x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 

Latest Forum Activity

Jornada 6xx/7xx running NetBSD

ax0n Page Icon Posted 2021-06-08 3:46 PM
#
H/PC Newbie

I'm new here, but I've been using my Jornada with NetBSD since 2013 or so. I chose NetBSD because at the time, jLime and Debian installs I could find hadn't been updated in more than 5 years, while NetBSD is in active development and the base install has supported certain HPCs consistently for years, going back to at least 2006. I wanted a modern kernel and userland for some projects, and at the time, there were a great many 3rd party packages available for NetBSD. Not so much now for modern versions, however.

Preparing your Jornada for NetBSD is much like preparing it for jLime or Devuan. You must make at least 2 partitions on a compact flash card. This is most easily done on an existing Linux or BSD computer, or booting from a Live CD such as gParted. Note that the gParted program itself does not know about NetBSD partitions, so you will likely have to use the command-line fdisk tool to change the NetBSD partition to type A9.

Partition #1 will be a FAT32 partition (type 0B). It should be at the very least big enough for the NetBSD booter (~200kb), kernel (~2.5mb) and installer (~4mb). If you plan on installing over the network, you do not have to download all of the binary sets to the CF card. You may wish to leave extra room on the FAT32 partition for files you wish to share between NetBSD and Windows CE, or as a place to keep your Windows CE backups as well. I used a 16GB CF card and allocated 2GB of it to FAT32.

Partition #2 will be a NetBSD partition (type A9). This should fill the rest of the CF card.