x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

TOSHIBA Satellite Pro 4600

« 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... Next »
NarakuITA Page Icon Posted 2024-01-26 11:02 PM
#
Avatar image of NarakuITA
Subscribers
H/PC Elite

Posts:
703
Location:
Italy
Status:
Hello everyone. I wanted to ask for help regarding this laptop.
I decided to buy this jewel on ebay, it is fully functional and now I would like to install a Compact Flash to speed it up a bit. I was wondering what adapter is needed, what should I buy?
I already have one of the CF, but I don't know how to connect it.
 Top of the page
AximUser Page Icon Posted 2024-01-27 3:05 AM
#
Avatar image of AximUser
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
102
Location:
Canada
Status:
I thought there were several 4600 models with a variety of configs. I've owned a few and they were always much better than I expected. Great laptops.

Some had an optional PCMCIA slot on the side as an option, so you might find an adapter for compact flash (check the physical size!)

Also, there might be an internal mini PCI slot; you might find an SDcard adapter that works. Not sure if a compact flash adapter would fit.

https://archive.org/details/toshiba-service-manual-satellite-pro-460...

Edited by AximUser 2024-01-27 3:07 AM
 Top of the page
stingraze Page Icon Posted 2024-01-27 7:16 AM
#
Avatar image of stingraze
Subscribers
H/PC Vanguard

Posts:
3,677
Location:
Japan
Status:
It might be that there is a IDE connector inside, so have a IDE to CF adapter and stick it in there. I think you need to somehow place it together, maybe with a good double sided tape etc.

Search for "IDE to CF mod for laptop".

-stingraze
 Top of the page
NarakuITA Page Icon Posted 2024-01-27 10:59 AM
#
Avatar image of NarakuITA
Subscribers
H/PC Elite

Posts:
703
Location:
Italy
Status:
As soon as it arrives, I'll check and let you know.
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2024-01-27 11:29 AM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
17,976
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
Photos of the ports, slots and insides would be useful.

Either an or is most likely. Anything else and it is unlikely to be bootable.
 Top of the page
NarakuITA Page Icon Posted 2024-01-30 1:47 PM
#
Avatar image of NarakuITA
Subscribers
H/PC Elite

Posts:
703
Location:
Italy
Status:
The laptop has arrived. Here are the photos requested.





I assume it takes this adapter, but there is a problem, if I counted correctly, this laptop only has 43 pins. One is factory blocked.
I can't find a 43 pin adapter...

 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2024-01-30 3:26 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
17,976
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
The four pin cluster out on the side are jumper pins. Nothing to do with the IDE connection.
 Top of the page
stingraze Page Icon Posted 2024-01-30 3:48 PM
#
Avatar image of stingraze
Subscribers
H/PC Vanguard

Posts:
3,677
Location:
Japan
Status:
Yep. That's a normal 2.5inch IDE. 43 pins are correct, the HDD pins are made like that. 44pins IDE to CF converter will connect fine.

Edited by stingraze 2024-01-30 3:49 PM
 Top of the page
NarakuITA Page Icon Posted 2024-01-30 4:10 PM
#
Avatar image of NarakuITA
Subscribers
H/PC Elite

Posts:
703
Location:
Italy
Status:
stingraze - 2024-01-30 3:48 PM


Yep. That's a normal 2.5inch IDE. 43 pins are correct, the HDD pins are made like that. 44pins IDE to CF converter will connect fine.


Question: If the pin slots are 43, how do I insert an adapter with 44pin?
From the photo I highlighted that one slot is "clogged".
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2024-01-30 5:28 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
17,976
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
Oh, I misread your question - why I should never reply on a phone, heh.

IDE doesn't use PIN 20, it is they keying PIN (sets the orientation). You can cut it off, just don't put the adapter in upside down.
 Top of the page
NarakuITA Page Icon Posted 2024-01-30 5:50 PM
#
Avatar image of NarakuITA
Subscribers
H/PC Elite

Posts:
703
Location:
Italy
Status:
C:Amie - 2024-01-30 5:28 PM


Oh, I misread your question - why I should never reply on a phone, heh.

IDE doesn't use PIN 20, it is they keying PIN (sets the orientation). You can cut it off, just don't put the adapter in upside down.


OK that's great!
Question: What happens if I put the adapter upside down? (simple curiosity)
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2024-01-30 6:06 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
17,976
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
You'll put 5v down data PIN 7 & 8 as well as connect data lines to ground - http://paulski.com/zpages.php?id=1717

Best case, nothing. Worst case you kill your CF card.

I suspect if you look at the PCB you will spot PIN 20 quite easily.
 Top of the page
NarakuITA Page Icon Posted 2024-01-30 6:52 PM
#
Avatar image of NarakuITA
Subscribers
H/PC Elite

Posts:
703
Location:
Italy
Status:
OK, thanks a lot!
Listen, is it possible to increase the RAM of this laptop?
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2024-01-30 6:56 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
17,976
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
As I said earlier, you need to show us all the ports, slots and lift the keyboard and show the motherboard.

A photo of the base plate with the model info would help too.
 Top of the page
NarakuITA Page Icon Posted 2024-01-31 11:14 PM
#
Avatar image of NarakuITA
Subscribers
H/PC Elite

Posts:
703
Location:
Italy
Status:
Here are the photos requested. Installed RAM and what's under the keyboard.









I found this. It should be compatible. I could get 2 with 256MB of RAM.
https://www.offtek.it/toshiba/aggiornamenti-memoria-laptop/satellite...
https://www.memorystock.com/orderitem.asp?it=493ms-118&MnfId=&MdlId=...

Edited by NarakuITA 2024-01-31 11:41 PM
 Top of the page
« 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... Next »
Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.203 - Cached queries : 73 - Executed queries : 8