x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

Linux Kernel 4.9 and a (not so) happy Jornada 720

« Prev ... 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 »
joval Page Icon Posted 2021-07-18 3:43 AM
#
Avatar image of joval
Subscribers
H/PC Elite

Posts:
599
Location:
Northern California
Status:
_dev-null :
correction: I used prism based Netgear MA401 in wep mode and ethernet Ne 2000 compatible, adding the MA401 to the /etc/network/interfaces file.

Hmmm.... as I recall did you add "iw" and other tools to your rootfs.tar.bz or were they in a separate modules.tar.ntware was part of that conversation early in this thread.

Anyway, could use some help on removing conflicting config files. Thanks in advance.

OK, also about to get back to your USB host solution any day now...that J720 is still disassembled in a plastic baggie somewhere.

These are real breakthroughs on you part...much appreciated too. Quite the Wiz Kid!!

joval (posted on J720/Devuan3.16/ethernet/RasPi3/Firefox hybrid)
 Top of the page
ArchiMark Page Icon Posted 2021-07-19 9:51 PM
#
Avatar image of ArchiMark
Subscribers
H/PC Elite

Posts:
583
Location:
Silicon Valley
Status:
Hi Stefan,

In process of setting up to use Ambicom card per your recent post.

Have deleted wpasupplicant, wireless-tools, and iw.

Got message in terminal:

 
The following packages were automatically installed and are no longer required: 
  libiw30 libnl-3-200 libnl-genl-3-200 libpcsclite1 wireless-regdb 


Should I remove the packages listed above?


And as joval asked, what config files do we need to remove?

Don't want to mess things up, if possible.....

Thanks!

Mark

Edited by ArchiMark 2021-07-19 9:55 PM
 Top of the page
joval Page Icon Posted 2021-07-19 10:38 PM
#
Avatar image of joval
Subscribers
H/PC Elite

Posts:
599
Location:
Northern California
Status:
Hi All! Greetings from DufusVille

Having just wasted a few hours going around in circles I wish to emphasize the need to do the apt update after adding "non-free" to the end of the first line in/etc/apt/sources.list

I repeat:

Reminder per Stefan's previous post ( I edited it a bit) on how to "apt install firmware-libertas":

Quote


For this do the following steps:
You have to edit your sources.list

vi /etc/apt/sources.list

to this line "deb http://deb.devuan.org/merged ascii main" add "non-free" it should look like this:

deb http://deb.devuan.org/merged ascii main non-free

After that insert your ethernet card, or working wifi card (you need a internet connection) and do an apt update. Now you can install the required packages
apt install firmware-libertas


joval



Edited by joval 2021-07-19 10:42 PM
 Top of the page
joval Page Icon Posted 2021-07-20 12:03 AM
#
Avatar image of joval
Subscribers
H/PC Elite

Posts:
599
Location:
Northern California
Status:
Yay! just connected to unsecured network. FYI type "connect" then TAB to choose.

Amazing, Thank you Stefan!!

joval
 Top of the page
ArchiMark Page Icon Posted 2021-07-20 2:11 AM
#
Avatar image of ArchiMark
Subscribers
H/PC Elite

Posts:
583
Location:
Silicon Valley
Status:
Congrats, Joval! Good work!

Do you recall what config files you deleted and if you deleted files I listed in my post above yours?

Thanks,

Mark
 Top of the page
joval Page Icon Posted 2021-07-20 2:52 AM
#
Avatar image of joval
Subscribers
H/PC Elite

Posts:
599
Location:
Northern California
Status:
FYI now connected to WPA/WPA2 network!! slow though

Mark, I started from scratch and made up a new fresh (aka virgin?) image (32 GB to put on my Hosting site later). I'll see what files differ between the fresh/flesh and the old/used/abused!
joval

Edited by joval 2021-07-20 3:09 AM
 Top of the page
ArchiMark Page Icon Posted 2021-07-20 2:57 PM
#
Avatar image of ArchiMark
Subscribers
H/PC Elite

Posts:
583
Location:
Silicon Valley
Status:
Congrats, Joval!

