x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

CE5 Platform Builder from HPCFactor not working

1 2
I dunk for bananas Page Icon Posted 2022-11-04 8:59 PM
#
Avatar image of I dunk for bananas
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
169
Location:
Europe
Status:
Uninstalled CE6 platform builder and it's still the same thing, gets up until the part where it registers platform manager, then it rolls everything back and gives a "wizard was interrupted" error, hmm..
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2022-11-05 7:56 AM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
16,838
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
You'll have to get the logs from the installer and see what the issue is
 Top of the page
I dunk for bananas Page Icon Posted 2022-11-06 7:03 PM
#
Avatar image of I dunk for bananas
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
169
Location:
Europe
Status:
I'm letting it run again right now with verbose logging, perhaps you'd like to see the log file afterwards? It's somewhat daunting since it's so large and it's not clear what the actual error is
 Top of the page
I dunk for bananas Page Icon Posted 2022-11-06 7:30 PM
#
Avatar image of I dunk for bananas
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
169
Location:
Europe
Status:
Here's the log file, I'd really appreciate if you could take a look in case you have the time, personally I just can't tell what's wrong

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1hwg9kuRFMZUrA2WfTGu7HGBTr_sfF2cg/vi...

Edited by I dunk for bananas 2022-11-06 7:32 PM
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2022-11-06 7:46 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
16,838
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
Did you run the installer as an elevated administrator?
 Top of the page
I dunk for bananas Page Icon Posted 2022-11-06 7:58 PM
#
Avatar image of I dunk for bananas
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
169
Location:
Europe
Status:
Quote
C:Amie - 2022-11-06 7:46 PM

Did you run the installer as an elevated administrator?


I ran it from an administrator account under Windows XP, so I believe so, yeah
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2022-11-07 8:20 AM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
16,838
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
It is aware that platform manager is already installed, which may not be helping

Try disabling rollback
https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/win32/msi/disablerollback
 Top of the page
I dunk for bananas Page Icon Posted 2022-11-07 1:57 PM
#
Avatar image of I dunk for bananas
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
169
Location:
Europe
Status:
It worked! The installer froze and the PC crashed at the very end but it's all installed. For some reason it's telling me that me 120 day trial has expired, even though this is the first day in my life that I'm opening it :|

Edited by I dunk for bananas 2022-11-07 2:09 PM
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2022-11-07 2:30 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
16,838
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
It has either seen the newer PB version or is time bombed.
 Top of the page
I dunk for bananas Page Icon Posted 2022-11-07 2:31 PM
#
Avatar image of I dunk for bananas
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
169
Location:
Europe
Status:
It's not letting me uninstall PB5 either, and right clicking on the installer and selecting "uninstall" leads to it telling me that that option is only for software that is already installed. I guess reinstalling Windows might be a good idea?
 Top of the page
I dunk for bananas Page Icon Posted 2022-11-07 2:42 PM
#
Avatar image of I dunk for bananas
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
169
Location:
Europe
Status:
I'm doing it, reinstalling Windows
 Top of the page
I dunk for bananas Page Icon Posted 2022-11-07 2:51 PM
#
Avatar image of I dunk for bananas
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
169
Location:
Europe
Status:
Never mind, the computer keeps randomly shutting off. I guess I'll try it again later, maybe I'll have found a way to reset the trial period
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2022-11-07 3:27 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
16,838
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
Just roll the system clock back. This would all be easier in a VM.
 Top of the page
I dunk for bananas Page Icon Posted 2022-11-07 3:32 PM
#
Avatar image of I dunk for bananas
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
169
Location:
Europe
Status:
Quote
C:Amie - 2022-11-07 3:27 PM

Just roll the system clock back. This would all be easier in a VM.


I tried to, I even set it back a year, two, and 22 years, but it didn't change anything sadly
I suppose resetting the trial won't be as easy as changing a registry key?

Edited by I dunk for bananas 2022-11-07 3:38 PM
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2022-11-07 4:50 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
16,838
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
No you'll have to manipulate the clock before installing. It will be flagged in the registry - probably encrypted - but I have no idea where and no inclination to research it.
 Top of the page
1 2
Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.140 - Cached queries : 73 - Executed queries : 8
Server Time now is: Sunday, 4 December 2022 - 18:34