x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

Linux Kernel 4.9 and a (not so) happy Jornada 720

« Prev ... 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 ... Next »
ArchiMark Page Icon Posted 2020-10-08 3:59 PM
#
Avatar image of ArchiMark
Subscribers
H/PC Elite

Posts:
694
Location:
Silicon Valley
Status:
Thanks, Stefan!

Just tried to do setup....

When I try to login in as root, using 'r00t' as password, I get 'Sorry, try again'.

Thought this was the correct password per your instructions?
 Top of the page
ntware Page Icon Posted 2020-10-08 5:33 PM
#
Avatar image of ntware
Subscribers
H/PC Elite

Posts:
608
Location:
Florida, US
Status:
Make sure you're typing r00t (with zeroes, not capital 'o's). Also, test your keyboard first on the user name field where you can see the characters. It could be possible as well that the zero key on your keyboard is mapped to something else.
 Top of the page
ArchiMark Page Icon Posted 2020-10-08 5:51 PM
#
Avatar image of ArchiMark
Subscribers
H/PC Elite

Posts:
694
Location:
Silicon Valley
Status:
Thanks for your help, ntware.....

Yes, was typing zeroes....

Checked keyboard and when I type with zero key, I get zeroes on display.....

I tried again and I still get error message......

???????

 Top of the page
ntware Page Icon Posted 2020-10-08 5:58 PM
#
Avatar image of ntware
Subscribers
H/PC Elite

Posts:
608
Location:
Florida, US
Status:
That's weird. It worked for me the first time. Perhaps, try logging in as user (password u$er) and then "su -" to see if you can get into root
 Top of the page
ArchiMark Page Icon Posted 2020-10-08 6:06 PM
#
Avatar image of ArchiMark
Subscribers
H/PC Elite

Posts:
694
Location:
Silicon Valley
Status:
Quote
ntware - 2020-10-08 9:58 AM

That's weird. It worked for me the first time. Perhaps, try logging in as user (password u$er) and then "su -" to see if you can get into root


You're a genius!

"su -" worked !


Thanks!

Onward and upward.....

 Top of the page
ArchiMark Page Icon Posted 2020-10-08 6:23 PM
#
Avatar image of ArchiMark
Subscribers
H/PC Elite

Posts:
694
Location:
Silicon Valley
Status:
Ran into another issue now......


Trying to setup card per Stefan's post above....

When I type ' { ' I get ' ` ' instead.....

On my 720 keyboard, the ' { ' is in yellow above the letter ' p ' . So, I pressed 'fn' and the ' { ' at same time.

??????

Thanks.

 Top of the page
hpcboy Page Icon Posted 2020-10-08 6:38 PM
#
Avatar image of hpcboy
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
256
Location:
Hong Kong SAR
Status:
A keymapping issue? English vs. European?
 Top of the page
ArchiMark Page Icon Posted 2020-10-08 6:40 PM
#
Avatar image of ArchiMark
Subscribers
H/PC Elite

Posts:
694
Location:
Silicon Valley
Status:
Yes, probably........

Meanwhile, I just noticed that if I press the ' fn ' key, it types a ' ` '.

 Top of the page
ntware Page Icon Posted 2020-10-08 6:53 PM
#
Avatar image of ntware
Subscribers
H/PC Elite

Posts:
608
Location:
Florida, US
Status:
The keyboard was configured for the english US version. My brazilian portuguese Jornada also has problems with the keyboard on Linux. It's just a matter of finding the keybindings and changing them appropriately.
 Top of the page
ArchiMark Page Icon Posted 2020-10-08 6:56 PM
#
Avatar image of ArchiMark
Subscribers
H/PC Elite

Posts:
694
Location:
Silicon Valley
Status:
Quote
_dev-null - 2020-10-07 11:48 PM

Hi Mark!
The AmbiCoM WL1100C should work in Linux without any pre-configuration from WinCE.
I use the exact same card http://www.sp-net.at/wiki/doku.php?id=prism2wifi

For WEP:
You can try to configure it like kenny, inside the /etc/network/interfaces. Or by typing these commands:

ip link set dev wifi0 up 
iwconfig wifi0 essid "yourssid" key "yourhexkey" mode Managed 
dhclient -v wlan0
For WPA, you need a STA firmware above 1.8.0 on your card and wpa_supplicant in Linux. Create a configuration file (as root):
vi /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
and insert this (edit ssid and key):
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant 
ctrl_interface_group=root 
 
eapol_version=1 
 
ap_scan=1 
network={ 
        ssid="yourssid" 
        scan_ssid=1 
        proto=WPA 
        key_mgmt=WPA-PSK 
        pairwise=TKIP 
        group=TKIP 
        psk="yourkey" 
}
Then start it with these commands:
wpa_supplicant -i wlan0 -D wext -c /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf -B  
dhclient wlan0



Stefan



I have two usage scenarios that I will be typically using 720 in.

