntware,
Wow, that is great news...how exciting! Can you get something up and running....says 115k max baud rate. Can Irq interface be used for higher baud. Not certain what I'm talking about here...2Mps? Or is this apples and oranges thing?

Great find.

Edited by joval 2019-07-05 12:13 AM
 Top of the page
ntware Page Icon Posted 2019-07-05 12:38 AM
#
Avatar image of ntware
H/PC Elite

Posts:
660
Location:
Florida, US
Status:
I think we are limited to 115k due to SLIP protocol. In fact, SLIP means Serial Line IP, which is basically a way to transmit IP packets using serial port
 Top of the page
joval Page Icon Posted 2019-07-05 12:49 AM
#
Avatar image of joval
Subscribers
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
962
Location:
Northern California
Status:
IrDA is different then...serial also
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2019-07-05 9:22 AM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
17,924
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
I don't believe that SLIP is inherently limited to 115.2kbps. If the media is capable of higher speed and the CPU can cope, then it should be fine. A 4Mbps FIR port should give you a faster experience.

Precisely where the overhead between CPU speed, protocol processing speed and the requirements for other applications makes higher bandwidth a deminishing return... that's a good question.
 Top of the page
Karpour Page Icon Posted 2019-07-05 3:02 PM
#
Avatar image of Karpour
Subscribers
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
438
Location:
Austria
Status:
If I can actually get my CE1.0 devices online, I'll happily take 115200!
The ESP8266 SLIP firmware looks great! Perfect would be making it configurable with via a simple website, which should be simple enough as is pretty much an essential part of a lot of ESP firmwares!

Anyone up for forking it and making a version targeted at HPCs?
 Top of the page
1 2 3 4
Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.195 - Cached queries : 73 - Executed queries : 8