x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

HP jornada 720 & Nokia d211

1 2 3 4 5
Albc Page Icon Posted 2021-10-12 10:04 PM
#
Avatar image of Albc
Subscribers
Factorite (Junior)

Posts:
44
Location:
Italy
Status:
Passed hours and hours on installing all the possible drivers for the WCF12 but no luck.
Installed the generic prism
Installed the WPC11 v3
Installed the compag WL100

I get in some case: card not recognised. In other cases prisma.exe not found.
What should i do?
Delete drivers with a registry editor? Where can i found these drivers?
Buy an Orinoco PCMCIA card and bypass the problem?
Many thanks
 Top of the page
Jake Page Icon Posted 2021-10-12 10:31 PM
#
Avatar image of Jake
Moderator
H/PC Elder

Posts:
2,332
Location:
Choking on the stench of ambition in Washington DC
Status:
Yes, for goodness sakes, get the Lucent Orinoco Gold and spare yourself further agony. Over the years, it's been the proven winner here. It has a great Client Manager, too.

Jake
 Top of the page
Albc Page Icon Posted 2021-10-15 9:11 PM
#
Avatar image of Albc
Subscribers
Factorite (Junior)

Posts:
44
Location:
Italy
Status:
Guys, got a Orinoco Agere Gold pc card classic for my HP Jornada 720, as by your suggestions.
Installed the driver "CE3_v7.82.881.zip" using active sync on the default position (windows! not the CF card otherwise it says "driver not loaded".
I have set a password free wifi hotspot on my android phone. the card sees it but how can i Connect to it?
many thanks to this beautiful group!

Edited by Albc 2021-10-15 9:53 PM
 Top of the page
Jake Page Icon Posted 2021-10-15 11:13 PM
#
Avatar image of Jake
Moderator
H/PC Elder

Posts:
2,332
Location:
Choking on the stench of ambition in Washington DC
Status:
Did you try the cabs I sent you? And are you using its Client Manager?

Jake
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2021-10-16 8:11 AM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
15,906
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
Jake, do you have drivers that we don't have for it?

I'm not certain why this is proving so unreliable for you Albc.
 Top of the page
Albc Page Icon Posted 2021-10-16 12:51 PM
#
Avatar image of Albc
Subscribers
Factorite (Junior)

Posts:
44
Location:
Italy
Status:
tried to install both, the ones sent by Jake and the ones downloaded from the HCL.
card recognised, driver loaded, it see all the networks available in my area (confirmed even by ministumbler). it sees the password free network of the android phone (iphone doesnt allow to set a password free hotspot).
i follow this path:
- tools --> edit wireles profiles --> select profile --> Add --> network type "Access point" --> next --> scan --> i see the android hotspot and i click on it --> ok --> next --> i dont enable data secuity flag --> card power management OFF --> FINISH --> OK

it goes back to the main window and i get
client: ready
network: searching
connection: empty
BS: empty
channel: 13
encryption: no encryption

if i go to advanced --> site monitor --> i see the android hotspot and i see the AP MAC address of the android phone

what is the problem in your opinion?
many thanks



Edited by Albc 2021-10-16 12:52 PM
 Top of the page
Jake Page Icon Posted 2021-10-16 1:25 PM
#
Avatar image of Jake
Moderator
H/PC Elder

Posts:
2,332
Location:
Choking on the stench of ambition in Washington DC
Status:
Chris, I think my drivers may be from cmonex's old site. Had she she hacked them? I can't remember. Then again, my drivers may be the same as the HCL's, but with different names. It's been so long, and I just use my HP-made backup for any restore, so I can't tell...

Alberto, I don't know what to say. None of your cards are working and it seems as if you've set them up properly. Have you tried the Orinoco with a 128-WEP router? And are you working with a factory reset of your J-720? But at this point, I'm just guessing.

EDIT: if you have an XP machine, you could try installing the desktop drivers for your cards and make certain the cards work there, at least.

Jake

Edited by Jake 2021-10-16 1:45 PM
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2021-10-16 1:49 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
15,906
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
It isn't impossible that the hotspot on your phone is just being incompatible with the device. I had a whole year once after Samsung updated my phone FW where I couldn't hotspot because the new FW just made it incompatible. Eventually changed my phone to a new Samsung and there was no problem.

