x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

just got a new h/pc!

1 2
be300x
be300x Page Icon Posted 2006-05-29 11:53 AM
#
Status:
hi! new to the forums! i just picked up one of these real cheap on ebay. i love it!

i got an intermec 6651, and i heard it was a really cool unit.
http://www.image911.net/store/images/Intermec.JPG

anyway, i want to be able play some arcade games (tetris, pac man, arkanoid, etc), but i can't find any!

can someone post a link as to where i could find arcade games that will work with this unit?

also, i need a good snes/nes emulator. where can i find one?

thx!
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2006-05-29 12:04 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
17,979
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
Welcome to the community.

There are a number of game reviews in the reviews section, including a ms. pacman clone.

Morphgear is a supported payware emulator that will probably serve your needs
 Top of the page
cmonex Page Icon Posted 2006-05-29 12:21 PM
#
Avatar image of cmonex
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
16,175
Location:
Budapest, Hungary
Status:
how cheap? yours is the 75$ or the 121$ unit?

(no, wait, the 75$ is oliverredfox darn lucky! )
 Top of the page
oliverredfox Page Icon Posted 2006-05-29 4:08 PM
#
Avatar image of oliverredfox
Factorite (Senior)

Posts:
85
Location:
Southern California
Status:
I got lucky on the $75 unit (it was listed for all of 23 minutes before I bought it- thankfully I don't have a life and spend too much time browsing ebay). It's got to be the nicest HPCs I've had. I like it much better then the mobilepro 790 or the Jornada 720. A year and 1/2 of playing around with various HPCs and I finally have a keeper.
 Top of the page
quiche Page Icon Posted 2006-05-29 4:33 PM
#
Avatar image of quiche
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,287
Location:
New York state, USA
Status:
Quote
oliverredfox - 2006-05-29 4:08 PM

I got lucky on the $75 unit (it was listed for all of 23 minutes before I bought it- thankfully I don't have a life and spend too much time browsing ebay). It's got to be the nicest HPCs I've had. I like it much better then the mobilepro 790 or the Jornada 720. A year and 1/2 of playing around with various HPCs and I finally have a keeper.


What makes it better than the MobilePro 790?
 Top of the page
CE Geek Page Icon Posted 2006-05-29 4:49 PM
#
Avatar image of CE Geek
Global Moderator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
12,668
Location:
Southern California
Status:
Quote
be300x - 2006-05-29 8:53 AM

hi! new to the forums! i just picked up one of these real cheap on ebay. i love it!

i got an intermec 6651, and i heard it was a really cool unit.
http://www.image911.net/store/images/Intermec.JPG

anyway, i want to be able play some arcade games (tetris, pac man, arkanoid, etc), but i can't find any!

can someone post a link as to where i could find arcade games that will work with this unit?

also, i need a good snes/nes emulator. where can i find one?

thx!


There's at least one site that should have all these: Windows Mobile Today (formerly PocketPCCity, formerly WindowsCECity). Here's a direct link to H/PC software there:

http://www.pocketpccity.com/software-hpc.html

You can also try Rich Hawley's site (hpcnec.com), though many of the programs there are for ARM-based devices like the MobilePro 900c. Also, Pocket PC 4 All (ppc4all.com) still has H/PC versions of a lot of programs.

There are tons of Tetris versions out there for H/PC. And you can use the Pocket PC versions of some programs as well, with a minimum of tweaking because of the larger screen. Happy searching.
 Top of the page
oliverredfox Page Icon Posted 2006-05-29 5:03 PM
#
Avatar image of oliverredfox
Factorite (Senior)

Posts:
85
Location:
Southern California
Status:
Quote
quiche - 2006-05-29 1:33 PM
What makes it better than the MobilePro 790?


The mobilepro has a larger keyboard which I did like better for fast typing but 6651 has a 800x480 resolution screen (vs 640x240 mobilepro). And with all the web surfing I do, it makes a huge difference. Also the 6651 feels a lot faster, they may have same MIPS processor, but the 6651 has a really nice graphics chip to speed things up.

Edited by oliverredfox 2006-05-29 5:40 PM
 Top of the page
oliverredfox Page Icon Posted 2006-05-29 5:09 PM
#
Avatar image of oliverredfox
Factorite (Senior)

Posts:
85
Location:
Southern California
Status:
Be sure to grab the MIPSviewers and Worldtalk browser from http://www.freeweb.hu/izemize/hpc.php
The Worldtalk browser is labelled for HPC Pro (CE 2.11) but it works great on the 6651 and is a good extra web browser to have.
 Top of the page
cmonex Page Icon Posted 2006-05-29 5:10 PM
#
Avatar image of cmonex
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
16,175
Location:
Budapest, Hungary
Status:
oliverredfox: the 900 has the same 640x240 as the 790.

CE Geek: you forgot about handheld attitude the best software site out there...
 Top of the page
CE Geek Page Icon Posted 2006-05-29 5:25 PM
#
Avatar image of CE Geek
Global Moderator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
12,668
Location:
Southern California
Status:
And I was just browsing that site last night. (Duh!)
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2006-05-29 5:36 PM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
17,979
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
It's the mobilepro 800 series which has the bigger screen.

If you want arcade games, getting things like amiga emulators will be useful for entertainment.
 Top of the page
oliverredfox Page Icon Posted 2006-05-29 5:39 PM
#
Avatar image of oliverredfox
Factorite (Senior)

Posts:
85
Location:
Southern California
Status:
Quote
cmonex - 2006-05-29 2:10 PM

oliverredfox: the 900 has the same 640x240 as the 790.


Bummer! Well, now I'm really glad I didn't spend a bunch of money on a Mobilepro 900. I'd have been really disappointed to find that out the hard way.
 Top of the page
be300x
be300x Page Icon Posted 2006-05-29 8:08 PM
#
Status:
wow! thx everyone! i'll dfinitely check those sites out

i like this unit too. feel zippy
 Top of the page
CE Geek Page Icon Posted 2006-05-29 8:16 PM
#
Avatar image of CE Geek
Global Moderator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
12,668
Location:
Southern California
Status:
I'm gonna go way out on a limb here: did you ever have a Casio BE-300?
 Top of the page
be300x
be300x Page Icon Posted 2006-05-29 9:51 PM
#
Status:
why yes, i did!

o, so many memories (most of them are trying to get that damn pc connect to work! )

also, top menu, the NEW mips cpu (VR43**) that was supposed to be revolutionary, the "windows ce 3.0" (uh, not! more like a hobbled casio makeover)

but there were good times, and those times were with KC-MenuII and good ol' Cbutters' EpodXP and the goofather's eXpod

yes, i remember them quite well. why do you ask?
 Top of the page
1 2
Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.203 - Cached queries : 69 - Executed queries : 9