x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 
 
Latest Forum Activity

Jlime Mongo Linux for Jornada 7xx HOW-TO pre-release beta

1 2 3 4
hagisbasheruk Page Icon Posted 2007-05-10 6:35 AM
#
Avatar image of hagisbasheruk
Factor Fanatic

Posts:
55
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
Jlime Mongo Linux on Jornada 7xx How-To
I am assuming everyone knows how to burn an iso image to cd and setup your computers bios to boot from cd/dvd rom first. GOOGLE if you don't know !!
Here is a sneak peak at IceWM on a Jornada 728


Get yourself a copy of the latest puppy linux and burn the iso file to cd
http://puppylinux.org/user/downloads.php?cat_id=1
Reboot your PC with the Puppy Linux Live cd (no need to install to Hard Drive,this runs from the CD)

When in puppy run MUT the USB dongle drive icon on the desktop.



Well you can see from above that my CF card is in
/dev/sdb and has 2 partitions on it,note down your Cards directory.

Click on the icon on desktop and type cfdisk /dev/sdb or what ever your card is and you should be displayed with a similar screen to this ;


I will asume your CF is a standard CF formated for Wince.
Highlight the Fat partition and delete it.
Make a new partition in the free space of 2Mb and type 06 (which is Fat16) and make bootable.
Next highlight new free space and make partition it will automaticly set as linux.Now write partition and quit cfdisk.

While still in the console type mkfs.vfat /dev/sdb1 or what ever your first partition is.
Then mkfs.ext2 /dev/sdb2 or what ever your partition is.
This formats your CF with the Fat16 and ext2 file systems
Your card is now ready for the files.
Open up MUT again and click mount on your new partitions.

Grab the latest files here : http://devfiles.jlime.com/7XX_Mongo_1.0.0-Testing/

----- PUT FILES BELOW ON FAT PARTITION-------
http://devfiles.jlime.com/7XX_Mongo_1.0.0-Testing/zImage-2.6.19-rc6
http://devfiles.jlime.com/7XX_Mongo_1.0.0-Testing/params.txt
http://devfiles.jlime.com/7XX_Mongo_1.0.0-Testing/jlinexec_patched_noline_1.2.0.exe
NEW UPDATED : rename to Jlinexec.exe

In MUT click on the ROX next to sdb1 box to open ROX-Filer and drag the 3 files above onto /mnt/sdb1 easy


-----EXTRACT ONE OF THE FILES BELOW TO EXT2 PARTITION-----
Click on file within ROX-Filer and it will extract,browse to /mnt/sdb2 to extract (may take some time)


Always the Latest :- OPIE Jlime Mongo Image.

http://devfiles.jlime.com/7XX_Mongo_1.0.0-Testing/opie-image-Mongo-jornada7xx.rootfs.tar.bz2

Always the Latest :- GPE Jlime Mongo Image.

http://devfiles.jlime.com/7XX_Mongo_1.0.0-Testing/gpe-image-Mongo-jornada7xx.rootfs.tar.bz2
http://devfiles.jlime.com/7XX_Mongo_1.0.0-Testing/gpe-readme.txt

Always the Latest :- IceWM Jlime Mongo Image.

http://devfiles.jlime.com/7XX_Mongo_1.0.0-Testing/icewm-image-Mongo-jornada7xx.rootfs.tar.bz2
http://devfiles.jlime.com/7XX_Mongo_1.0.0-Testing/icewm-readme.txt

Unmount CF using MUT (may take some time)
[color=red]DON'T REMOVE CF BEFORE DOING THE ABOVE !![/color]
Next place your CF into J720 and run Jlinexexc.exe from file browser in WinCE

Remember this is Beta so if you come accross a bug please join the Bug Tracker on
http://jlime.com/bugtracker/main_page.php and report your findings under Mongo / userlands

Thanks for testing and look out for the final release with kernal fixes soon !
Catch you on IRC on irc.freenode.net #jlime


Opie on a Jornada 720 running Kong/e and Opie-irc

Edited by hagisbasheruk 2007-05-10 6:53 AM
 Top of the page
Java Jim
Java Jim Page Icon Posted 2007-05-10 2:01 PM
#
Status:
Hello...

I get a kernel panic when booting on a 720.
UFS: cannot open root device "hda2"
Please append a correct "root=" option.

Obviously need a different root device in params.txt.

Got any idea which it would be ?

Thanks,
Java
 Top of the page
hagisbasheruk Page Icon Posted 2007-05-10 2:18 PM
#
Avatar image of hagisbasheruk
Factor Fanatic

Posts:
55
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
Quote
Java Jim - 2007-05-10 7:01 PM

Hello...

I get a kernel panic when booting on a 720.
UFS: cannot open root device "hda2"
Please append a correct "root=" option.

Obviously need a different root device in params.txt.

Got any idea which it would be ?

Thanks,
Java

Hay Java Jim this is a known Kernel bug that Kristoffer the Jornada Kernel mentainer is aware of,if you can come on irc kristoffer will be able to give you instructions fo find the needed CF id info to get your card working under 2.6 kernel.I have 2 Peak CFs that do the same and 2 Kingston that work fine.
Server irc.freenode.net channel #jlime
 Top of the page
Java Jim
Java Jim Page Icon Posted 2007-05-11 10:05 PM
#
Status:
Hey... HB... I'm up and running. with your image.

