x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

Linux Kernel 4.9 and a (not so) happy Jornada 720

Moderators: insurgent

Jump to page : First : Prev : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 ... : Next : Last
Now viewing page 3 [15 messages per page]

ntware Page Icon Posted 2020-08-28 2:53 PM
#
Avatar image of ntware
Subscribers
H/PC Elite

Posts:
506
Location:
Florida, US
Status:
Stefan, I’m willing to pay for a 128MB module. I can’t guarantee I will be able to make it work (my latest fiddling around on the Linux kernel was a few years ago on my PhD), but I certainly would like to try.
 Top of the page
_dev-null Page Icon Posted 2020-09-08 9:20 AM
#
Avatar image of _dev-null
Subscribers
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
102
Location:
Austria
Status:
Hi!
Update: The 128MB RAM upgrade works!!!! I got the modified linexec for 128MB.
The system is a lot snappier and bigger applications are no problem anymore. I even managed to get the Arduino IDE working

I also got wifi with WPA encryption working, so no unsafe WEP encryption anymore ...
You need a Wifi card with a Prism 2 chipset and this firmware version (it is possible to upgrade the firmware)
NIC: v1.0.0
PRI: v1.1.1
STA: v1.8.0

Regards
Stefan
 Top of the page
ArchiMark Page Icon Posted 2020-09-09 4:39 PM
#
Avatar image of ArchiMark
Subscribers
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
431
Location:
United States
Status:
Hi Stefan,

This is great news and progress!

Hope you can share more info on getting this setup for those of us that don't have your advanced knowledge.

Best,

Mark
 Top of the page
_dev-null Page Icon Posted 2020-09-11 9:35 AM
#
Avatar image of _dev-null
Subscribers
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
102
Location:
Austria
Status:
Hi!
Yes, I work on a little guide to install Linux and set everything up.

Currently I test Kernel version 3.16.81 (older but LTS and maintained until June 2020)! I hope this version is not affected by the swap bug. I will update you later this day if I got everything running ... need to adapt a few drivers.

Regards
Stefan
 Top of the page
ArchiMark Page Icon Posted 2020-09-11 5:25 PM
#
Avatar image of ArchiMark
Subscribers
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
431
Location:
United States
Status:
Hi Stefan,

A guide would be truly appreciated greatly by me and others too.

Look forward to it and your continued testing.

Regards,

Mark

Edited by ArchiMark 2020-09-11 5:25 PM
 Top of the page
ArchiMark Page Icon Posted 2020-09-11 6:09 PM
#
Avatar image of ArchiMark
Subscribers
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
431
Location:
United States
Status:
It would also be good to know:

a. If it's possible to save files (text, spreadsheets, etc) to a CF card (or other storage device, if that is what is needed).

b. And if it's possible to save files, how to do it.

Thanks,

Mark
 Top of the page
ntware Page Icon Posted 2020-09-12 12:58 PM
#
Avatar image of ntware
Subscribers
H/PC Elite

Posts:
506
Location:
Florida, US
Status:
Quote
ArchiMark - 2020-09-11 1:09 PM

It would also be good to know:

a. If it's possible to save files (text, spreadsheets, etc) to a CF card (or other storage device, if that is what is needed).

Well...yes. Why wouldn’t it be possible? I haven’t tested this particular port, but it is still Linux after all.

Quote
ArchiMark - 2020-09-11 1:09 PM
b. And if it's possible to save files, how to do it.

File -> save on your favorite Linux text editor, spreadsheet, etc
 Top of the page
ntware Page Icon Posted 2020-09-12 1:00 PM
#
Avatar image of ntware
Subscribers
H/PC Elite

Posts:
506
Location:
Florida, US
Status:
Hey Stefan, I’m wondering if you’re willing to sell your modified 128MB rom cards. I bet many users here would be interested.
 Top of the page
ArchiMark Page Icon Posted 2020-09-12 7:54 PM
#
Avatar image of ArchiMark
Subscribers
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
431
Location:
United States
Status:
Sorry, if my question was not clear......

I know how to save files in Linux.

Just trying to understand where things stand with shutting down the Jornada and then starting it up again for another Linux session.

As I recall, in the past retaining changes, saved items, from a previous linux session was a problem, due to not being able to save to internal 720 storage.

Hope this my question is clear now.

Thanks.
 Top of the page
ntware Page Icon Posted 2020-09-13 2:10 AM
#
Avatar image of ntware
Subscribers
H/PC Elite

Posts:
506
Location:
Florida, US
Status:
Actually, HPCs don’t have any internal storage. They store files on RAM, and that’s completely wiped out when you boot Linux because, well, that’s RAM. That’s why you lose all your WinCE files and configurations because WinCE uses a portion of RAM as storage. Stuff written to the storage card however will remain there forever, until you delete them. This is valid for both WinCE and Linux. The only “small” difference is that on the WinCE side you can only see the fat16 (or fat32) partition on your card. The Linux ext2 (or ext3/ext4) partitions will remain hidden to the WinCE side because it doesn’t know how to handle files in them. On Linux you can see both the fat (16 or 32) partition as well as the Linux file system on ext2/3/4.
 Top of the page
ArchiMark Page Icon Posted 2020-09-13 2:22 AM
#
Avatar image of ArchiMark
Subscribers
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
431
Location:
United States
Status:
Thanks! Got it now.....

Appreciate the clear explanation.

 Top of the page
_dev-null Page Icon Posted 2020-09-14 7:24 AM
#
Avatar image of _dev-null
Subscribers
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
102
Location:
Austria
Status:
Hello!
Thanks for the explanation ntware!

I have a few RAM chips available, maybe i build a few more boards that i can sell. I let you know!

During the weekend i got the Kernel 3.16.81 up and running. There are no freezes anymore and everything works as expected. We have now a stable and working Linux environment on the Jornada 720! It also works on low memory models with 32MB. But i recommend 64MB.

The only things that are left: Sound (I work on a driver for it), a proper keymap for keyboards that have a other layout than the US "qwerty" and a "fake sleep" (if you use a desktop environment like Fluxbox the X server shuts down the display and saves energy - this is currently the only option)
(And proper USB support, but this is a non-standard thing and therefore not so important).

I write a How-To for setting everything up and upload ready to use root images on my website.

Regards
Stefan
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2020-09-14 9:35 AM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
15,423
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
How practical/sensible would it be to form JLime to run with the 128MB patches in place?
 Top of the page
_dev-null Page Icon Posted 2020-09-14 9:41 AM
#
Avatar image of _dev-null
Subscribers
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
102
Location:
Austria
Status:
Hi!
You can use jlime with 128MB. Simply boot with the jlinexec for 128MB RAM. I dont know if Jlime boots with my newer Kernel, I did not try this.
But you can use the 2.6 kernel that is available in the repository.

Here is the newer kernel if you like to try it: http://www.sp-net.at/nextcloud/s/5qBbkaXaZtiypbP?path=%2Fkernel3.16...

Regards
Stefan
 Top of the page
ArchiMark Page Icon Posted 2020-09-14 1:51 PM
#
Avatar image of ArchiMark
Subscribers
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
431
Location:
United States
Status:
Hi Stefan,

Great progress!

I would be interested in a 128MB board if you make some available.

Keep up the good work!

Best,

Mark

 Top of the page
hpc:factor« View previous thread · H/PC Linux / Unix · View next thread »

Jump to page : First : Prev : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 ... : Next : Last
Now viewing page 3 [15 messages per page]

Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.078 - Cached queries : 50 - Executed queries : 30
Server Time now is: Friday, 27 November 2020 - 8:25