x
This website is using cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. More info. That's Fine
HPC:Factor Logo 

Latest Forum Activity

Home Made Docking Station - Jornada 720

DaveL Page Icon Posted 2024-01-25 4:44 PM
#
Subscribers
H/PC Newbie

Last year I got a Jornada 720 off ebay. I’m new to HPC:Factor, but previously saw the great thread by Citgo (posted 14th Jan 2023) for making a DIY docking station for a Jornada 690.

My 720 did not come with anything (apart from its battery, which was dead and so I had to re-cell it) and as sync cables (and docking stations) are rare/expensive then I decided to make my own dock, using mostly materials that I had lying around.

My aim was to get a basic serial Terminal connection (using a 9 way D type socket on my docking station) talking between the 720 and a Windows 10 desktop.

I hope members will find this exercise of interest, so am detailing it here. I’ve attached photos showing its construction.

The key component for me was to get some “Pogo” spring loaded pins, 9.5mm long worked ok, off Amazon UK.

The spacing of the 10 contacts (2 rows x 5 contacts) underneath the 720 is slightly larger than the usual 0.1” spacing of printed circuit boards (of the type in the photos below). However I found that by rotating a small piece of circuit board by 45 degrees (see photo) then the spacing does nicely match the underside of the 720.

As I mentioned, I was just after a basic serial connection, so just needed to use 3 of the 10 underside connections. These were as follows :-

1) (Yellow cable) ”Pogo” Pin 7 to Pin 2 of 9 way “D” type

2) (Red cable) “Pogo” Pin 4 to Pin 3 of 9 way “D” type

3) (Black cable) “Pogo” Pin 5 to Pin 5 of 9 way “D” type