WiFi works too!!!

Thanks much for the HOWTO !!

Had to get a different memory card. Works with a SanDisk 1 GB.

Have a great weekend.

JavaJim
 Top of the page
hagisbasheruk Page Icon Posted 2007-05-12 12:28 PM
#
Avatar image of hagisbasheruk
Factor Fanatic

Posts:
55
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
My 720 running Xchat IRC

My 720 Running Minimo Web Browser

Gaim Full screened using Alt + F11(word key)

Gftp full screened FTP client


Edited by hagisbasheruk 2007-05-12 12:30 PM
 Top of the page
ledthrax Page Icon Posted 2007-05-12 1:27 PM
#
Avatar image of ledthrax
Factorite (Junior)

Posts:
40
Location:
Philly, USA
Status:
I get the following during boot with my J720:

"Warning: Unable to open an initial console
kernel panic - not syncing: No init found. Try passing init= option to kernel."

Any thoughts on what is causing this?

Also, my J720 is now stuck with this on the screen. Do I have to do a hard reset to get HPC 2000 back up?
 Top of the page
olegfink
olegfink Page Icon Posted 2007-05-12 4:11 PM
#
Status:
ledthrax, you can hard-reset your device for now.
Please check that you've done all the steps in the howto, especially populating the / filesystem with files.
Looks like you forgot this stage.
 Top of the page
ledthrax Page Icon Posted 2007-05-12 6:02 PM
#
Avatar image of ledthrax
Factorite (Junior)

Posts:
40
Location:
Philly, USA
Status:
Thanks, I discovered that that is what happened. It didn't actually extract to sdb2.

I was able to get Opie to work, but Icewm gives an error during the extraction. All puppy says is that an error happened. I went ahead and tried to get it to boot on my 720, but I get to a screen that says "jornada7xx login:". I tried root and then this shows "root@jornada7xx:~$". Not sure what to do after this. I'm guessing that this is something to do with the error?

I downloaded and extracted it twice with the same results both times.
 Top of the page
RTFM Page Icon Posted 2007-05-12 7:50 PM
#
Avatar image of RTFM
H/PC Elite

Posts:
639
Location:
Green Bay, WI
Status:
You need to type startx at the root@jornada7xx"~$ prompt to start icewm.

Cheers.
 Top of the page
ledthrax Page Icon Posted 2007-05-12 11:55 PM
#
Avatar image of ledthrax
Factorite (Junior)

Posts:
40
Location:
Philly, USA
Status:
RTFM: I did try that and got an error. I can't remember exactly what the error was, but it said something like "-sh not valid".
 Top of the page
RTFM Page Icon Posted 2007-05-13 5:36 AM
#
Avatar image of RTFM
H/PC Elite

Posts:
639
Location:
Green Bay, WI
Status:
Hmmm. Sounds like your download may be corrupt, or you are still extracting the files wrong. Seeing as how you had no troubles with opie, try downloading icewm image again. The newest icewm was uploaded on the 11th at 13:18. As i had been updating the icewm quite often recently, its possible you were downloading it while i was uploading a new one. It works i know that much as myself and quite a few people on jlimes irc channel are using it, so its something on your end. How exactly are you extracting the tarball? You should be root user while doing all this, and some GUI archivers are crap and dont work properly.

Try doing it from console with this command. tar -xjvpf icewm-image-Mongo-jornada7xx.rootfs.tar.bz2 -C /dev/sdb2
If the card is formatted correctly and that command is run as root user you should have no issues. Good luck.

Cheers.
 Top of the page
hagisbasheruk Page Icon Posted 2007-05-15 9:04 AM
#
Avatar image of hagisbasheruk
Factor Fanatic

Posts:
55
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
A couple of new screenshots for you

Mplayer streaming the Mummy movie via internet in an X terminal


MilkyTracker sound tracker

 Top of the page
sophisticatedleaf Page Icon Posted 2007-05-15 9:07 PM
#
Avatar image of sophisticatedleaf
H/PC Elder

Posts:
2,294
Location:
Sunny California
Status:
Wow, mplayer really does work. This is impressive.

Hey, hey - I'm a Jlime developer now!
 Top of the page
carld Page Icon Posted 2007-05-16 12:27 AM
#
Avatar image of carld
Factorite (Senior)

Posts:
81
Status:
I couldn't get icewm working either. I wish I had saved the error messages but it was similar to what others have posted. I got OPIE working but couldn't get the stylus calibrated correctly. I'll give it another try when the official release comes out. It looks very promising.
 Top of the page
hagisbasheruk Page Icon Posted 2007-05-16 3:02 AM
#
Avatar image of hagisbasheruk
Factor Fanatic

Posts:
55
Location:
United Kingdom
Status:
Quote
ProgramSynthesiser - 2007-05-16 2:07 AM

Wow, mplayer really does work. This is impressive.

Hey, hey - I'm a Jlime developer now!

Yay !!
It is great to see this distro growing and bringing the other Jornada Linux developers and users together.
I look forward to seeing what you bring to Jlime Mongo.
 Top of the page
1 2 3 4
Jump to forum:
Seconds to generate: 0.296 - Cached queries : 46 - Executed queries : 32