x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

f8admin Page Icon Posted 2021-02-24 3:08 PM
#
Avatar image of f8admin
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
11
Location:
United States
Status:
So i have a Psion 5mx with XTM emulator. I remember years ago one could run Cpack200 (Hp connectivity pack) with the screen mimicking the size of the Hp lx.

Anyone has any instructions on how to do this?
 Top of the page
Quote Reply
munchausen Page Icon Posted 2021-02-24 5:10 PM
#
Avatar image of munchausen
Factor Fanatic

Posts:
74
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
I think this should go in the EPOC section?

Do you have XTM up and running? If you have a boot image (DRIVEA.DSK) and have got it booting, and have got a directory on your psion redirected to a hard disk under XTM, then I imagine you can just copy the files for the connectivity pack into the redirected directory, and run them from inside XTM.

Note BTW that XTM emulates the 200LX special graphics functions, so it may be possible to run other specialised 100/200LX software under it (I've never tried).

If you need DRIVEA.DSK I can put a basic one I use somewhere for download.
 Top of the page
Quote Reply
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2021-02-24 6:24 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
15,648
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
Moved to the Symbian OS/EPOC forum
 Top of the page
Quote Reply
f8admin Page Icon Posted 2021-02-25 12:51 AM
#
Avatar image of f8admin
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
11
Location:
United States
Status:
Yes I have the epoc32 version but I am only getting a blank screen when I run app200
 Top of the page
Quote Reply
munchausen Page Icon Posted 2021-02-25 11:51 AM
#
Avatar image of munchausen
Factor Fanatic

Posts:
74
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
I will give it a try over the weekend if I can and see if I get the same results
 Top of the page
Quote Reply
Jake Page Icon Posted 2021-02-25 4:40 PM
#
Avatar image of Jake
Moderator
H/PC Elder

Posts:
2,233
Location:
Choking on the stench of ambition in Washington DC
Status:
This is wonderful, I hadn't known about this. I've been tediously converting from csv to Psion Database, and running XTM/CPACK would greatly speed things up.

munchausen, would you minding posting your DRIVEA.DSK somewhere? I assume that's what I need after XTM is installed on Psion.

Many thanks,
Jake
 Top of the page
Quote Reply
munchausen Page Icon Posted 2021-02-25 10:12 PM
#
Avatar image of munchausen
Factor Fanatic

Posts:
74
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
Here it is, it's just a basic MS-DOS 6.22 boot disk. It has a redirection set up to make the c: in the emulator point at d:\xtm\hdd, so you want to make sure that directory exists. The download expires in a week. https://filebin.net/x5jl7irq6eopnc4w

Also note that XTM tends to drain batteries if you leave it running, so it's a good idea to exit if you aren't using it (see the documentation).

Edited by munchausen 2021-02-25 10:15 PM
 Top of the page
Quote Reply
munchausen Page Icon Posted 2021-02-25 10:42 PM
#
Avatar image of munchausen
Factor Fanatic

Posts:
74
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
I just tried app200. To get it to work just edit app200.bat and put "REM " in front of the lines "cg.com /Q" (lines 27 and 29) so afterwards they read "REM cg.com /Q". You can download a preinstalled version here BTW: https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B-GPxmpKVCV0c1p0ZnFmTEVNQjg
 Top of the page
Quote Reply
Jake Page Icon Posted 2021-02-25 11:38 PM
#
Avatar image of Jake
Moderator
H/PC Elder

Posts:
2,233
Location:
Choking on the stench of ambition in Washington DC
Status:
Many, many thanks, munchausen, both for the help and the speed of it.

I've got everything loaded, but the CPACK graphics are brutal. I'm looking through the manual and in the 200LX section, there's a reference to fn keys and Interrupt 5Fh, which seems to jiggle a lot of handles. Which buttons/command should I be using?

Again, much obliged for all your assistance,
Jake
 Top of the page
Quote Reply
munchausen Page Icon Posted 2021-02-26 9:58 AM
#
Avatar image of munchausen
Factor Fanatic

Posts:
74
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
Hmm, I'm not sure what do you mean about the graphics? It seems to work fine for me. I use fn+f for example to access the file menu, tab to move between fields etc. But I have not played with it much. I actually prefer my 1000CX that boots straight to DOS, so I never used the 200LX/100LX built in software very much.

It is a bit annoying with the keyboard driver. For example I wanted to play Commander Keen 4, and the performance seems acceptable, but the arrow keys don't work in game so you can't play it!

Edited by munchausen 2021-02-26 10:00 AM
 Top of the page
Quote Reply
Jake Page Icon Posted 2021-02-26 3:36 PM
#
Avatar image of Jake
Moderator
H/PC Elder

Posts:
2,233
Location:
Choking on the stench of ambition in Washington DC
Status:
I had tried a couple of DRIVEA.DSK's from DOS 3.3 to Dr. DOS 7.0 and munchausen's is definitely the best. A couple of caveats for Mako/US users of his DRIVEA.DSK: you have to edit the autoexec.bat and change keyboard from "uk" to "us" and in config.sys, you need to change his command that looks for a D: drive to "DEVICE=EPOCFS.SYS C:\XTM" since the Revo/Mako has no D:

As for CPACK, it's unusable so far. The fonts register as graphics so xtm's zoom feature won't work and the layout is far too tiny to read or get around on the Revo screen. The manual refers to certain DOS interrupts that can work with CPACK, perhaps allowing a larger font, but I've yet to figure them out.

Jake
 Top of the page
Quote Reply
munchausen Page Icon Posted 2021-02-26 7:04 PM
#
Avatar image of munchausen
Factor Fanatic

Posts:
74
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
Oh I didnt realise you were on a revo! That explains why the display is garbled! It does look absolutely fine on a 5mx. I havent played with a revo in a while, I could dig one out and have a look, though Im not sure they will still have functional batteries.
 Top of the page
Quote Reply
Jake Page Icon Posted 2021-02-26 8:08 PM
#
Avatar image of Jake
Moderator
H/PC Elder

Posts:
2,233
Location:
Choking on the stench of ambition in Washington DC
Status:
That'd be wonderful, I'd like to see if you can replicate the issues.

What I REALLY want is a way to batch convert *.csv files with PsiWin's Converter. It just seems stuck on one-at-a-time. When "My Psion" worked in earlier versions of Windows Explorer, it at least automatically converted as it copied files to Psion, albeit one-by-one, but no user prompt needed.

Java_Psion_Link doesn't do that, its only drawback.

Jake
 Top of the page
Quote Reply
munchausen Page Icon Posted 2021-02-26 8:40 PM
#
Avatar image of munchausen
Factor Fanatic

Posts:
74
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
I wonder if there is another way around that problem.. I'll have a think.

I find it a bit amusing btw that we are on an HPC forum discussing running HP handheld software, in a PC emulator, on a PSION. Heh
 Top of the page
Quote Reply
Jake Page Icon Posted 2021-02-26 8:48 PM
#
Avatar image of Jake
Moderator
H/PC Elder

Posts:
2,233
Location:
Choking on the stench of ambition in Washington DC
Status:
Well, just because the technology is backward doesn't mean we are

Jake
 Top of the page
Quote Reply
hpc:factor« View previous thread · EPOC / Symbian OS · View next thread »
Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.156 - Cached queries : 54 - Executed queries : 26
Server Time now is: Saturday, 17 April 2021 - 23:49