x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

[REQ:<World Wide>] Nec Mobilepro 450

1 2
WallyB110 Page Icon Posted 2021-11-10 3:18 AM
#
Avatar image of WallyB110
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
249
Location:
United States
Status:
Hey there folks. Been searching for one of these for a LOOOONG time.

Mobilepro 450
Windows CE 2.0
33mhz Mips
4mb ram



I almost bought one of these when NEC cut the prices on them right before they stopped selling them, but I waited too long and they were sold out when I went to order it. I have not seen one on ebay, the 400 comes up and the earlier models. But the 450 had a backlight and CE 2.0. I dont buy palmtops without backlights as you all probably know by now ;-)

Didnt know if anyone might have one for sale or trade or point me in the right direction

Thanks

-Walt B
 Top of the page
stingraze Page Icon Posted 2021-11-10 3:58 AM
#
Avatar image of stingraze
Writing Team
H/PC Vanguard

Posts:
2,874
Location:
Japan
Status:
lol. I think I took that picture!
I recognize my Vaio Z on the left...

That's a Mobile Pro 400 by the way.
 Top of the page
WallyB110 Page Icon Posted 2021-11-10 4:03 AM
#
Avatar image of WallyB110
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
249
Location:
United States
Status:
Yeah after I looked at the photo I saw it was a 400, but I couldnt find a picture of a 450 other than a pic that showed a 450 next to a Libretto. So I just stuck with the 400 pic.



^ 450

Haha funny its a pic you took ! lol small world isnt it.

-Walt B

Found someone selling a 450 in box on ebay but they want $175. Thats too much. Id be willing to cough up $75-100 for one but no more than that, especially if it doesnt come with CE 2.0

https://www.ebay.com/itm/373782537631?hash=item57072ce59f:g:3w8AAOSw...
 Top of the page
stingraze Page Icon Posted 2021-11-10 4:32 AM
#
Avatar image of stingraze
Writing Team
H/PC Vanguard

Posts:
2,874
Location:
Japan
Status:
Quote
WallyB110 - 2021-11-10 1:03 PM

Haha funny its a pic you took ! lol small world isnt it.

-Walt B

Found someone selling a 450 in box on ebay but they want $175. Thats too much. Id be willing to cough up $75-100 for one but no more than that, especially if it doesnt come with CE 2.0

https://www.ebay.com/itm/373782537631?hash=item57072ce59f:g:3w8AAOSw...


Yeah, small world it is!

$175.00! Collectors these days are willing to pay that much?

Edited by stingraze 2021-11-10 4:32 AM
 Top of the page
WallyB110 Page Icon Posted 2021-11-10 5:21 AM
#
Avatar image of WallyB110
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
249
Location:
United States
Status:
If it had CE 2.0 id offer him $100 just to have everything that came with the unit, box, cables etc. But even then I think thats too much.

I mean I got a Sharp 4000 for less than what hes asking for this and the Sharp is 2x the speed. Ill keep looking and if anyone spots one at a fair deal plz let me know. ;-)

-Walt B
 Top of the page
WallyB110 Page Icon Posted 2021-11-19 6:17 PM
#
Avatar image of WallyB110
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
249
Location:
United States
Status:
So I am about to buy the 450. But it does no include the 2.0 upgrade. So i am def in search of the CE 2.0 updates for the CompaQ/Casio C140 and A-11. And the Velo 1 i need a 8mb ram upgrade and this NEC 450. So thats a lot to sit on and wait to find the peices I need to get everything at least to 2.0.

I am loving this Sharp HC-4000 tho ;-).

-Walt B

Edited by WallyB110 2021-11-19 6:18 PM
 Top of the page
WallyB110 Page Icon Posted 2021-11-20 12:35 AM
#
Avatar image of WallyB110
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
249
Location:
United States
Status:
Debating on the 450 for sale (Guy said he'd take $100). It has everything (Box, AC, Serial, Manuals, CDs) but no 2.0 rom upgrade :-(

Already got my Velo for sale because I cant get the ram card for it, also still searching for a 2.0 rom for Casio A-11 and if I add this to the list, now I need 3 different rom modules lol.

-Walt B

I did bid on a Jornada 720 ($130). Also bid on a Sharp HC-4600 ($40).



Edited by WallyB110 2021-11-20 12:36 AM
 Top of the page
WallyB110 Page Icon Posted 2021-11-20 9:22 PM
#
Avatar image of WallyB110
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
249
Location:
United States
Status:
Well I was outbid on the other two units (by a bit lol!). So I bought the NEC 450. Ahhh yes i just added a 3rd Palmtop to my growing list of need to find Roms haha.

-Walt B

Ill post pics when it arrives
 Top of the page
WallyB110 Page Icon Posted 2021-11-21 2:20 PM
#
Avatar image of WallyB110
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
249
Location:
United States
Status:
Only issue with this 450, it includes everything but the serial cable sadly. Im not sure if the serial cable for later Nec mobilepros fits the 450 ? Not sure. Anywhoo if any can or may have one for sale or trade plz let me know ;-)

-Walt B
 Top of the page
WallyB110 Page Icon Posted 2021-11-25 3:06 PM
#
Avatar image of WallyB110
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
249
Location:
United States
Status:





Here are pics of the unit. Hopefully i have it early next week ;-)
Was a little over $100 shipped.

-Walt B

Still need to find that serial cable for the NEC. Not having much luck finding one anywhere.


Edited by WallyB110 2021-11-25 7:00 PM
 Top of the page
stingraze Page Icon Posted 2021-11-26 2:13 AM
#
Avatar image of stingraze
Writing Team
H/PC Vanguard

Posts:
2,874
Location:
Japan
Status:
Congratulations!

Which serial cable for NEC are you finding?

I have one for Sigmarion 1 / 2 and NEC Mobile Pro series. (new)
If you are interested, PM me.
 Top of the page
WallyB110 Page Icon Posted 2021-11-29 2:27 AM
#
Avatar image of WallyB110
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
249
Location:
United States
Status:
Its out for delivery tomorrow !! Woot ! :-)

-Walt B
 Top of the page
Rich Hawley Page Icon Posted 2021-11-29 12:04 PM
#
Avatar image of Rich Hawley
Global Moderator
H/PC Guru

Posts:
7,081
Location:
USA
Status:
Pretty sure it is just a standard DB9 serial cable...you know...the old null modem type...
 Top of the page
ken680428 Page Icon Posted 2021-11-29 3:08 PM
#
Avatar image of ken680428
Subscribers
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
15
Location:
Canada
Status:
Try your Casio A10/A11/C120/C140 serial cable. I bought a overpriced cable for the NEC Mobile Pro series and it works fine with my Compaq C140 4MB CE 2.0 Handheld PC.
 Top of the page
WallyB110 Page Icon Posted 2021-11-29 5:41 PM
#
Avatar image of WallyB110
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
249
Location:
United States
Status:
Hmmm.. looking at the pics it doesnt look like the same connector. It should be here pretty soon.

Ill try that and ill send pics etc.

Thanks everyone, greatly appreciated. Im happy to finally have a 450!!! Id always wanted one of these. Hope I can find the Rom upgrade down the road.

-Walt B
 Top of the page
hpc:factor« View previous thread · hpcBay (For Sale, Trades & Requests) · View next thread »
1 2
Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.156 - Cached queries : 54 - Executed queries : 26
Server Time now is: Sunday, 5 December 2021 - 14:30