x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

HP 200LX or ? to Learn Programming & Other Uses

Moderators: C:Amie

Jump to page : 1 2 3 4 5 6
Now viewing page 4 [15 messages per page]

ArchiMark Page Icon Posted 2020-04-30 12:12 AM
#
Avatar image of ArchiMark
Subscribers
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
410
Location:
United States
Status:
Quote
Jake - 2020-04-29 3:59 PM

Yeah, CPack is not intuitive. First all, make sure Filer is actually opened on CPack. Secondly, have you established Com1 port in dosbox.conf?

Jake



Sure seems like Filer is open....I can use it just like on 200LX....

However, did not edit Com1 in dosbox.conf....will check that....

Thanks!
 Top of the page
Jake Page Icon Posted 2020-04-30 12:20 AM
#
Avatar image of Jake
Subscribers
H/PC Elder

Posts:
2,112
Location:
Choking on the stench of ambition in Washington DC
Status:
In Dosbox.conf,

You should have this in:

[serial]

serial1=directserial realport:COM1
serial2=dummy
serial3=disabled
serial4=disabled

Edited by Jake 2020-04-30 12:21 AM
 Top of the page
ArchiMark Page Icon Posted 2020-04-30 4:48 AM
#
Avatar image of ArchiMark
Subscribers
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
410
Location:
United States
Status:
Quote
Jake - 2020-04-29 4:20 PM

In Dosbox.conf,

You should have this in:

[serial]

serial1=directserial realport:COM1
serial2=dummy
serial3=disabled
serial4=disabled


Thanks!

OK, did that.....tried connecting again....with Filer open on laptop and 200LX.

Now, on laptop, I got message window popped up in CPack as soon as I connected serial cable:

Information

LapLink Remote Access is currently active.
Use F5 (Goto) to access remote computer drives.

Note: F6 (Remote) and F10 (Connect) will not work while LapLink Remote Access is running.

Unfortunately, on CPack, I don't see program icons for LapLink and some others that I see on 200LX. And since there's no 'More' button on laptop, don't know how to get to LapLink to try and quit it.

Any suggestions?
 Top of the page
Jake Page Icon Posted 2020-04-30 2:01 PM
#
Avatar image of Jake
Subscribers
H/PC Elder

Posts:
2,112
Location:
Choking on the stench of ambition in Washington DC
Status:
Huh. I remember that error, but had so many errors during my setup that I can't remember the solution. One thing you might do is copy the autoexec.bat file from d:\ to a:\ (compact flash). Edit a:\autoexec.bat and REM:

call d:\bin\llras

That command puts laplink into memory.

Reboot, and make sure to hit Alt before machine boots into its gui. Choose 1 to make A: drive the master, so it will read that autoexec first, not the default autoexec in c:\*

Jake

Edited by Jake 2020-04-30 2:06 PM
 Top of the page
Jake Page Icon Posted 2020-04-30 4:24 PM
#
Avatar image of Jake
Subscribers
H/PC Elder

Posts:
2,112
Location:
Choking on the stench of ambition in Washington DC
Status:
Mark, I think I know what your problem is. Disregard the autoexec.bat editing, but it's harmless if you haven't, since disabling laplink at boot will give more system memory, and you should be booting from a: anyway.

Your issue might be that another program on your laptop is using the Com1 port, making the Palmtop think it's laplink.

For instance, I run Psion's PsiWin, which also uses Com1, and while I was trying to figure out your problem, I forgot to shut PsiWin down as I accessed Cpack--and I got the same laplink error that you're getting. I imagine your set-up is fine; it's the port that is the problem.

Jake

Edited by Jake 2020-04-30 4:24 PM
 Top of the page
ArchiMark Page Icon Posted 2020-04-30 4:49 PM
#
Avatar image of ArchiMark
Subscribers
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
410
Location:
United States
Status:
Thanks for all the input, Jake!

The error message pops up on the laptop running CPack....not the 200LX....don't know if that matters....

Not aware that I have PsiWin running or installed?

Mark

 Top of the page
Jake Page Icon Posted 2020-04-30 4:52 PM
#
Avatar image of Jake
Subscribers
H/PC Elder

Posts:
2,112
Location:
Choking on the stench of ambition in Washington DC
Status:
No, PsiWin is merely an example that produces same error. And yes, the error comes up on Cpack. Check your ports, Device Manager, Window programs, Window processes, etc.

