x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 

Latest Forum Activity

Color Pallette for making 256-color Windows CE wallpapers

Karpour Page Icon Posted 2015-09-10 2:01 PM
#
Subscribers
H/PC Philosopher

I feel a bit stupid for asking this, but I couldn't really figure out an answer yet.

Being a cartoon artist, I should make some nice wallpapers for my CE devices, especially my Jornada 820 with its big screen.
What I couldn't figure out is which palette to use. I noticed that the palette can dynamically change when using RDP, but is that also the case when on the desktop or is there a fixed 256 color palette I should use?
And if there is a fixed palette, can someone supply it?

Thanks for any help!
 Top of the page
Rich Hawley Page Icon Posted 2015-09-10 2:44 PM
#
Global Moderator
H/PC Guru

I think it is a matter of personal perception as well as hardware.

I mean what you see, is not the same as what I see. Our eyes interpret colors differently based on the tristimulus value of the actual color displayed. A pale orange yellow interpreted by my brain might be a total yellow color in yours.

Next, you have the hardware itself. Not all LCD screens are created equal, nor are the CCFL tubes that brighten the background enough for us to see the colors. You've seen that yourself on two models of the same HPC, yet the screen is different looking.

Now add in the factor that there are many manufacturers of these old things. NEC's display is not exactly the same as Sigmarion or HP. Slight differences, even when displaying the same exact color based on mathematical color values.

Now add in other factors such as hue and saturation...and the differences become even more overwhelming.