1) Work

At my workplace, we have a 'guest network' that is open to visitors. This is what I need to use there for 720.

I forget the exact name for system it uses (captured xxxxxx ? ), but it is type where typically on laptop, you open a webpage and it redirects you to a webpage that you have to click on the button to 'sign in' to guest network.


2) Home


At home, I have WPA password for accessing network. So, I assume I can follow your instructions for using this network.


So, what do I do about my Work network?

And how do you recommend setting that up alongside my Home setup?

In other words, I want to use 720 at during day and then at home in evening....

Thanks.


 Top of the page
ArchiMark Page Icon Posted 2020-10-08 6:58 PM
#
Avatar image of ArchiMark
Subscribers
H/PC Elite

Posts:
694
Location:
Silicon Valley
Status:
Quote
ntware - 2020-10-08 10:53 AM

The keyboard was configured for the english US version. My brazilian portuguese Jornada also has problems with the keyboard on Linux. It's just a matter of finding the keybindings and changing them appropriately.



Hmmmm......as far as I can tell, I have a english US keyboard....has ' $ ' above the number 4 and a Euro character in yellow to the right of the $ sign.
 Top of the page
kennytaylor661 Page Icon Posted 2020-10-08 7:53 PM
#
Avatar image of kennytaylor661
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
24
Location:
United States
Status:
Quote

I forget the exact name for system it uses (captured xxxxxx ? ), but it is type where typically on laptop, you open a webpage and it redirects you to a webpage that you have to click on the button to 'sign in' to guest network.


Captive portal

It works by intercepting your client's DNS requests sending a response redirecting them to its own authentication page until you successfully authenticate. I use the same at my workplace with non-WPA devices. Ours is nice because it's geared towards college students and remembers the authentication for 6 months (by device MAC address).
 Top of the page
ArchiMark Page Icon Posted 2020-10-08 8:29 PM
#
Avatar image of ArchiMark
Subscribers
H/PC Elite

Posts:
694
Location:
Silicon Valley
Status:
Thanks kenny for the right name and info....

Meanwhile, I checked keyboard file in /etc/default/ and it shows XKBLAYOUT="us"

Been trying to find a command to show me or list the key map, so that I can check what is supposed to be key combo for getting symbols. None I've tried so far work.

btw, all the things I've been doing on 720 Devuan today are in console.

Any suggestions?

Thanks.



Edited by ArchiMark 2020-10-08 9:30 PM
 Top of the page
ArchiMark Page Icon Posted 2020-10-08 10:44 PM
#
Avatar image of ArchiMark
Subscribers
H/PC Elite

Posts:
694
Location:
Silicon Valley
Status:
Did xmodmap -pke in xterm and it lists all the keycodes....all 246.....

However, I need to 'scroll up' through the list to see if I can find the keycode for ' { ' and other yellow colored characters on keys.

Tried shift + alt + up arrow, but types a 'A' on display.

Tried shift + up arrow, but types a 'A' on display.

Seems like another thing to fix.....

So, stuck for now.....


 Top of the page
ntware Page Icon Posted 2020-10-08 11:45 PM
#
Avatar image of ntware
Subscribers
H/PC Elite

Posts:
608
Location:
Florida, US
Status:
You can't scroll on bare minimum terminal. Try adding
 
| less 
to the end of your command, something like:
 
xmodmap -pke | less 

If plain terminal is too scary for you, you can always start X with the "startx" command, and then open a GUI friendly terminal from there which accepts scrolling.
 Top of the page
hpc:factor« View previous thread · H/PC Linux / Unix · View next thread »
« Prev ... 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 ... Next »
Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.152 - Cached queries : 50 - Executed queries : 31
Server Time now is: Sunday, 17 October 2021 - 17:16