x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

display kanji characters in programs?

1 2
torch Page Icon Posted 2023-02-06 11:19 PM
#
Avatar image of torch
Subscribers
H/PC Guru

Posts:
5,722
Location:
United States 
Status:
Our own watamario15 created this program
I know the source is evc4 but maybe it can be modified to work on ce 3.0

https://www.hpcfactor.com/scl/1225/watamario15/KN_Memopad/version_v0...

Edited by torch 2023-02-06 11:26 PM
 Top of the page
thenzero Page Icon Posted 2023-02-07 1:21 AM
#
Avatar image of thenzero
Subscribers
H/PC Elite

Posts:
746
Location:
United States
Status:
Oh OK. Is it like inkbook? I'll give it a try.
 Top of the page
torch Page Icon Posted 2023-02-07 4:03 AM
#
Avatar image of torch
Subscribers
H/PC Guru

Posts:
5,722
Location:
United States 
Status:
Well. Don’t do work compiling it just yet. Let me try both to see and I’ll let you know haha.
 Top of the page
AximUser Page Icon Posted 2023-02-24 8:34 PM
#
Avatar image of AximUser
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
102
Location:
Canada
Status:
I can't remember how I set up Japanese but it wasn't that hard. I think links below get you there, or close.

I run WM 6.1 with English O/S and Japanese programs. This is a Dell Axim x51v and it runs perfectly. Microsoft did an incredible job with Japanese character display and handwriting recognition; top-notch, even today.

Flashing the device can brick it, so make sure the battery is fully charged, device is plugged in, you understand exactly what your plan is.

For WM 6.1 ROMs, I use "A02 (Dynamite)" on the x51v. I tried several other ROMs and most were pretty good a few didn't work. But this was the fastest, most stable, and had the features I use most. I think WM2003 won't run both languages and WM5 is buggy. The v.6.5 ROMs worked but there was some performance issues that I can't recall (maybe speed and some bugs?). Different devices will require different ROMs and some HPCs will not run WM6.1.

On my Axim SD card, I see some Japanese CAB files stored (can't remember if this list is complete or correct):

LetsJapanNo5x
IME_31J_F
2_Enable_IME_2
2_Enable_IME_3

The first two are Asukal's display & input CABs, respectively. I think there may be slightly updated versions.

I used xda-developers & Aximsite for setup tips. These threads get you started (FYI - x50v is slightly different from x51v so ROM is different):

https://web.archive.org/web/20090618010134/http://my.opera.com/camer...
https://www.japaneselanguagetools.com/docs/EngOS.html
https://forum.xda-developers.com/t/chinese-or-japanese-encoding-on-w...

If your HPC has a Japanese O/S, here is some translation help (screen shots of identical English & Japanese windows)
https://www.japaneselanguagetools.com/docs/system.html

IMHO - A higher definition screen helps with the kanji (I use the Dell x51v with 480x640).

The x51v is pretty good overall. There is a defective battery door switch you can soldier bridge. It seems OK when the battery fully drains. The screen is good and the digitizer is superb. Looking at contemporary White Papers, you MIGHT get faster reads with the CF Card but I don't see any documentation. Also the CF Card will consume more power.

The Japanese program I principally use is EBPocket Pro (EPWING dictionary). The free version works fine but the Pro version has better search features.

Hope this helps!

Edited by AximUser 2023-02-24 8:36 PM
 Top of the page
thenzero Page Icon Posted 2023-02-24 11:27 PM
#
Avatar image of thenzero
Subscribers
H/PC Elite

Posts:
746
Location:
United States
Status:
Thank you. I have NEC MobilePro 780/790 and a few devices in the Jornada family, all with either WinCE 2.11 or 3.0 so I don't think this applies.
 Top of the page
AximUser Page Icon Posted 2023-02-25 12:26 AM
#
Avatar image of AximUser
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
102
Location:
Canada
Status:
I can't help you with WinCe 3.0, unfortunately.

