x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

LINUX for NEC MobilePro 780

1 2 3 4
fittorrent Page Icon Posted 2007-05-05 5:19 PM
#
Avatar image of fittorrent
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
1
Status:
Aloha!

I am a H/PC n00b. It's awesome to find this kind of support and development going on. Who knew? I didn't until today (literally). I'm excited to learn and contribute. I'm going to try this on my MP790. I'm okay with it potentially not working and then trying to figure it out.

I look forward to being a part of the community.

LL
 Top of the page
Guest-Question
Guest-Question Page Icon Posted 2007-06-14 7:15 PM
#
Status:
NetBSD Lists hpcmips and cobalt as binary compatible.

Does the same apply to Linux - could debian for cobalt be used for with Linux on Mobilepro 780?
The idea of a net install from a full featured disto is where we want to be.

I have functioning linux on my 780, but I want more.

Cobalt and 780 are both mipsel.

will this work?
 Top of the page
geekette Page Icon Posted 2007-06-15 12:00 PM
#
Avatar image of geekette
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
5
Location:
Philippines
Status:
Hmm. Interesting. I'm going to try it out to see if that would work. I can install gxemul and see if I can get debian running on the hpcmips emulator. Though even if I can, I'm going to need a tutorial on how to create a bootloader for this.
 Top of the page
nalka
nalka Page Icon Posted 2007-10-23 11:52 AM
#
Status:
Hi:
I have a NEC 790 with a 2 GB card.
sdc1 -> fat 16 wince partition
sdc2 -> NetBSD partirion (fully operational) Bootable.
sdc3 --> linux ext2 partition Bootable.

when trying to load vmlinux, y get kernel panic because can't find any hda, hdb, etc.
Have done several options:
root=/dev/hda2 rw or
root=/dev/hda3 rw or
root=/dev/sda3 rw ... etc

Any takers, please help!!!
 Top of the page
aitchsee
aitchsee Page Icon Posted 2007-11-06 11:16 AM
#
Status:
Apologies for needing rather basic help, but I'm stuck with this. Like nalka's, my 780 reports that the boot= is wrong on and I can't work out why. I've followed geekette's excellent instructions but one problem is that all my drives on Ubuntu (including the CF card) are recognised as SDx not HDx - is this what's causing the problem? or is it something else I'm mucking up (or both, probably!)

thanks for your patience
-H

 Top of the page
SamL
SamL Page Icon Posted 2007-12-31 7:54 PM
#
Status:
Hi,

I have followed the directions for installing Linux on my MobilePro 780. When I boot I get the following:

When I run VMLINUX, I get:

******************************

hda: IRQ probe failed (0x12345678)

.

.

.

hdf: IRQ probe failed (0x12345678)

VR41xx Real Time Clock Driver v1.0

PPP generic driver version 2.4.1

PPP Deflate Compression module registered

DMA sound driver installed, using 64 buffers of 2k.

Linux PCMCIA Card Services 3.1.20

xirc2ps cs.c 1.21 1998/12/09 19:32:55 (dd9jn+kvh)

mice: PS/2 mouse device common for all mice

devfs: v0.102 (20000622) Richard Gooch (rgooch@atnf.csiro.au)

devfs: boot_options: 0x2

ds: no socket drivers loaded!

VFS: Cannot open root device “hda2” or 03:01

Please append a correct “root=” boot option

Kernel Panic: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on 03:01

******************************
The the machine hangs and I have to reset it.

Did I need to recompile the Kernel? Do you have any ideas what is wrong?

Your help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Sam
 Top of the page
SamL
SamL Page Icon Posted 2007-12-31 7:56 PM
#
Status:
Sorry, I have a MobliePro 790, not a 780
 Top of the page
Kristoffer
Kristoffer Page Icon Posted 2008-01-08 5:23 PM
#
Status:
Your bootlog output looks weird, what kind of kernel are you running? Looks like some old 2.4 version.
 Top of the page
ompong
ompong Page Icon Posted 2008-01-08 7:45 PM
#
Status:
Sorry for my ignorance. Once linux is up and running the 790, can any of the available distros like ubuntu be installed already?
 Top of the page
Kristoffer Page Icon Posted 2008-02-01 4:13 PM
#
Avatar image of Kristoffer
Factorite (Junior)

Posts:
38
Status:
Short answer no.

However you might have good use with it by installing lightweight options
 Top of the page
ompong
ompong Page Icon Posted 2008-02-11 11:25 PM
#
Status:
What are these lightweight options?
 Top of the page
gav Page Icon Posted 2008-03-02 4:17 AM
#
Avatar image of gav
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
6
Location:
Russia
Status:
 Top of the page
gav Page Icon Posted 2008-03-02 8:24 AM
#
Avatar image of gav
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
6
Location:
Russia
Status:
Unfortunately, the author of Linux port on NEC MP sold his device and at this moment is working on porting Gentoo Linux on iPAQ hx4700.
 Top of the page
PDXMark Page Icon Posted 2008-03-05 1:32 PM
#
Avatar image of PDXMark
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
397
Location:
Portland, Oregon
Status:
I recently purchased a MP 790 and have thought about linux/unix/some other OS.....but there are 3 things I really need to make it worthwhile: a decent GUI, a good word processor (comparable to TextMaker), and a good browser. Can any of the options available provide these things?
 Top of the page
nemo
nemo Page Icon Posted 2008-03-05 3:33 PM
#
Status:
I had the same problem.
With the ide not found.
But it worked when i used the networking kernel.

 Top of the page
1 2 3 4
Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.234 - Cached queries : 59 - Executed queries : 13