x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

Hurricane John Page Icon Posted 2006-09-12 8:11 AM
#
Avatar image of Hurricane John
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,298
Location:
Florida
Status:
Quote
Hurricane John - 2006-09-12 7:52 AM

Spiny

Also when typed in Filename = *.vb (got a result of 10 vb files) then I cleared the info in the Filename box and unchecked 'Files' in the File folder. Then added a checkmark to the Contact box and ran a 'Find Text' for Smith (got a result of 5) which then changed to 15 in the title bar when the search was completed (10+5)


Ok - I got this to work....but it does make a difference which boxes are checked off and in what order! If you experiment with this, you willl know what I'm talking about!

Bottom line, is that it does work, but the results may not be what you expect.

Suggestion: How about moving the About button up to the Title Bar (show it as a question mark button, next to the 'x' exit button) and add a 'Clear All' button in it's place? This way the user can clear the previous query before starting a new one!

Edited by Hurricane John 2006-09-12 8:57 AM
 Top of the page
Hurricane John Page Icon Posted 2006-09-12 8:13 AM
#
Avatar image of Hurricane John
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,298
Location:
Florida
Status:
Quote
Hurricane John - 2006-09-12 7:52 AM

Spiny

I made sure that the Calendar box was checked in the File folder, then entered the To and From dates in the Date folder.

Got an new error - Variable is undefined 'Item'



Note: This only happens when searching the Calendar, searching Tasks using to/from dates, works just fine.
 Top of the page
Spiny Page Icon Posted 2006-09-12 9:07 AM
#
Avatar image of Spiny
Factorite (Senior)

Posts:
77
Location:
Somewhere in the UK.
Status:
Quote
I hate to be a pain, but I must be doing something wrong?

You're not being a pain, you're finding the bugs. People get paid for that for commercial software.
You're not doing anything wrong either. I missed a line of code to reset the counter. Now fixed.

Quote
Got an new error - Variable is undefined 'Item'

Fixed. Should have been objItem.

1.1 Beta 4.
 Top of the page
Hurricane John Page Icon Posted 2006-09-12 10:23 AM
#
Avatar image of Hurricane John
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,298
Location:
Florida
Status:
Quote
Spiny - 2006-09-12 9:07 AM

Quote
I hate to be a pain, but I must be doing something wrong?

You're not being a pain, you're finding the bugs. People get paid for that for commercial software.
You're not doing anything wrong either. I missed a line of code to reset the counter. Now fixed.

Quote
Got an new error - Variable is undefined 'Item'

Fixed. Should have been objItem.

1.1 Beta 4.


Yes - that did the trick, excellent!

I'm still having the problem with the incorrect count in the title bar when performing back to back searches. Is there a way to clear the count after or before each search? How about my suggestion for a 'Clear All' button?
 Top of the page
Spiny Page Icon Posted 2006-09-12 10:37 AM
#
Avatar image of Spiny
Factorite (Senior)

Posts:
77
Location:
Somewhere in the UK.
Status:
Quote
Is there a way to clear the count after or before each search?

It's supposed to do it all automatically. I've found the problem now - I hope.
It was resetting the counter for, say, tasks at the start of the task search. If your second search didn't include tasks the counter was never reset.
I've moved the counter reset code to the subroutine which starts the searches.

Quote
How about my suggestion for a 'Clear All' button?

As I said, it's supposed to happen automatically. There isn't really enough room to add an extra button and it's a lot harder that you might think to move About to the ? button.
It's something I might do for a later version.


Try to get a bugfix that fast from Microsoft.

Edited by Spiny 2006-09-12 10:38 AM
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2006-09-12 11:43 AM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
17,975
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
If I go to files and check system or hidden and search for "dd" (no " I get 12 results back (ok) but it doesn't release the control region, I have to click cancel to specify a new search. It could be a case of Mr. impatient, but I've left it alone for a couple of minutes and it hasn't released.

What is the verdict on inbox title/body skimming also?
 Top of the page
Hurricane John Page Icon Posted 2006-09-12 12:08 PM
#
Avatar image of Hurricane John
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,298
Location:
Florida
Status:
Quote
Spiny - 2006-09-12 10:37 AM

Quote
Is there a way to clear the count after or before each search?

