x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 

Latest Forum Activity

Retro Dev Tools

cgallaty Page Icon Posted 2021-10-14 10:45 PM
#
Factorite (Junior)

Hello, just getting back into the CE dev scene. I did some work on Symbol and Falcon scanners back in the day. Recently I managed to score an HP 320LX so I figured I would mess with it again..... with a twist. A bit back I started playing with writing my own dev tools, from scratch. I started with an assembler and 6502. I was going to work my way up the chain (Z80, etc) but then jumped up to playing with ARM and Thumb as I wanted to compile direct for a Raspberry Pi Pico. I picked up the 320LX as it seemed like an easy way to test getting an SH3 assembler stood up. I had the ELF code started for the Pi and the EF2 code started for the Nano, I figure the PE code for EXEs and DLLs is not that far off.

This is mostly for fun. I do think it would be fun to have a way to cut code for older systems in a 'timeless' tool. I started this in Java and I'm playing with an IDE of sorts in Swing. If .Net Core ever gets serious about cross platform GUI I may port some stuff over there. Good to see there is still a crowd out here playing with this stuff. Is anyone else here mucking at the lower levels of the stack on this stuff?
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2021-10-15 8:56 AM
#
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Hi cgallaty,

That's some very cool stuff you're doing there. Lower level than I dare tread, but very impressive none the less. Are you publishing work-in progress to GitHub for others to check out what you are doing?
 Top of the page
cgallaty Page Icon Posted 2021-10-15 2:55 PM
#
Factorite (Junior)