x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

NetBSD on NEC MobilePro 790 - Install Issue

« Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... Next »
ArchiMark Page Icon Posted 2022-12-23 4:08 AM
#
Avatar image of ArchiMark
Subscribers
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,201
Location:
Silicon Valley
Status:
Quote
thenzero - 2022-12-22 6:05 PM

That's fine- it doesn't matter exactly where they are as long as it matches up to where you tell the installer.

So for example if you put them in the root instead of in "sets/" and mount at "/mnt" then you would just specify

base = "/mnt"
binary = ""


Thanks, understand now.

Had to do some other things for a while, but back at it now...

Will report back after next attempt....
 Top of the page
ArchiMark Page Icon Posted 2022-12-23 4:52 AM
#
Avatar image of ArchiMark
Subscribers
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,201
Location:
Silicon Valley
Status:
Unfortunately, as soon as start the install process, it gives me the same error as before:

RELEASE set kern-GENERIC.tgz does not exist

Don't understand why it looks for this....it's not one of the files downloaded from NetBSD.

I have file you mentioned 'netbsd-GENERIC' in Internal Flash ROM, not on the CF card. But that's a different name and it is for using after you have installed NetBSD.

So, why do I always get this error message?????

Thanks.
_____________________________________________________________________

Well, am I stupid or what????

I looked in the NetBSD MIPS files again and I finally noticed the 'kern-GENERIC.tgz' file!!!!

Somehow was thinking this file was same as 'netbsd-GENERIC' file.....so, didn't look for the kern-GENERIC file to download....

Downloaded it and put it on CF card with all the other files.

Must have borked something with all the aborted install attemps....when I started install sets, it started the preparatory steps....now seems to be stuck on fsck.......it's been more than several minutes and the 790 right hand indicator light is blinking orange...

yikes.......

Sigh.....





Edited by ArchiMark 2022-12-23 5:29 AM
 Top of the page
ArchiMark Page Icon Posted 2022-12-23 5:53 AM
#
Avatar image of ArchiMark
Subscribers
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,201
Location:
Silicon Valley
Status:
Well, I'm nothing if not persistent.......

Got drive back in shape and then started sets install again and this time VOILA!

Installer started installing kern-GENERIC....



Onward & Upward.....

Thanks again for all your great help....would not have gotten this far without it!

Will report back tomorrow after I finish install with results.....

 Top of the page
thenzero Page Icon Posted 2022-12-23 5:56 AM
#
Avatar image of thenzero
Subscribers
H/PC Elite

Posts:
749
Location:
United States
Status:
Dang that's great news!! FYI, after I finished installing 7.1.2 I couldn't get X to run at all and I've read that suspend/resume are broken (after 4?) so I installed 4. I wasn't sure where you were in the process so I took photos of every screen as I went. In case you need a reference, they are here:

https://thenzerogames.com/netbsd/


Edited by thenzero 2022-12-23 6:01 AM
 Top of the page
ArchiMark Page Icon Posted 2022-12-23 6:18 PM
#
Avatar image of ArchiMark
Subscribers
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,201
Location:
Silicon Valley
Status:
Yes, was going nutz over this process.....knew it had to be something simple that I was missing....

It was late last night when I finished install, but I was half asleep by then and think I may have missed a step near the end...saw message it was finished and to restart....I did and got back to WinCE.....and turned off 790 and went to sleep....

Will pick it up again later today....we'll see how it goes...

But if X doesn't work, I'll go back to 4 too...

Thanks for the pics too!
 Top of the page
ArchiMark Page Icon Posted 2022-12-23 9:00 PM
#
Avatar image of ArchiMark
Subscribers
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,201
Location:
Silicon Valley
Status:
FYI, regarding v.7.1......

Guy on Reddit said X might work, but some issues to sort out....

https://www.reddit.com/r/OldHandhelds/comments/yd7dco/nec_mobilepro_790_running_netbsd/

Another post about 7.1 / install....

https://muc.lists.netbsd.port.mips.narkive.com/x20WJPH2/ibm-workpad-z50

And one about 9.1.....

https://muc.lists.netbsd.port.mips.narkive.com/dN5VW08d/install-on-nec-mobilepro-780

Thought these might be interesting to read....


 Top of the page
thenzero Page Icon Posted 2022-12-23 9:20 PM
#
Avatar image of thenzero
Subscribers
H/PC Elite

Posts:
749
Location:
United States
Status:
Great links!