- 6.1 - Japanese support with English OS. This may be the "optimal" OS for this purpose.
- 5.0 - Auskal seemed to get Japanese support with English OS (see the XDA link above)
- 4.0 - I thought perfect Japanese support required Japanese OS
 Top of the page
thenzero Page Icon Posted 2023-02-25 12:34 AM
#
Avatar image of thenzero
Subscribers
H/PC Elite

Posts:
746
Location:
United States
Status:
Thanks @AximUser. It seems like I'm out of luck at this point
 Top of the page
torch Page Icon Posted 2023-02-25 5:32 AM
#
Avatar image of torch
Subscribers
H/PC Guru

Posts:
5,722
Location:
United States 
Status:
thenzero - 2023-02-24 5:34 PM


Thanks @AximUser. It seems like I'm out of luck at this point

I think you and I should team up and find a Japanese device for our next H/PC !!
 Top of the page
AximUser Page Icon Posted 2023-02-25 10:20 AM
#
Avatar image of AximUser
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
102
Location:
Canada
Status:
It seems people were able to get 2.0 or 3.0 English OS to display Japanese. Japanese input takes a bit more work. . .

"How to Read and Input Japanese on a non Japanese PocketPC"
https://web.archive.org/web/20051216070629/http://discussion.brighth...

"VIEW and READ Japanese on your English PPC"
https://blog.greggman.com/blog/studying_japanese_with_wince/#comment...

Interesting posting but the comments have some real help (source of above comment)
https://blog.greggman.com/blog/studying_japanese_with_wince/

"How to Japanize your WinCE H/PC or PalmPC (tested on CE 2.0, Velo 500)"
https://web.archive.org/web/20040529112109/http://ftp.monash.edu.au/...

This is mostly people studying Japanese c.2000 looking for portable dictionaries. English CE devices didn't have Japanese support. And there was memory size limitations for the big dictionaries. And the dedicated "Japanese electronic dictionary hardware" did not have Kanji writing input support yet.

EDITED: First link now works beyond the first page.

Edited by AximUser 2023-02-25 10:32 AM
 Top of the page
thenzero Page Icon Posted 2023-02-26 5:28 AM
#
Avatar image of thenzero
Subscribers
H/PC Elite

Posts:
746
Location:
United States
Status:
Wow, great. I will look through these and see what I can do. Thank you.
 Top of the page
AximUser Page Icon Posted 2023-02-26 8:17 AM
#
Avatar image of AximUser
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
102
Location:
Canada
Status:
Keep us updated.

FYI - One general trip up with Japanese-English Windows devices relates to device region. If Japan is defined, we might see unicode character swaps like \ to "the yen sign" ¥ , which render tools like PowerShell and CMD. useless. The Windows 10 fix is to change device region to English (United States) and restart. After finishing the CMD work, I change region back to Japan and restart. This quirk still happens on W10 today (although there may be a beta patch). I'm pretty sure I saw that problem in WM5 and WM6 too.

Edited by AximUser 2023-02-26 8:22 AM
 Top of the page
watamario15 Page Icon Posted 2023-02-26 3:41 PM
#
Avatar image of watamario15
Factorite (Senior)

Posts:
85
Location:
Japan
Status:
AximUser - 2023-02-26 4:17 PM


Keep us updated.

FYI - One general trip up with Japanese-English Windows devices relates to device region. If Japan is defined, we might see unicode character swaps like \ to "the yen sign" ¥ , which render tools like PowerShell and CMD. useless. The Windows 10 fix is to change device region to English (United States) and restart. After finishing the CMD work, I change region back to Japan and restart. This quirk still happens on W10 today (although there may be a beta patch). I'm pretty sure I saw that problem in WM5 and WM6 too.


Well, it's not a region issue, it's a font issue. In old Japanese charsets (JIS or whatever), 5C, which is a backslash in ASCII, was the JPY character. Most newer Japanese fonts still map the backslash code point to the JPY character to maintain compatibility. So simply switching to an English font should fix your problem.

FYI: Most Japanese people see backslashes as JPY characters even in source code, especially but not limited to Windows. This causes problems for novice programmers who insist that they can't type a backslash or a JPY character depending on their font. Then yeah, I often refer to \n, which is a newline in most programming languages, as "Yen N".
 Top of the page
AximUser Page Icon Posted 2023-02-26 4:11 PM
#
Avatar image of AximUser
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
102
Location:
Canada
Status:
Indeed, it is an interesting font issue. And just keeps popping up.

watamario15 - 2023-02-26 3:41 PM
Then yeah, I often refer to \n, which is a newline in most programming languages, as "Yen N".

hehehe
 Top of the page
1 2
Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.218 - Cached queries : 68 - Executed queries : 11