x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

PocketDOS: access apps on CF card

goldfishdev Page Icon Posted 2024-04-23 9:36 PM
#
Avatar image of goldfishdev
Subscribers
Factor Fanatic

Posts:
50
Location:
United States 
Status:
Hi! I'm having trouble accessing programs from my CF card in PocketDOS.
I boot into C:, where DOS is installed. Using DIR gets me the normal folders and programs like the DOS folder and autoexec.bat.
Using fdisk and viewing my partitions, I only see:
Partition Status Type Volume Label Mbytes System Usage C: 1 A PRI DOS MSDOS622 128 FAT16 100%

How do I use programs?
 Top of the page
goldfishdev Page Icon Posted 2024-04-23 11:33 PM
#
Avatar image of goldfishdev
Subscribers
Factor Fanatic

Posts:
50
Location:
United States 
Status:
Sorry, I forgot to add that I am on a Jornada 728.
 Top of the page
torch Page Icon Posted 2024-04-24 12:44 AM
#
Avatar image of torch
Subscribers
H/PC Guru

Posts:
5,793
Location:
United States 
Status:
I was under the impression that any programs installed into PocketDOS are inside of a "Disk Image" style file. Basically a virtualized box of the "C:" drive
But if you want to copy files back and forth I thought you could use the CF card to do so as long as you navigate to its drive within DOS?

If that makes sense

Or you can also map a certain folder to copy files back and forth

Quote
I downloaded and installed PocketDOS successfully but it does not seem to see all the directories and files on my H/PC and its storage card, is this a limit of the demo version?

Due to limitations in the Windows CE OS, it is not possible to "see" file or directory names that do not adhere to the MS-DOS 8.3 file naming convention in PocketDOS. Renaming the folder to a legal MS-DOS file name (max. 8 character file name, max. 3 character file extension) will enable you to "see" the folder from DOS. Windows CE does not support alternate (short name alias) file names due to its lack of any kind of legacy support (unlike desktop versions of Windows). Without support from the operating system, it is not possible for PocketDOS to provide short name aliases to long file names. You can however map DOS drive letters to folders with long names or physical disk devices (eg. Compact Flash) using the SETDRIVE command.

SETDRIVE M: "\My Documents"

will redirect the M: drive to the "My Documents" folder.

Source: http://www.mediator-software.com/pocketdos/faq.htm
 Top of the page
goldfishdev Page Icon Posted 2024-04-24 1:09 AM
#
Avatar image of goldfishdev
Subscribers
Factor Fanatic

Posts:
50
Location:
United States 
Status:
I've looked at the FAQ and still can't seem to get it to work. SETDRIVE gives me a bad command or file name error. I'm on MS-DOS 6.22.
 Top of the page
torch Page Icon Posted 2024-04-24 1:23 AM
#
Avatar image of torch
Subscribers
H/PC Guru

Posts:
5,793
Location:
United States 
Status:
Or try this:
In pocketdos program itself
Add item from the Drives menu
Press the Next button
Specifiy drive letter D:
Select folder on device
Click next for save redirection

The below link has some screenshots
http://www.mediator-software.com/pocketdos/tutorial_msdos_ins.htm
 Top of the page
goldfishdev Page Icon Posted 2024-04-24 2:23 AM
#
Avatar image of goldfishdev
Subscribers
Factor Fanatic

Posts:
50
Location:
United States 
Status:
Adding a D drive isn't an option for me. Just A B and C, which none of them let me select a folder.
In that tutorial, it uses PocketDOS.DSK which I don't have. I'm installing by changing the install exe to a zip and grabbing the cab file myself. There's no dsk file in the exe.
I have no idea what I'm doing wrong
 Top of the page
torch Page Icon Posted 2024-04-24 4:42 AM
#
Avatar image of torch
Subscribers
H/PC Guru

Posts:
5,793
Location:
United States 
Status:
Can you start a fresh install and follow that tutorial ? Maybe that’ll fix it
 Top of the page
goldfishdev Page Icon Posted 2024-04-24 3:45 PM
#
Avatar image of goldfishdev
Subscribers
Factor Fanatic

Posts:
50
Location:
United States 
Status:
I did all of those steps except the "PocketDOS utility disk image" part, as I don't have it. It seems that I need it, but I can't find it anywhere! The website says it is "supplied with PocketDOS

(edit: I realized that I had drafted this better version of the message on my laptop. I've replaced my reply with this better one)

Edited by goldfishdev 2024-04-24 4:28 PM
 Top of the page
goldfishdev Page Icon Posted 2024-04-24 5:56 PM
#
Avatar image of goldfishdev
Subscribers
Factor Fanatic

Posts:
50
Location:
United States 
Status:
I got it to work. I installed PocketDOS on a Windows Mobile PDA I have using activesync, then copied the right files over to the Jornada.
 Top of the page
torch Page Icon Posted 2024-04-30 8:18 PM
#
Avatar image of torch
Subscribers
H/PC Guru

Posts:
5,793
Location:
United States 
Status:
Glad it worked for you.
FYI, you can also extract the PocketDOS .exe host installers with 7zip. That's worked for me.
 Top of the page
Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.218 - Cached queries : 47 - Executed queries : 31