x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

J720 doesn't work with Samsung X700

Vladymir
Vladymir Page Icon Posted 2006-05-28 3:06 PM
#
Status:
I have a Jornada 720 and I had SET68i mobile. The phone worked as BT modem with my J720. Two days ago I have bought a Samsung X700 mobile. This phone does not work with Jornada as a modem. When I try to establish a connection via BT I see an error mesage on Jornada's screen. The message is "No carrier detect" or "disconnected". The phone works on WAP browser and e-mailer without any difficult. What's the matter?

Regards
Vladymir
 Top of the page
cmonex Page Icon Posted 2006-05-28 3:55 PM
#
Avatar image of cmonex
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
16,175
Location:
Budapest, Hungary
Status:
did you try an init string?
 Top of the page
Vladymir
Vladymir Page Icon Posted 2006-05-28 4:03 PM
#
Status:
With SE T68i there was no need to use initialisation string. And what string need Samsung?
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2006-05-28 4:52 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
18,066
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
You don't always need them... but sometimes you do. Have a scoot through the manual for it.

Unfortunately the on-line support for the SGH-X700 isn't working on Samsung UK, so I can't look.
 Top of the page
cmonex Page Icon Posted 2006-05-28 4:52 PM
#
Avatar image of cmonex
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
16,175
Location:
Budapest, Hungary
Status:
lets try +CGDCONT=x,"IP","APN"

x = CID number (1,2,3 or...)
APN you should know, your provider gives it to you
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2006-05-28 5:05 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
18,066
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
The closest I could come up with on Google was CONT=1, but it wasn't an exact match to the 700, just X series.
 Top of the page
cmonex Page Icon Posted 2006-05-28 5:28 PM
#
Avatar image of cmonex
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
16,175
Location:
Budapest, Hungary
Status:
no, no, it doesnt depend on the phone model!!!
it depends on your own setup of the phone. you must go into the phone and there check the data accounts manually.
(i didn't know that some time ago )
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2006-05-28 6:44 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
18,066
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
Oh well, there you go

You know what I think of cell phones
 Top of the page
Vladymir
Vladymir Page Icon Posted 2006-05-28 8:08 PM
#
Status:
I have tried all CIDs. When I used SE T68 the string in "telephone number" window was *98*1#. Now when I have changed it to *98*3# Jornada can communicate with the phone, on the screen of the phone I can see blinking BT icon, can see E icon (my GSM network is EDGE), but after message "User autenticated" I never see next message "connected" wich appeared with SE T68i
 Top of the page
cmonex Page Icon Posted 2006-05-28 8:15 PM
#
Avatar image of cmonex
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
16,175
Location:
Budapest, Hungary
Status:
you should type *99***3#, with three asterisks after the "99".

as for auth... try to turn it off in the phone, there will probably be a setting for turning off authentication

or try entering some dummy login info on the j720
 Top of the page
Vladymir
Vladymir Page Icon Posted 2006-05-29 3:39 AM
#
Status:
The string "*99***3# I have also tried - without result. Nowhere in Samsung's menu I can found autorisation on/off!
 Top of the page
cmonex Page Icon Posted 2006-05-29 9:16 AM
#
Avatar image of cmonex
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
16,175
Location:
Budapest, Hungary
Status:
well, try this string: Z

just Z

(i have some more but lets see if this one helps)
 Top of the page
Vladymir
Vladymir Page Icon Posted 2006-05-29 1:35 PM
#
Status:
I have seen carefully what J720 works with different mobiles and here we are! Ericsson has longer than Samsung timeout waiting for answer form PDA. So the problem is how to make Samsung to wait for Jornada dialing and authenticating.
 Top of the page
Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.203 - Cached queries : 49 - Executed queries : 25