And thanks, as always, for your help.

I did find some config files to delete last night. Then tried installing libertas and connman with ethernet card.

First I tried to install libertas and got message that I already had newest version. Not surprising, given all my history with trying to get wifi cards working.....

Then I tried installing connman, but got error messages about not connecting with repos....strange....

Tried pinging google and got error message about network cannot be reached or something like that...

Checked connection eth0 with config eth0 and it said it was up....

After no luck with ping again, I did hard reset and tried again, but same thing....

Maybe something got deleted that now impacts network connection?

Anyway, with all the errors I have been having lately, think it's time I do a complete fresh install and try again.

Mark
 Top of the page
ArchiMark Page Icon Posted 2021-07-20 4:48 PM
#
Avatar image of ArchiMark
Subscribers
H/PC Elite

Posts:
583
Location:
Silicon Valley
Status:
Speaking of doing a fresh install....

What files should I use?

Seems like there are various files available....

Not sure which ones are best to use now.

And with using the Ambicom WL54-CF v.2.1.

Thanks!

Mark
 Top of the page
ArchiMark Page Icon Posted 2021-07-20 5:04 PM
#
Avatar image of ArchiMark
Subscribers
H/PC Elite

Posts:
583
Location:
Silicon Valley
Status:
Quote
_dev-null - 2020-09-14 10:27 PM

Hi Mark!
Here is a list of currently supported CF cards:
PCMCIA_DEVICE_PROD_ID12("IBM", "microdrive", 0xb569a6e5, 0xa6d76178),
PCMCIA_DEVICE_PROD_ID12("IBM", "IBM17JSSFP20", 0xb569a6e5, 0xf2508753),
PCMCIA_DEVICE_PROD_ID12("KINGSTON", "CF CARD 1GB", 0x2e6d1829, 0x55d5bffb),
PCMCIA_DEVICE_PROD_ID12("KINGSTON", "CF CARD 4GB", 0x2e6d1829, 0x531e7d10),
PCMCIA_DEVICE_PROD_ID12("KINGSTON", "CF8GB", 0x2e6d1829, 0xacbe682e),
PCMCIA_DEVICE_PROD_ID12("M-Systems", "CF300", 0x7ed2ad87, 0x7e9e78ee),
PCMCIA_DEVICE_PROD_ID12("M-Systems", "CF500", 0x7ed2ad87, 0x7a13045c),
PCMCIA_DEVICE_PROD_ID1("TRANSCEND 512M ", 0xd0909443),
PCMCIA_DEVICE_PROD_ID12("TRANSCEND", "TS1GCF45", 0x709b1bf1, 0xf68b6f32),
PCMCIA_DEVICE_PROD_ID12("TRANSCEND", "TS1GCF80", 0x709b1bf1, 0x2a54d4b1),
PCMCIA_DEVICE_PROD_ID12("TRANSCEND", "TS2GCF120", 0x709b1bf1, 0x969aa4f2),
PCMCIA_DEVICE_PROD_ID12("TRANSCEND", "TS4GCF120", 0x709b1bf1, 0xf54a91c8),
PCMCIA_DEVICE_PROD_ID12("TRANSCEND", "TS4GCF133", 0x709b1bf1, 0x7558f133),
PCMCIA_DEVICE_PROD_ID12("TRANSCEND", "TS8GCF133", 0x709b1bf1, 0xb2f89b47),
PCMCIA_DEVICE_PROD_ID12("TRANSCEND", "TS32GCF133", 0x709b1bf1, 0x12fd2f49),
PCMCIA_DEVICE_PROD_ID12("TRANSCEND", "TS64GCF800", 0x709b1bf1, 0x84382de1),

