x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

Sharp Mobilon HC-4600 - screen not working???

Moderators: C:Amie

Jump to page : 1 2
Now viewing page 1 [15 messages per page]

ShadowMan44 Page Icon Posted 2019-08-27 1:15 AM
#
Avatar image of ShadowMan44
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
13
Location:
United States
Status:
Tapping the screen makes a clicking sound, but I cannot tap on any icons or anything. What can I do to remedy this without needing to take it apart and replace something?
 Top of the page
stingraze Page Icon Posted 2019-08-27 2:38 AM
#
Avatar image of stingraze
Writing Team
H/PC Elder

Posts:
2,270
Location:
Japan
Status:
try a soft reset first.
 Top of the page
ShadowMan44 Page Icon Posted 2019-08-27 3:38 AM
#
Avatar image of ShadowMan44
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
13
Location:
United States
Status:
A soft reset? You mean like pressing that tiny reset button on the keypad?
Already tried it.
 Top of the page
stingraze Page Icon Posted 2019-08-27 6:13 AM
#
Avatar image of stingraze
Writing Team
H/PC Elder

Posts:
2,270
Location:
Japan
Status:
Yep.

I see. Well, the next option might be to try a hard reset (erases all memory content). I don't know how to do for your specific model, there may be a special button for that. I think some of the other members know where that is or how to do it.
 Top of the page
ShadowMan44 Page Icon Posted 2019-08-27 10:41 AM
#
Avatar image of ShadowMan44
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
13
Location:
United States
Status:
Now I've gotten another problem
It won't turn on, or rather, it isn't working very well. When I charged it up for the first time it turned on just fine. However, trying to do the hard reset thing (taking the battery out along with the brand new backup battery) kind of made it stop working? I don't know, when I have it on the charger for awhile it will blink, I'm assuming it means it's fully charged. But when I take out the charger it almost seems like it drains to 0%, as evidenced by when I plug it back in it'll be on charging.

Also the first time I charged it up fully, the battery got really warm. Here it's not getting hot at all.

Edit: I forgot to mention that after awhile when charging it will spring to life sometimes when I power it on but it will only stay on for a few seconds, then it'll completely die even when the charger is plugged in.

Edited by ShadowMan44 2019-08-27 10:44 AM
 Top of the page
stingraze Page Icon Posted 2019-08-27 10:56 AM
#
Avatar image of stingraze
Writing Team
H/PC Elder

Posts:
2,270
Location:
Japan
Status:
I think the only option is to have somebody experienced fix your charging part...
It is after all, very old and anything can happen.

For example, my Sigmarion 3 I bought off auction had a worse problem, it actually heated very much while charging and I stopped charging afraid it might catch fire.

I hope your problem will be solved. I think if you PM C:Amie or CE Geek, they may be able to give other advice to you.
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2019-08-27 5:12 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
14,999
Location:
Fields End, UK
Status:
Sound like the charge circuit has failed. It is dangerous if you are charging lithium without a protection circuit. You should have someone look at it.
 Top of the page
ShadowMan44 Page Icon Posted 2019-08-27 10:23 PM
#
Avatar image of ShadowMan44
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
13
Location:
United States
Status:
How would I go about that? Take pictures and send them to someone? I don't think there's anyone where I'm at that knows anything about pocket computers.
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2019-08-28 9:27 AM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
14,999
Location:
Fields End, UK
Status:
If it is the charge circuit, you just need someone who can troubleshoot micro electronics, no necessarily a mobile device specialist. Or find a replacement board on eBay.
 Top of the page
tehnosoftex Page Icon Posted 2019-08-30 10:07 PM
#
Avatar image of tehnosoftex
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
1
Location:
Romania
Status:
Hi ,I think that your nimh battery is dead. I have similar device and if the battery is not charged or cannot take the charge the device will not start and the charging led will blink. I think you must get another battery or try to change the elements. There is a thread here about how to change the elements with 2 aa nimh batteries if I recall. By the way you don't have lithium batteries but nimh, so these aren't so dangerous.

Edited by tehnosoftex 2019-08-30 10:12 PM
 Top of the page
Paianni Page Icon Posted 2019-09-01 10:25 AM
#
Avatar image of Paianni
H/PC Elite

Posts:
712
Location:
England, UK
Status:
Quote
tehnosoftex - 2019-08-30 10:07 PM

Hi ,I think that your nimh battery is dead. I have similar device and if the battery is not charged or cannot take the charge the device will not start and the charging led will blink. I think you must get another battery or try to change the elements. There is a thread here about how to change the elements with 2 aa nimh batteries if I recall. By the way you don't have lithium batteries but nimh, so these aren't so dangerous.
The cells used in the Sharp HC-4xxx NIMH packs are single A, not double A (AA).
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2019-09-01 10:28 AM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
14,999
Location:
Fields End, UK
Status:
Quote
tehnosoftex - 2019-08-30 10:07 PM

Hi ,I think that your nimh battery is dead. I have similar device and if the battery is not charged or cannot take the charge the device will not start and the charging led will blink. I think you must get another battery or try to change the elements. There is a thread here about how to change the elements with 2 aa nimh batteries if I recall. By the way you don't have lithium batteries but nimh, so these aren't so dangerous.


I stand corrected. I've misremembered there
 Top of the page
ShadowMan44 Page Icon Posted 2019-09-03 4:07 AM
#
Avatar image of ShadowMan44
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
13
Location:
United States
Status:
If the battery pack is the case, is there any easy way to disassemble it? Are there any snaps or hidden screws I have to take out?
If it's glued in there, sadly I don't think I would want to risk destroying the plastic. I have not found any replacement battery packs online.
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2019-09-03 3:23 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
14,999
Location:
Fields End, UK
Status:
No they usually require a Stanley knife and have to be glued back together.
 Top of the page
ShadowMan44 Page Icon Posted 2019-09-04 8:50 AM
#
Avatar image of ShadowMan44
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
13
Location:
United States
Status:
Oh...

I guess it's either going to collect dust until I find a new replacement battery, unless there's a way to power the device without it.
 Top of the page
hpc:factor« View previous thread · Windows CE 2.0 · View next thread »

Jump to page : 1 2
Now viewing page 1 [15 messages per page]

Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.140 - Cached queries : 51 - Executed queries : 28
Server Time now is: Wednesday, 20 November 2019 - 1:2