x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

custom roms for 900c!

pixelator Page Icon Posted 2008-04-12 2:22 PM
#
Avatar image of pixelator
Factorite (Elite)

Posts:
104
Status:
I'll have my 900C on Thursday. I'd like to try the beta.
 Top of the page
cmonex Page Icon Posted 2008-04-12 6:26 PM
#
Avatar image of cmonex
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
16,175
Location:
Budapest, Hungary
Status:
Quote
pixelator - 2008-04-12 8:22 PM

I'll have my 900C on Thursday. I'd like to try the beta.



sure, hopefully it'll be ready by then
 Top of the page
Geared2003 Page Icon Posted 2008-04-13 3:54 AM
#
Avatar image of Geared2003
H/PC Elite

Posts:
518
Location:
France
Status:
Quote
cmonex - 2008-04-11 5:10 PM

why is it not a good solution to remove the resources?


Because if you only remove the resources, it will only make the "Warning window" invisible, but you may have remaining side effects.

Quote

EDIT: well i have done so in the end, wasn't hard after all. found the battery checks, might edit that code AND of course remove the resources too

great !

BTW, which UI components do you want to include in your last ROM ? my cobalt skin or the new GShell desktop, including HPC Explorer Classic ? the whole package is quite big, because there are many bitmaps, but I can make a "light version" which would spare some space in your ROM.
A suggestion: there is a simple way to regain some space in your ROM - instead of adding many MUI files, why don't you edit resources in Dlls and Exes directly ( Ceshell, coredll, explorer, gwes, etc.) ? I can do it for you, if necessary: just send me the required uncompressed system files.
 Top of the page
cmonex Page Icon Posted 2008-04-13 11:34 AM
#
Avatar image of cmonex
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
16,175
Location:
Budapest, Hungary
Status:
i've sent a reply to your email thanks
 Top of the page
Bensawsome Page Icon Posted 2008-04-15 1:45 PM
#
Avatar image of Bensawsome
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
431
Location:
127.0.0.1
Status:
Quote
Geared2003 - 2008-04-10 2:07 PM

Quote
cmonex - 2008-04-09 12:04 PM

some more comments on the persistent storage and registry?

One question though: is the 900c internal disk memory reliable, specially for very frequent disk rewrites (internet cache, etc.) ? I remember that the BE300 internal memory could get easily corrupted...

I am glad to hear that you like my recent UI experiments...



Maybe cmonex could somehow map just the internet cache and other frequent writing functions to the ram.
PS And I will try the beta also. I will probably do it on my partly broken down 900c once I get back from Florida (On Friday) (and on my old 900c the keyboard doesn't stay in completely or work right and the calibration of the touch screen is SCREWY)

Edited by Bensawsome 2008-04-15 1:54 PM
 Top of the page
cmonex Page Icon Posted 2008-04-15 2:43 PM
#
Avatar image of cmonex
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
16,175
Location:
Budapest, Hungary
Status:
yep i said installing a ramdisk purely for the IE / opera cache is possible. it could be an option if not many people want it.

thanks for offering help with beta testing
 Top of the page
Bensawsome Page Icon Posted 2008-04-15 7:07 PM
#
Avatar image of Bensawsome
H/PC Philosopher

Posts:
431
Location:
127.0.0.1
Status:
Quote
cmonex - 2008-04-15 2:43 PM

yep i said installing a ramdisk purely for the IE / opera cache is possible. it could be an option if not many people want it.


Ya. I just saw that. I posted before reading the rest. Either way though it would most likely hurt the life of the internal storage card. On my MP790 I mapped the IE cache to the internal storage and it corrupted it. So now I got a 790 with a bad internal storages card. Then I got my MP900c and gave the 790 to my brother he just keeps a CF card in it all the time. Another example is I use Firefox on my USB drive. The people who compiled it made the cache go onto the RAM of the computer so it wouldn't continuously write to the USB drive and destroy the life of the drive. So ya... Thats my 2 cents.
Thanks,
Bensawsome
 Top of the page
cmonex Page Icon Posted 2008-04-15 7:48 PM
#
Avatar image of cmonex
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
16,175
Location:
Budapest, Hungary
Status:
heh the 790 probably has NOR flash. the NAND in 900c lasts a much longer time, by the way WM5/WM6 devices get along with IE cache in their rom (NAND) just fine. but yeah this ramdisk will be an option if not for anything else then for speed maybe
 Top of the page
CE Geek Page Icon Posted 2008-04-15 7:52 PM
#
Avatar image of CE Geek
Global Moderator
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
12,653
Location:
Southern California
Status:
Not to hijack the thread, but is there a way to reformat the flash storage ROM in Ben's 790 to make it usable again?
 Top of the page
cmonex Page Icon Posted 2008-04-16 9:41 AM
#
Avatar image of cmonex
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
16,175
Location:
Budapest, Hungary
Status:
Quote
CE Geek - 2008-04-16 1:52 AM

Not to hijack the thread, but is there a way to reformat the flash storage ROM in Ben's 790 to make it usable again?



well, I screwed up the internal disk in a 900 once, by trying to format it with various utils (goal was to zero out all the bytes, i.e. full format). in the end I got a disk that went from 32MB to 0.5MB.

psdwrite revived it. but that's an ARM only program (and remote from PC). but, isotherm wrote a small app to do the same ondevice, both for ARM and MIPS. if he doesn't have it anymore, then I can get it rewritten. next time he's on IRC I'll ask

hopefully just that's the problem, screwed up formatting

Edited by cmonex 2008-04-16 9:51 AM
 Top of the page
mjf Page Icon Posted 2008-04-23 12:05 AM
#
Avatar image of mjf
H/PC Newbie

Posts:
2
Status:
Any chance of a wpa aes driver for prism based wifi adapters?
 Top of the page
cmonex Page Icon Posted 2008-04-23 6:58 AM
#
Avatar image of cmonex
H/PC Oracle

Posts:
16,175
Location:
Budapest, Hungary
Status:
if you provide me with the driver or a download link to it, then sure, why not.
 Top of the page
t0078543 Page Icon Posted 2008-04-25 2:53 PM
#
Avatar image of t0078543
Factorite (Junior)

Posts:
25
Location:
Taiwan Region
Status:
http://www.badongo.com/pic/3454580

I make a new background 640 x 240
 Top of the page
t0078543 Page Icon Posted 2008-04-25 2:53 PM
#
Avatar image of t0078543
Factorite (Junior)

Posts:
25
Location:
Taiwan Region
Status:
http://www.badongo.com/pic/3454580

I make a new background 640 x 240
 Top of the page
t0078543 Page Icon Posted 2008-04-25 2:54 PM
#
Avatar image of t0078543
Factorite (Junior)

Posts:
25
Location:
Taiwan Region
Status:
http://www.badongo.com/pic/3454580

I make a new background 640 x 240

sorry for that ^(top)


Edited by t0078543 2008-04-25 3:14 PM
 Top of the page
Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.232 - Cached queries : 70 - Executed queries : 11