I can add cards to the kernel source if you tell me the id your card has. You need to put the card into a working Linux PC with PCMCIA or the Jornada itself booted from a working CF card to Linux. Here is a short description: http://www.sp-net.at/wiki/doku.php?id=jornada_j720_linux_cfdriver

If you have a currently not supported card, i need the output from these two commands:
$ cat /sys/bus/pcmcia/devices/0.0/prod_id1
$ cat /sys/bus/pcmcia/devices/0.0/prod_id2


Regards
Stefan



Hi Stefan,

Per your post above, I just checked two of my CF cards:

SanDisk Extreme
64GB

 
$ cat /sys/bus/pcmcia/devices/0.0/prod_id1 
 
SanDisk 
 
$ cat /sys/bus/pcmcia/devices/0.0/prod_id2 
 
SDCFXS-064G 
 
 
Hoodman Steel 
32GB 
 
$ cat /sys/bus/pcmcia/devices/0.0/prod_id1 
 
Transcend 
 
$ cat /sys/bus/pcmcia/devices/0.0/prod_id2 
 
TS32GCF800 



Interesting that the Hoodman card is really a Transcend card.



Edited by ArchiMark 2021-07-20 5:05 PM
 Top of the page
joval Page Icon Posted 2021-07-20 10:27 PM
#
Avatar image of joval
Subscribers
H/PC Elite

Posts:
599
Location:
Northern California
Status:
Quote
ArchiMark - 2021-07-20 8:48 AM

Speaking of doing a fresh install....

What files should I use?

Seems like there are various files available....

Not sure which ones are best to use now.

And with using the Ambicom WL54-CF v.2.1.

Thanks!

Mark


Markus: I'm only hosting the 4GB file right now, but it doesn't have the Ambicom WL54 connman program. I'm about to create a 32GB image with the Ambi54/connman support... and compress and upload if not too big.

The Good news:

The Ambicom WL54 works and connects to WPA/WPA2 router/ internet and remembers your config.

The Bad news:

It is incredibly slow, nowhere near 54Mbs,( the wired ethernet card is a Zillion times faster). "Dang!" So more work ahead to optimize/fix that issue.

BTW, I have a Transcend 8Gb card that is working well with Devuan on one of my J720's.

Joval
 Top of the page
ArchiMark Page Icon Posted 2021-07-20 10:49 PM
#
Avatar image of ArchiMark
Subscribers
H/PC Elite

Posts:
583
Location:
Silicon Valley
Status:
Thanks, as always, Joval, for your kind and helpful help....



Since I have the 32GB 'Transcend' card, the 32GB image with the 'whole enchilada rolled in' (keymaps too?....), would be great!

Still on vacation up north?

Mark
 Top of the page
joval Page Icon Posted 2021-07-20 11:11 PM
#
Avatar image of joval
Subscribers
H/PC Elite

Posts:
599
Location:
Northern California
Status:
Quote
ArchiMark - 2021-07-20 2:49 PM

Thanks, as always, Joval, for your kind and helpful help....



Since I have the 32GB 'Transcend' card, the 32GB image with the 'whole enchilada rolled in' (keymaps too?....), would be great!

Still on vacation up north?

Mark


Oops, forgot keymaps, menu still in german, probably other things too.... Will fix in newer versions later. You know how to do it, so you'll be good, n'est-ce pas?

Also, it's really barebones... no MC, no tigervncviewer, no NTP... so smaller zip file.

Joval

Edited by joval 2021-07-20 11:18 PM
 Top of the page
ArchiMark Page Icon Posted 2021-07-20 11:14 PM
#
Avatar image of ArchiMark
Subscribers
H/PC Elite

Posts:
583
Location:
Silicon Valley
Status:
No worries......

Oui, je serai bon.

 Top of the page
joval Page Icon Posted 2021-07-24 5:35 PM
#
Avatar image of joval
Subscribers
H/PC Elite

Posts:
599
Location:
Northern California
Status:
Quote
_dev-null - 2021-07-16 1:09 AM

Good news
I found a way to get the Ambicom WL54-CF card working! Now we have a card that supports WPA2 in Linux.

