x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

Questions about Casio Cassiopeia A50/A51/A51V/A55/A55V/A60

hpcboy Page Icon Posted 2020-10-21 5:16 AM
#
Avatar image of hpcboy
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
256
Location:
Hong Kong SAR
Status:
These earliest Casio HPC models are very rare and information is very limited.

Q1: I learned that A51(V) (CE 1.0) can be upgraded to CE2.0 (= A55?). How can this be done?
Is it like swapping the memory board to upgrade Jornada 720 to 728?

Q2: And how are their specs? They seem highly similar but I have yet to track down the details.
 Top of the page
stingraze Page Icon Posted 2020-10-21 5:32 AM
#
Avatar image of stingraze
Subscribers
H/PC Vanguard

Posts:
3,677
Location:
Japan
Status:
The ROM will be updated.

According to this old website, you had to take it in to the Casio Techno Service Station.

https://pc.watch.impress.co.jp/docs/article/980608/casio.htm

I think all you need is swap the ROM board if I'm not mistaken, but I guess that will be rare...
It cost 20,000 JPY for this service back then.

Edited by stingraze 2020-10-21 5:32 AM
 Top of the page
stingraze Page Icon Posted 2020-10-21 9:08 AM
#
Avatar image of stingraze
Subscribers
H/PC Vanguard

Posts:
3,677
Location:
Japan
Status:
Here's the spec of A-55V:

https://pc.watch.impress.co.jp/docs/article/980414/casio.htm

CPU SH-3 80MHz
Memory: ROM 24MB?RAM 8MB
Display: EL backlight FSTN ?480×240dots? 4scale-grayscale
Interface: RS-232C Casio 3pin serial PCMCIA TypeII×1 Compact Flash×1 IrDA
Width 185mm×Depth 94mm×Height 24.5mm
Power: AA batteries x 2 or Li-Ion battery
Weight: 390g(Including AA batteries) about 370g(Including Li-Ion Battery)

Edited by stingraze 2020-10-21 9:08 AM
 Top of the page
hpcboy Page Icon Posted 2020-10-21 12:39 PM
#
Avatar image of hpcboy
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
256
Location:
Hong Kong SAR
Status:
Just saw this old Japanese auction record which contains a concise summary:

???(PDA????????)
WindowsCE???????(Cassiopeia)????HandheldPC??????A?????PalmSizePC??????E??????????
????H/PC??????? A-10/A-11 ?? A-20(WinCE2.0?8MB????CPU)????????????????? A-50/A-51/A-51V ???? A-55V(WinCE2.0J?8MB????CPU???480x240pixel)?A-60(WinCE2.0J?8MB????CPU???640x240pixel)???????????????

From Google Translate:
* * * (4th PDA-related exhibition) The Windows CE version of Casiopea has an A series equipped with this Handheld PC version and an E series equipped with the Palm Size PC version. Casio's H / PC has been discontinued in the United States after the A-10 / A-11 with the A-20 (WinCE2.0, 8MB, double speed CPU). In Japan, A-50 / A-51 / A-51V followed by A-55V (WinCE2.0J, 8MB, double speed CPU, screen 480x240pixel), A-60 (WinCE2.0J, 8MB, double speed CPU, screen 640x240pixel) ) Has been released and this has also ended.



Edited by hpcboy 2020-10-21 12:40 PM
 Top of the page
hpcboy Page Icon Posted 2020-10-22 2:13 AM
#
Avatar image of hpcboy
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
256
Location:
Hong Kong SAR
Status:
The numbering of the Casio Cassiopeia look confusing. The A2x series (sold in the US) seems to have even higher specs (more RAM, CE 2.0) than the A50/51 (sold in Japan, less RAM, CE 1.0).

Even though the quote in my previous post says the A20 has 8MB RAM, other sources including the specs database here says 16MB.

It would be nice if there is a table showing the accurate specs of all these Cassiopeia models...
 Top of the page
merybion Page Icon Posted 2024-01-22 11:54 AM
#
Avatar image of merybion
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
1
Location:
China 
Status:
I have a A-50 4MB, it seems like running CE 1.0 (Japanese), how could i change system language to English? Sorry, i'm new in CE.
 Top of the page
torch Page Icon Posted 2024-01-22 5:56 PM
#
Avatar image of torch
Subscribers
H/PC Guru

Posts:
5,713
Location:
United States 
Status:
To the best of my knowledge, I don’t think there’s a way to do that for CE1.0.

But another idea would just be to find third party programs (the scl might have some for CE1.0)

https://www.hpcfactor.com/scl/

I think you can use the device compatibility filter for your device to filter out programs that will work.
But yeah I would recommend trying to find those third party programs that are in English and then just use those instead of the “built in” programs.

Someone else may have a better idea but that’s what I came up with
 Top of the page
stingraze Page Icon Posted 2024-01-23 2:36 AM
#
Avatar image of stingraze
Subscribers
H/PC Vanguard

Posts:
3,677
Location:
Japan
Status:
If you can somehow get a Casio Cassiopeia A-10 / A-11's ROM board and swap it, it might work.
But you know, the hardware keyboard is different, so it might not be that easy.

Looking at the dimensions, they seem to be the same thing, except for the keyboard.

CE 1.0 can't change language on its own. You need at least Handheld PC 2000 devices, and they have a MUI kit that turns Japanese to English.

Edited by stingraze 2024-01-23 2:40 AM
 Top of the page
Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.156 - Cached queries : 63 - Executed queries : 11