x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

It's 2.0!

1 2
yeek Page Icon Posted 2021-02-05 1:03 PM
#
Avatar image of yeek
Subscribers
Factor Fanatic

Posts:
52
Location:
Scenic New York
Status:
My new acquisition arrived yesterday and I'm please to find the HP 320LX is running Windows CE 2.0 rather than 1.0!

Now the fun begins. First I'll have to install service pack 1, then the network service pack, then it's time to try and get it online. Maybe get some good old fashioned Nethack or Angband up and running?

Things I've found out so far:

  • Windows 10 FAT16 formatting is no good. Diskpart should be able to do it but cards formatted this way don't show any files if they are added to the card under Windows 10. Guess I'll have to try with Debian when I get home.

  • It's a good thing that I never tossed out those "tiny" 64MB CF cards

  • 8MB is more space than it feels like

  • Instant-on was a thing in 1997

  • The default format for Pocket Word and Pocket Excel is just awful

  • Capacitive touch has spoiled me for resistive touch

  • A green front-light really seems to make the screen sharpness pop

  • There's a lot of power in a pair of AA's



It's going to be a fun weekend. Anyone got some favorite Windows CE 2.0 software to recommend?
 Top of the page
Jake Page Icon Posted 2021-02-05 3:45 PM
#
Avatar image of Jake
Moderator
H/PC Elder

Posts:
2,215
Location:
Choking on the stench of ambition in Washington DC
Status:
Glad to hear of the 2.0 surprise.

CE 2.0 apps I use:

Bsquare Backup
Total Commander
HPCFactor's IrDA driver
MS CE Entertainment Pack
SmallTweak
Tascal Regedit
npopuk

Jake
 Top of the page
Karpour Page Icon Posted 2021-02-05 7:43 PM
#
Avatar image of Karpour
Subscribers
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
285
Location:
Austria
Status:
Whoa, what a lucky find! I haven't seen a ROM upgrade pop up on eBay in over 10 years!
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2021-02-05 8:03 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
15,567
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
Quote
Karpour - 2021-02-05 7:43 PM

Whoa, what a lucky find! I haven't seen a ROM upgrade pop up on eBay in over 10 years!
I remember when I was selling them, I had boxes and boxes of them



Good stroke of luck there! It's way better with 2.0. You'll want

Pocket Paint - https://www.hpcfactor.com/scl/82/Microsoft_Corporation/PowerToys_2.0...
vxUtil - https://www.hpcfactor.com/scl/1046/Cambridge_Computer_Corporation/vx...
DeSapper - https://www.hpcfactor.com/scl/71/Fong_Chee_Keat/DeSappear/version_1....
CaptCE - https://www.hpcfactor.com/scl/156/Eiichiroh_Itoh/CaptCE/version_0.08
SpaceLeft - https://www.hpcfactor.com/scl/106/Tillanosoft/SpaceLeft/version_2.3
Pocket Streets - https://www.hpcfactor.com/scl/60/Microsoft_Corporation/Pocket_Street...
The NSP (which everyone forgets I released, not Microsoft! ) - https://www.hpcfactor.com/downloads/details.asp?r={BEC7148C-62E4-46B...
My IR modem driver - https://www.hpcfactor.com/downloads/irda/
Regedit - https://www.hpcfactor.com/scl/29/TascalSoft/TascalSoft_Regedit_TRE_0...
SoundWidget (it's better than the one in Power Toys) - https://www.hpcfactor.com/scl/102/Grundle_Software/SoundWidget/versi...
Wodeon (for a laugh) - https://www.hpcfactor.com/scl/460/Omioknoe/Wodeon/version_1.8
 Top of the page
yeek Page Icon Posted 2021-02-05 8:10 PM
#
Avatar image of yeek
Subscribers
Factor Fanatic

Posts:
52
Location:
Scenic New York
Status:
I’m happy it’s 2.0 but now it’s killing me that I can’t seem to find a way to format a CF card on any of my devices that’ll work in the HP 320LX. I got one 8MB card that came with it and that works fine, but some of the stuff I want to run is over that. Kicking myself for recycling the old 386 right now. Maybe I can do it with a virtual machine running Windows 95/98 or something. I recall USB devices being a pain with VirtualBox but maybe it’s gotten better...

Anyone got another idea?
 Top of the page
Jake Page Icon Posted 2021-02-05 8:48 PM
#
Avatar image of Jake
Moderator
H/PC Elder

Posts:
2,215
Location:
Choking on the stench of ambition in Washington DC
Status:
You can't format it in the actual device?

Jake
 Top of the page
yeek Page Icon Posted 2021-02-05 8:53 PM
#
Avatar image of yeek
Subscribers
Factor Fanatic

Posts:
52
Location:
Scenic New York
Status:
All I can find about doing that is that it’s only possible if it is unable to successfully read the volume. It appears to read the volume(?) but none of the files I put on it show up.

I’m unsure what the problem is.

And this makes even less sense, just tried a 2GB card and it works flawlessly!

Edited by yeek 2021-02-05 9:02 PM
 Top of the page
Jake Page Icon Posted 2021-02-05 9:18 PM
#
Avatar image of Jake
Moderator
H/PC Elder

Posts:
2,215
Location:
Choking on the stench of ambition in Washington DC
Status:
Yes, I just checked w/ my Mobilon 4100. No option to format.