Sounds like that first guy couldn't get X running either. I wonder if it's a config issue or a driver thing.

EDIT: Haha that last link is my post...

Edited by thenzero 2022-12-23 9:21 PM
 Top of the page
ArchiMark Page Icon Posted 2022-12-23 10:27 PM
#
Avatar image of ArchiMark
Subscribers
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,201
Location:
Silicon Valley
Status:
Did you read all of his posts in the thread?.....

Later on he says he's trying to get it working, but doesn't specify what the issue(s) is....

Also, says he's working on getting newer version of NetBSD working....

And yeah, that guy that posted about 7.1 is pretty sharp.....

 Top of the page
thenzero Page Icon Posted 2022-12-23 10:29 PM
#
Avatar image of thenzero
Subscribers
H/PC Elite

Posts:
749
Location:
United States
Status:
Quote
ArchiMark - 2022-12-23 10:27 PM

Did you read all of his posts in the thread?.....

Later on he says he's trying to get it working, but doesn't specify what the issue(s) is....



Ohh, no I didn't. I'm reddit deficient apparently. It only showed maybe 7 comments and I thought that was it. Can't seem to figure out how to show them all. Do I have to log in or something? I don't really use reddit
 Top of the page
ArchiMark Page Icon Posted 2022-12-23 11:27 PM
#
Avatar image of ArchiMark
Subscribers
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,201
Location:
Silicon Valley
Status:
It's much longer thread.....more than one page worth....

I'm logged in.....but when I look near bottom of page, there's a link in blue-green color that says "Continue this thread ->".....that will show you the rest of the posts.....

I don't use reddit much either......I don't like how it works as compared to this type of forum structure....also, think the pages look way too busy for my ol' eyes....

 Top of the page
thenzero Page Icon Posted 2022-12-24 12:37 AM
#
Avatar image of thenzero
Subscribers
H/PC Elite

Posts:
749
Location:
United States
Status:
Ha! OK thanks for the tip. Told ya I'm reddit deficient. lol!

How's your NetBSD running?
 Top of the page
ArchiMark Page Icon Posted 2022-12-24 2:30 AM
#
Avatar image of ArchiMark
Subscribers
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,201
Location:
Silicon Valley
Status:
Was busy with other tasks today....

Just tried booting 7.1.2 using the netbsd-GENERIC file.

Progress bar got about 95% after waiting about 10 minutes, I realized it was hung.....

Clicked cancel and got an Error message window that said:

Application HPCBOOT.EXE performed an illegal operation and will be shut down. If problem persists, contact the program vendor.

Program: HPCBOOT

Exception: 0xc0000005

Address: 00012fb4


Think this relates to install not happening right or is it just issue with trying to use 7.1.2 or ????

Should I just try and install v.4 ?

Thanks.
 Top of the page
thenzero Page Icon Posted 2022-12-24 3:28 AM
#
Avatar image of thenzero
Subscribers
H/PC Elite

Posts:
749
Location:
United States
Status:
I think I would just restart the device (with the reset button) and try again.

If you already did that, I guess just check a couple silly things like that you're using netbsd-GENERIC from the version you installed etc.

If none of that gets you booting, as a temporary thing, switch back to the installer and see if you can get back to the installer shell. From there you can mount your new install and copy the kernel from there to your internal flash ROM as a last resort...

OR you can just try installing version 4 if you just want to get a working netBSD to play with
 Top of the page
ArchiMark Page Icon Posted 2022-12-24 5:30 AM
#
Avatar image of ArchiMark
Subscribers
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,201
Location:
Silicon Valley
Status:
Thanks, doing a reset did the trick....it booted up and then asked me for root device....fortunately I entered the right choice....

I have not edited /etc/rc.conf yet. Got message about it. See photo.

Tried to edit it with vi, but got message that system is read only.

Sigh.....

Sounds like I should install v.4 and get on with it.....

 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2022-12-24 9:41 AM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
18,042
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
Mark,

I wonder. Once you've got an this sorted out, would you consider writing a guide, with screenshots on how to do this. With tips and lessons learned along the way. Either for here on the forum or we can publish it/them in the support section?

 Top of the page
« Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... Next »
Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.218 - Cached queries : 73 - Executed queries : 8