Jake

Edit: you could also try using Com2 and Com2 on both Palmtop and laptop.

Edited by Jake 2020-04-30 4:59 PM
 Top of the page
ArchiMark Page Icon Posted 2020-04-30 5:01 PM
#
Avatar image of ArchiMark
Subscribers
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
410
Location:
United States
Status:
Thank for explaining...

Will check ports, etc....

And try other ports as you suggest...

Will be later today....
 Top of the page
ArchiMark Page Icon Posted 2020-05-01 5:12 AM
#
Avatar image of ArchiMark
Subscribers
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
410
Location:
United States
Status:
Set 200LX to COM2.

On laptop/Cpack:

- Edited DOSBox conf file to make COM2 active.

- In Filer, set port to COM2.

In Device Manager, found the USB-Serial adaptor and in advanced settings, I set to COM2.

When I open Filer I get the same error message window open up about LapLink Remote Running and won't be able to connect.

Tried to connect anyway, since everthing is set to use COM2, but I get same error message.....

So, assume until I can get LapLinkRemote to quit, there will be problem connecting.

 Top of the page
Jake Page Icon Posted 2020-05-01 1:54 PM
#
Avatar image of Jake
Subscribers
H/PC Elder

Posts:
2,112
Location:
Choking on the stench of ambition in Washington DC
Status:
I'm running out of ideas. Which is your usb-serial adapter? Does it have the FTDI chip? That chip is essential.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00BUZ0K68/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_search_...

Have you tried using the adapter with another handheld device? If you can connect with another device, then at least you'll know the chip/connection are the right ones.

Also, do you have another computer, preferably with less installed on it? You could try using CPack/Palmtop with that.

Jake
 Top of the page
ArchiMark Page Icon Posted 2020-05-01 2:45 PM
#
Avatar image of ArchiMark
Subscribers
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
410
Location:
United States
Status:
It is Insignia NS-PU99501, got it at BestBuy...

https://www.insigniaproducts.com/pdp/NS-PU99501/5883029

Not much info on it....

Can try another laptop....

Thanks.

Mark
 Top of the page
ArchiMark Page Icon Posted 2020-05-01 2:56 PM
#
Avatar image of ArchiMark
Subscribers
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
410
Location:
United States
Status:
Meanwhile, I tried using a Sandisk 128MB CF in a PC card adapter to transfer files onto 200LX.

Card is formatted as FAT and recognized in laptop using a usb card reader.

Inserted card into 200LX, but Filer does not recognize CF card. No A: drive recognized.

Tried to Format card in Filer, but since it's not recognized, it can't format it.

I have tried using a 10MB and 8MB PC card and they are recognized automatically in Filer.

Do you think CF card needs to be reformatted? If so, to what?

Thanks,

Mark
 Top of the page
Jake Page Icon Posted 2020-05-01 2:57 PM
#
Avatar image of Jake
Subscribers
H/PC Elder

Posts:
2,112
Location:
Choking on the stench of ambition in Washington DC
Status:
I'm not seeing anything FTDI associated with your adapter. Not saying that it doesn't have FTDI, but other adapters on Amazon, etc seem to boast of it, when they have it.

Jake
 Top of the page
Jake Page Icon Posted 2020-05-01 2:59 PM
#
Avatar image of Jake
Subscribers
H/PC Elder

Posts:
2,112
Location:
Choking on the stench of ambition in Washington DC
Status:
Re: your compact flash card. Which command in 200lx did you use to format?

Jake
 Top of the page
ArchiMark Page Icon Posted 2020-05-01 3:09 PM
#
Avatar image of ArchiMark
Subscribers
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
410
Location:
United States
Status:
Agree, seems odd they don't mention the chip, if it has it...probably should get the adapter you linked to....

As for CF card, it is card I probably bought 10+ years ago...so, formatted way back when...

I just put it in card reader and my laptop recognized it....and in Properties it shows as 'FAT'.

I was thinking maybe it needs to be formatted by 200LX to be recognized, but as I said, 200LX doesn't 'see' the card, so, Format command in Filer, won't work.

 Top of the page
hpc:factor« View previous thread · Handheld PC General Discussion · View next thread »

Jump to page : 1 2 3 4 5 6
Now viewing page 4 [15 messages per page]

Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.093 - Cached queries : 71 - Executed queries : 8
Server Time now is: Monday, 26 October 2020 - 18:28