x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

My HTML ready RSS reader, need testers !

Moderators: C:Amie

Jump to page : 1 2 3 4
Now viewing page 1 [15 messages per page]

tsdave Page Icon Posted 2006-03-07 4:07 PM
#
Avatar image of tsdave
Factorite (Senior)

Posts:
93
Status:
I started a new thread since the last one starts by stating the reader doesnt do HTML, and now it does. Plus I am to the point i am happy with it. So I am releasing my 1.0.1 version, and will only be doing bug fixing for a while.

New items this version:
fixed the bug moving thru the headlines with keyboard.

fixed button spelling errors.

added 'dont fix html' check, will speed up display, at the cost of not fixing or removing HTML. Good for TEXT-ONLY feeds !

If you find a bug post here.

the 'view all as html' should be usefull to users with large screens, espically with the 'express' option.

You can add this to the FAQ and make it available for download if you want :-)

Provided AS-IS, no warranty !







(rssscreen.gif)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments rssscreen.gif (13KB - 5 downloads)
Attachments rssreader.vb (22KB - 30 downloads)
 Top of the page
torch Page Icon Posted 2006-03-07 6:49 PM
#
Avatar image of torch
H/PC Vanguard

Posts:
3,621
Location:
United States
Status:
Thanks Looking good
 Top of the page
tsdave Page Icon Posted 2006-03-07 10:07 PM
#
Avatar image of tsdave
Factorite (Senior)

Posts:
93
Status:
1.0.2 - Fixed some HTML handling, which cause some text to disappear !
also added a datestamp to HTML generated pages.

please post any bugs so i can iron them out !



ALSO generates better TEXT-ONLY so you can read google rss now in text mode !

Edited by tsdave 2006-03-07 10:09 PM




Attachments
----------------
Attachments rssreader.vb (23KB - 7 downloads)
 Top of the page
tsdave Page Icon Posted 2006-03-08 12:19 PM
#
Avatar image of tsdave
Factorite (Senior)

Posts:
93
Status:
Fixed some more bugs ! Added more status dialogs.

You have to have a "rssfeeds.txt" located in the root directory or the program will error.

Version 1.0.3



Attachments
----------------
Attachments rssreader.vb (23KB - 9 downloads)
 Top of the page
tsdave Page Icon Posted 2006-03-08 12:26 PM
#
Avatar image of tsdave
Factorite (Senior)

Posts:
93
Status:
i am also releasing the source code, which may also be used in a non-commercial, non-profit manner, as long as i get a credit by the modifiers name.



Attachments
----------------
Attachments rss.zip (12KB - 16 downloads)
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2006-03-08 12:47 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
15,072
Location:
Fields End, UK
Status:
Cool!

I've attached a feed text file with all of this sites feeds populated.

While it is processing a RSS feed, can you disable the toolbar buttons or display the egg timer.

You seem to be encoding the HTML feed here, so when parsed to the RSS HTML viewer Hex code extended characters are being sent as ascii e.g. ' is coming out as & apos; rather than '

If you double tap on the feed name, can you make it load that feed?

If something happens to the net connection, the program errors with
Quote
An error was encountered while running this program
any chance of something a little more user friendly?

Can you set the temping environment to \temp instead of the root and source the .txt from the app source directory?



Attachments
----------------
Attachments rssfeeds.txt (0KB - 28 downloads)
 Top of the page
tsdave Page Icon Posted 2006-03-08 4:16 PM
#
Avatar image of tsdave
Factorite (Senior)

Posts:
93
Status:
Give this one a try C:Amie, got most of what you asked for, except
the html file in /temp, i used the app path instead.

Changed:

Made HTML view all empahzise the header of each feed.

Made winsock show a nicer error

Fixed bug with bad URL feeds in rssfeeds.txt

rssfeeds now must be places in the same directory as the app, and the des.htm
file created for html viewing is created in the apps directory

now all the & # ASCII ; codes should work, added a few more text codes.

Fixed several other bugs

doubleclicking a feed will load it now

while downloading & parsing the buttons except "Cancel" will be disabled

removed the load rssfeeds.txt button as its now done automatically at startup.


Give it a try and let me know how it works.






Attachments
----------------
Attachments rssreader.vb (24KB - 6 downloads)
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2006-03-08 5:18 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
15,072
Location:
Fields End, UK
Status:
Nice work. That did the trick.

Works fine in a sub folder, but if you attempt to execute the .vb from the root of the object store you get and error with "no error description available".

Is there a way to automate the clear procedure, may be as an "on change" option for those who want the Current Headliens box to change with the feed?

I am still getting a "An error was encountered while running this program" error when my LPE drops out on the program while active. Otherwise, this is fantastic, great work.
I have one other suggestion. That would be to disable the "Vew item as HTML" & "View ALL as HTML" buttons when there is nothing in the Current headlines box.
 Top of the page
tsdave Page Icon Posted 2006-03-08 9:59 PM
#
Avatar image of tsdave
Factorite (Senior)

Posts:
93
Status:
I am not sure about the connection link error, i havent gotten it, but i dont move out of my APs reach.


I have reworked the Buttons, may be simpler.

1.0.5
(fixed a bug after posting)

Edited by tsdave 2006-03-08 10:07 PM




Attachments
----------------
Attachments rssreader.vb (25KB - 8 downloads)
 Top of the page
tsdave Page Icon Posted 2006-03-10 4:07 PM
#
Avatar image of tsdave
Factorite (Senior)

Posts:
93
Status:
Fixed a couple bugs with auto mode, and lists remaining disabled after canceling.

I did come across the link error above, when my modem was down, but i already trap winsock errors, it must the a winsock control error ? Have no idea how to fix it. Its not bad anyway.

I will try to post the new .vb a screen shot and the 1.0.6 source





(CEZoom0.gif)



Attachments
----------------
Attachments rssreader.vb (25KB - 45 downloads)
Attachments CEZoom0.gif (10KB - 7 downloads)
Attachments rss106vb.zip (6KB - 39 downloads)
 Top of the page
tsdave Page Icon Posted 2006-03-10 6:31 PM
#
Avatar image of tsdave
Factorite (Senior)

Posts:
93
Status:
i have round a bug in this version also, appearantly some sites put text in their ascii codes !
so this wont be the final :-(

 Top of the page
dave
dave Page Icon Posted 2006-05-19 1:49 PM
#
Status:
anybody use this program ?
 Top of the page
790HPC
790HPC Page Icon Posted 2006-06-01 3:25 AM
#
Status:
I just found it today-- I will check it out tomorrow.
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2006-06-01 7:55 AM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
15,072
Location:
Fields End, UK
Status:
yes, I do.
 Top of the page
padman Page Icon Posted 2006-06-02 6:50 PM
#
Avatar image of padman
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
6
Location:
United States
Status:
I will as soon as I get .vb working on my viewpad.
 Top of the page
hpc:factor« View previous thread · Developers Arena · View next thread »

Jump to page : 1 2 3 4
Now viewing page 1 [15 messages per page]

Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.187 - Cached queries : 48 - Executed queries : 38
Server Time now is: Tuesday, 28 January 2020 - 12:47