It's supposed to do it all automatically. I've found the problem now - I hope.
It was resetting the counter for, say, tasks at the start of the task search. If your second search didn't include tasks the counter was never reset.
I've moved the counter reset code to the subroutine which starts the searches.

Quote
How about my suggestion for a 'Clear All' button?

As I said, it's supposed to happen automatically. There isn't really enough room to add an extra button and it's a lot harder that you might think to move About to the ? button.
It's something I might do for a later version.


Try to get a bugfix that fast from Microsoft.



Fixed - Good job!

 Top of the page
Spiny Page Icon Posted 2006-09-13 6:40 AM
#
Avatar image of Spiny
Factorite (Senior)

Posts:
77
Location:
Somewhere in the UK.
Status:
I found a better way to handle file attributes.

I searched for \Windows\*.exe
The last versions I posted took 10 seconds.
The new version took 5 seconds - twice as fast.

Frankly I'm stunned.

If that wasn't enough, I've decreased code bloat. It's now 63% bigger than version 1.0 instead of 70%.


I suppose I'd better respond to some comments now.

Quote
Spiny, have a look at the homepage.

Does that mean I develop communities?
That explains why it was getting busy in here.

Quote
If I go to files and check system or hidden and search for "dd" (no " I get 12 results back (ok) but it doesn't release the control region, I have to click cancel to specify a new search. It could be a case of Mr. impatient, but I've left it alone for a couple of minutes and it hasn't released.

I noticed the same thing yesterday searching for \Windows\*.*. It's not happening now, but then, it's much faster.
Either I fixed it in the last rewrite, or it was just Mr Impatient.

Quote
What is the verdict on inbox title/body skimming also?

I'm trying to fix the bugs at the moment. I'll look in to it for 1.2.


Since I'm not aware of any surviving bugs and I heavily tested the new code, I'm going to stick my neck out and call this Release Candidate 1.
 Top of the page
C:Amie Page Icon Posted 2006-09-13 6:53 AM
#
Avatar image of C:Amie
Administrator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
17,975
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
I think of it more along the lines of nurturing communities

I left it for 10 minutes and still nothing after I posted. I think that Mr. Impatient has a case
 Top of the page
Hurricane John Page Icon Posted 2006-09-14 11:51 AM
#
Avatar image of Hurricane John
H/PC Sensei

Posts:
1,298
Location:
Florida
Status:
Spiny

SearcH/PC 1.1 Beta 5 is about 40% faster than Beta 4 - awesome.

Looks like you are getting close to the release on SeacH/PC 1.1 - Are you planning on posting it on your website?
 Top of the page
Spiny Page Icon Posted 2006-09-14 12:46 PM
#
Avatar image of Spiny
Factorite (Senior)

Posts:
77
Location:
Somewhere in the UK.
Status:
Quote
SearcH/PC 1.1 Beta 5 is about 40% faster than Beta 4 - awesome.

I could hardly believe it myself. I knew it could be improved but that's ridiculous.

Quote
Looks like you are getting close to the release on SeacH/PC 1.1 - Are you planning on posting it on your website?

As soon as I'm convinced we've caught all the bugs. I'll also post the .VB file here.

Try this one. I've changed the way wildcards are handled to match the way it works in Windows XP.
Basically it searches for *filename* unless filename contains * or ?
 Top of the page
Spiny Page Icon Posted 2006-09-17 8:36 AM
#
Avatar image of Spiny
Factorite (Senior)

Posts:
77
Location:
Somewhere in the UK.
Status:
With nine downloads and no bug reports, it must be time to release SearcH/PC 1.1.

See the last post if you want to download it, or go here if you want CABs, runtimes or an ActiveSync installer.

As before, feel free to host or distribute it.
 Top of the page
Rabbit@Net Page Icon Posted 2006-09-21 3:26 AM
#
Avatar image of Rabbit@Net
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
1
Location:
Germany
Status:
Hi Spiny,

I am really astonished. Your smart little search program is really clever and damn fast. I wish my desktop search would be too.
I am running you little VB program on a Sigmarion III. Although it is stated, that Win CE.Net doesn't support VB-files any longer, it works! So everyone, come on and try it!!!

Keep up the good work.
Greetings from Germany,
Rabbit@Net
 Top of the page
1 2
Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.234 - Cached queries : 68 - Executed queries : 15