You need to install firmware-libertas and connman. (you can use TAB for auto fill the wifi_ name)

$ sudo apt install firmware-libertas connman

Now insert your card and follow the instructions for connman (I copied them from the Debian wiki https://wiki.debian.org/WiFi/HowToUse):

$ /usr/sbin/connmanctl
connmanctl> enable wifi
connmanctl> scan wifi
Scan completed for wifi

connmanctl> services
YOURSSID wifi_f8d111090ed6_6d617269636f6e5f64655f6d6965726461_managed_psk
... ...

connmanctl> agent on
Agent registered

connmanctl> connect wifi_f8d111090ed6_6d617269636f6e5f64655f6d6965726461_managed_psk
Agent RequestInput wifi_f8d111090ed6_6d617269636f6e5f64655f6d6965726461_managed_psk
Passphrase = [ Type=psk, Requirement=mandatory, Alternates=[ WPS ] ]
WPS = [ Type=wpspin, Requirement=alternate ]
Passphrase? YOURPASS
Connected wifi_f8d111090ed6_6d617269636f6e5f64655f6d6965726461_managed_psk

connmanctl> quit

And now you have a working WPA2 encrypted wifi connection!
Remember that I tested this on a fresh installed system, if you like to do this on a system where you connected with other wifi cards to different networks, you have to remove wpasupplicant, wireless-tools, iw and all your config files before you install connman.

Stefan


Great work on that one Stefan! It's slow but very robust, and OMG, WPA2!!!

FYI, for others, to get auto complete on connect after ==>services==>list of wifi AP's each has long IDs first 8 digits or so are the same followed by underscore and rest of ID psk

connmanctl>services ==>agent on etc.

connmanctl> type "connect + spacebar" then hit tab ==> first 10 or so digits show==>type say 3 wifi ap specific digits (appearing after underscore on services list--- see above in Stefan's instructions)==> hit tab and it will autocomplete rest of ID==> hit enter ==> it pauses then "connected" appears. ==> quit

Also, works with NE2000 ethernet cards too. Once config is done, it remembers it and WL54 wifi autoconnects on boot-up! Really quite nice. To some extent, the best of both worlds, use ethernet at home for high speed vncviewer or Firefox, then WPA2 + lynx when out and about.

Thanks again, _dev-null!

Joval


Edited by joval 2021-07-24 5:51 PM
 Top of the page
joval Page Icon Posted 2021-07-25 1:58 AM
#
Avatar image of joval
Subscribers
H/PC Elite

Posts:
599
Location:
Northern California
Status:
Za-WOW!!! I finally Did It!!!

Hi All,

This post is coming to you from my J720 with 64 Mb ROM, running Stefans Devuan port on a 32Gb microSD card wirelessly connected via high speed WPA Netgear MA401 wifi card (with updated firmware) to a Cisco router wirelessly connected to my Rasberry Pi 4 via ssh and Firefox. Uses Stefan's prism2/connman discovery/fix

It's almost as fast as the ethernet tethered connection! Like, unbelievable!!! Months in the making, but free at last. Also almost no lag on keystrokes, plays youtube videos.

I have much to share on the firmware rabbit hole for the MA401 I just crawled out of along with a few gems of the kingdom!! I will be creating a working image for SD cards that should be available for downloading soon and details on MA401 firmware upgrade.

Very very pleased with what a group effort can lead to... thanks to so many of you!
Now, the J720 is on par with todays tablets, IMO... Feel the Love!

joval on his j720/devuan/WPA wifi/RasPi/Firefox Hybrid

Edited by joval 2021-07-25 2:10 AM
 Top of the page
hpc:factor« View previous thread · H/PC Linux / Unix · View next thread »
« Prev ... 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 »
Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.375 - Cached queries : 51 - Executed queries : 30
Server Time now is: Thursday, 29 July 2021 - 13:38