Is there any route that you can try it with a different device? An old AP, your home AP, an iPhone (shudders).

Can you also try giving the wifi NIC a static IP address on the correct subnet and range on a known-safe IP so that we can ensure that there isn't a DHCP rejection issue.

Jake: I wasn't aware of any driver mods being made. To my knowledge Monika used the reference drivers from the CESD. Can you look at the strings table on the driver and see if there is any version info?
 Top of the page
Jake Page Icon Posted 2021-10-16 2:53 PM
#
Avatar image of Jake
Moderator
H/PC Elder

Posts:
2,332
Location:
Choking on the stench of ambition in Washington DC
Status:
Will do, Chris. Traveling now, but will look at them upon return.

Jake
 Top of the page
Albc Page Icon Posted 2021-10-16 4:59 PM
#
Avatar image of Albc
Subscribers
Factorite (Junior)

Posts:
44
Location:
Italy
Status:
Followed your advice. used my XP notebook to test my orinoco card.
installed the software. the card is well recognised and can see all the available networks in my area.
i have 3 possibilities, in terms of connection:
- a gemini pda hotspot, with android 7
- a samsung galaxy hotspot, with last available android
- a iphone hotspot, with ios 15.02

These are the results for my Orinoco:
- can see gemini hotspot but cannot connect on windows xp nor on hp jornada
- can't see samsung galaxy hotspot both on windows xp and hp jornada
- can see iphone hotspot but cannot connect on windows xp nor on hp jornada

On windows xp i can use the orinoco software to perform a check on the card and i get OK in every field.

So my results are: card orinoco works, but the problem are the phones (both iphone and androidS) hotspots.

Next step is trying to set up a 128WEP network. I should have an older wifi station that supports WEP128

Do you agree with my thoughts?


P.S. Guys i am not an informatic expert but i love playing with these vintage stuff (see my gemini pda phone
) and i am very very glad to be part of this wonderful site!!!! Hope to be helpful in the next future as you were with me!

Edited by Albc 2021-10-16 5:00 PM




(test orinoco windows xp.JPG)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments test orinoco windows xp.JPG (34KB - 0 downloads)
 Top of the page
Albc Page Icon Posted 2021-10-16 5:09 PM
#
Avatar image of Albc
Subscribers
Factorite (Junior)

Posts:
44
Location:
Italy
Status:
Hi Chris, how can i set up an hotspot on iphone, considering i cannot turn off security/passphrase?
What is the meaning of shutters? (Sorry for my bad english)
many thanks
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2021-10-16 5:11 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
15,906
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
From my perspective, my feeling has been that this should have worked for you a while ago, even on the previous D211, so I can well believe that my hypothesis is correct.

Even if you had to get yourself a legacy 802.11B/G access point to test with. The older firmware without all of the WPA2/3 generation patching I would hope will see you some positive news.

A quick look at eBay IT via shows a AP available for €5 with shipping.
 Top of the page
Albc Page Icon Posted 2021-10-16 7:53 PM
#
Avatar image of Albc
Subscribers
Factorite (Junior)

Posts:
44
Location:
Italy
Status:
I should have this, in some box:
https://eu.dlink.com/it/it/-/media/consumer_products/dwr/dwr-730/dat...

It says it has a WEP128 security package and 802.11 b/g

Maybe it could work. What is your opinion?
I would try hopefully tomorrow!
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2021-10-17 8:10 AM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
15,906
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
Try it
 Top of the page
Albc Page Icon Posted 2021-10-17 6:08 PM
#
Avatar image of Albc
Subscribers
Factorite (Junior)

Posts:
44
Location:
Italy
Status:
Guys, the portable mobile router (DLink 730) is recognised by the Jornada. It says:
Client: ready
Network: dlink_DWR-730
Connection: Excellent
BS: [78-32-1b-a8-dd-89]
Encryption: WEP encryption

I set up a WEP128 conncection i checked on other device it was able to connect to internet.
BUT
If i use VXUTIL i get a no success ping and actually cannot connect to google using PIE.
What should i do now?
Thanks
 Top of the page
hpc:factor« View previous thread · Hardware Support · View next thread »
1 2 3 4 5
Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.156 - Cached queries : 72 - Executed queries : 9
Server Time now is: Monday, 29 November 2021 - 17:31