x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

[REQ:USA] Philips Velo Memory

WallyB110 Page Icon Posted 2021-10-03 5:29 AM
#
Avatar image of WallyB110
Factor Fanatic

Posts:
72
Location:
United States
Status:
Im about to buy a Philips Velo 1 (I had one of these when they came out) with docking station, AC, Case etc. But it is a stock 4mb with Windows CE 1.0. I found someone online selling the Windows CE 2.0 ROM upgrade, but it doesnt include the 8mb ram upgrade that originally came with it. I didnt know if there was any Velo users of folks out there with any parts connections for these units. Thanks

:-)

-Walt

Also I found someone selling a Velo 500 for $25. May just have to bite on that too ;-)
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2021-10-03 10:30 AM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
15,837
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
I've edited your post title. Please read the posting rules
 Top of the page
WallyB110 Page Icon Posted 2021-10-06 11:26 PM
#
Avatar image of WallyB110
Factor Fanatic

Posts:
72
Location:
United States
Status:
Hey there folks ! Look what I found on Ebay !



But i dont need the CE 2.0 card, I need the 8mb Ram module.

Hope this helps some of yall out

-Walt
 Top of the page
WallyB110 Page Icon Posted 2021-10-07 2:14 AM
#
Avatar image of WallyB110
Factor Fanatic

Posts:
72
Location:
United States
Status:
I cant seem to get this guy to sell a single CE 2.0 rom. If anyone on here purchases this and is willing to sell one, please let me know. Thanks

-Walt
 Top of the page
WallyB110 Page Icon Posted 2021-10-12 8:42 PM
#
Avatar image of WallyB110
Factor Fanatic

Posts:
72
Location:
United States
Status:
I found a place (not sure if they still stock this still)

https://www.biocomp.net/o33983.htm

CE 2.0 + 4mb Ram

https://www.biocomp.net/o33710.htm

PCMCIA unit



2mb Ram card



^ Would this ram work ? Looks the same.

https://www.servers4less.com/memory/flash/cisco-mem1700-4mfc

or this ^



^ $18 ! for the 8mb. If this memory is indeed compatible with the Velo.
 Top of the page
WallyB110 Page Icon Posted 2021-10-13 2:12 PM
#
Avatar image of WallyB110
Factor Fanatic

Posts:
72
Location:
United States
Status:
What ive found is this. The link for the 2mb Ram module, it is a 3.3v/5v card. The server ram modules ive found in 4-16mb size are 5v. So they are the same form factor, but I do NOT know if these are capable of running @ 3.3v (as it does not say on the label). Im debating buying a 4mb one for $5 and trying it. Ill let yall know if I do that.

-Walt B



^ 4mb @ $5
 Top of the page
WallyB110 Page Icon Posted 2021-10-13 5:19 PM
#
Avatar image of WallyB110
Factor Fanatic

Posts:
72
Location:
United States
Status:
I ordered a 4mb module to try. Says 5v, but im reading these are backwards to 3.3v. I did find the older series for the 800 series Cisco routers are 3.3v. But they are about 2x the price. So I will let yall know if this 4mb unit that comes works. If not the worst case scenario for Velo users is about $40 for a 8mb 3.3v card.

-Walt B
 Top of the page
WallyB110 Page Icon Posted 2021-10-16 5:02 PM
#
Avatar image of WallyB110
Factor Fanatic

Posts:
72
Location:
United States
Status:
Well got a message and refund from the guy I bought this 4mb card to test from. He wont be back in the country til Nov. So back to the drawing board. I found a $22 card that has a pic of a palmtop on it, so I may order that today. I dunno. LOL!

-Walt B
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2021-10-16 5:12 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
15,837
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
I have no idea if any of this will work, but if it does (or doesn't), it will be really useful to know for the HCL.
Good luck!
 Top of the page
WallyB110 Page Icon Posted 2021-10-25 4:41 PM
#
Avatar image of WallyB110
Factor Fanatic

Posts:
72
Location:
United States
Status:
No luck on any of the ram. Everyone I order it thru either doesnt have it instock anymore or they want like $50 for a 2mb ram. I dunno stinks to say, but I might sell my Velo 1 w/ the Dock, AC, manuals etc. Without CE 2.0 on the unit there is very very little i can do with it. Lemmi know if anyone is looking for a Velo 1. Ill put the money from this sale towards a 680 or 720.

:-)

-Walt B
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2021-10-25 5:55 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
15,837
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
It is the perennial problem with CE 1 devices. They just were not all that useful for a multitude of reasons.
 Top of the page
hpc:factor« View previous thread · hpcBay (For Sale, Trades & Requests) · View next thread »
Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.25 - Cached queries : 49 - Executed queries : 28
Server Time now is: Tuesday, 26 October 2021 - 20:11