Bummer,
Jake

(I'm reaching for straws, but in Win10, maybe format in Fat32, then put card in machine to see if error flags with offer to format...)
 Top of the page
yeek Page Icon Posted 2021-02-05 11:28 PM
#
Avatar image of yeek
Subscribers
Factor Fanatic

Posts:
52
Location:
Scenic New York
Status:
I tried NTFS, FAT32, even no partition table. I think something is different about the card. It doesn’t give the message about using the card under battery power when I put it in so it’s not seeing that it’s there at all.
 Top of the page
Jake Page Icon Posted 2021-02-05 11:39 PM
#
Avatar image of Jake
Moderator
H/PC Elder

Posts:
2,215
Location:
Choking on the stench of ambition in Washington DC
Status:
Strange. You would think the card would produce errors in Win10, etc if it were damaged. Well, off you go to ebay Perhaps someone can ship fast, though if you're in the States, USPS is pretty slow these days. A couple of Prime-sent 256mbs can get there by Tuesday, if you're on this side of the pond, but they're pricey.

Jake
 Top of the page
CE Geek Page Icon Posted 2021-02-06 1:17 AM
#
Avatar image of CE Geek
Global Moderator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
12,248
Location:
Southern California
Status:
With CE 2.0, you also have support for the .NET Compact Framework 1.0 SP3, which will give you access to even more apps:

https://www.hpcfactor.com/scl/1040/dstefanov/Microsoft_.NET_Compact_...

I never liked the Pocket Word/Pocket Excel converted PWD and PXL limitation. With H/PC Pro it became possible to view most desktop Word and Excel files (DOC and XLS) without conversion.

Quote
yeek - 2021-02-05 12:53 PM

And this makes even less sense, just tried a 2GB card and it works flawlessly!


FAT(16) does support volumes up to 2 GB. And SpaceWatch is an alternative to SpaceLeft:

https://www.hpcfactor.com/scl/353/Fong_Chee_Keat/SpaceWatch/version_...
 Top of the page
yeek Page Icon Posted 2021-02-06 1:48 AM
#
Avatar image of yeek
Subscribers
Factor Fanatic

Posts:
52
Location:
Scenic New York
Status:
Think I’ll just use the 8MB and 2GB until I come up with something else. The new hurdle is the surprising lack of Windows CE ports of all my favorite rouge-likes. No Angband, Moria, or Castle of the Winds, and only a wonky beta of a wicked old Nethack! This is a travesty, I gotta start reading up on compiling for a SH3 Windows CE 2.0 target.
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2021-02-06 10:55 AM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
15,567
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
Stick is in Windows 10

Admin Elevate a command prompt

diskpart 
list disk 
sel disk # 
clean
Where # is the number of the CF card show on the
list disk
command.

Eject the CF card

Put it in CE, see if CE can now auto format it.

Unfortunately, Flash Format was never release for 2.00; although they were intending to at one time.
 Top of the page
ntware Page Icon Posted 2021-02-06 1:42 PM
#
Avatar image of ntware
Subscribers
H/PC Elite

Posts:
531
Location:
Florida, US
Status:
It took me a while to figure out the CF requirements on my 320lx, but the deal is, you can use any card you want of any size, as long as the partitions inside the card are not over 2GB in size. I have a CF I share between my 320lx and my 720. It has 4GB and two partitions, one 1.9GB (to be safe) and the other 2.1GB. The 720 can read both partitions fine. The 320 can only see the 1.9GB one. Also, your partition must be formatted with FAT16 for it to work. You can easily do that on Debian, but in case you mess up with the partition format, no worries. Once you pop in the card on your 320lx it will complain about the partition and ask if you want to format it. Then it will work just fine.

Edited by ntware 2021-02-06 1:42 PM
 Top of the page
yeek Page Icon Posted 2021-02-07 1:00 PM
#
Avatar image of yeek
Subscribers
Factor Fanatic

Posts:
52
Location:
Scenic New York
Status:
CF cards are now taken care of, on to the next challenge!

I picked up an Pentax PocketJet3 for all of $10.00 and was able to hunt down the driver. Problem is the driver is in an executable that isn't a valid Windows CE program. First thing to try, extract the exe with 7zip. Alright that worked and I got a new executable, PJ3SETUP.EXE and a readme.chm. So I stick those on a CF card and try and run the new program on my HP 320LX. No good, that executable is also not a valid Windows CE program.

Just to see I try and run it in Windows 10. "Cannot find Windows CE services. You must have Windows CE services installed to install this driver." Well that's a bummer.

So my question is, if I find someone with a legacy machine who happens to have Windows CE services installed, can they run the installer and then pull the driver I need and upload it?

Link removed because apparently the plan I have from wordpress lets me upload zip files but doesn't actually support them!

Edited by yeek 2021-02-07 1:34 PM
 Top of the page
hpc:factor« View previous thread · Windows CE 2.0 · View next thread »
1 2
Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.140 - Cached queries : 71 - Executed queries : 9
Server Time now is: Wednesday, 24 February 2021 - 17:58